Reviews - Royal Station Hotel


Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH

Price From 156.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (148)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • November 2014

Would stay again

  • s webster

  • November 2014

weekend away

When we got there the reception staff were very welcoming and friendly.

The room was a very good size. At night when all was quite you could just hear some music from outside but it wasn't bad. The food in the restaurant is lovely and not to badly price. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • R Nockels

  • November 2014

Excellent staff poor rooms

I stayed here for one night and I have to admit I was glad it was just one night, we arrived and checked in where the staff were very professional, when we got to our room we realised we were in a different one than we booked which I assume was actually a suite not a double room but the room wasn't very well lit and seamed outdated and cold, the beds have very poor quality mattresses on them also, and when I went for a shower there was no hot water, I went to reception and I can't fault the staff for trying to sort it out but the maintenance mans response was to leave the water running for 10mins which I don't mean to be picky but when your paying money u shouldnt have to sit there waiting for the water to heat up especially for ten mins, this had no affect anyway so I asked to be moved which we were straight away into a room that we initially booked and it was a slight improvement but again the mattress was very poor and the TV was poorly positioned right in front of the bed which meant u had to lean to the side to walk past it small issue, and for my second attempt at a shower half way through the shower head fell off onto my head which again is very poor, again I had to go down to reception where the staff were again excellent in trying to resolve it, but sadly the maintenance man was pritty miserable and made me feel like I was causing him hassle because he had to fix it, but sadly it was not my fault there rooms are not at a good standard, hotel is in a perfect position if u are going to the radio arena for a show like me and my partner were but the hotel needs a big refurb to make it a top hotel which with the staff it has it could be, I'm glad I got a cheaper rate for the room as it wasn't worth even the money we paid could have got a better room at the premier inn

  • Sharon G

  • November 2014

The room was very clean and well presented, but there were drafts from the windows as they didn't shut properly

  • graham g

  • November 2014

Royal Station Hotel Staff

I stay in a lot of hotels and always find the staff at the Royal station the most helpfull and courtious that I meet

  • a cookman

  • November 2014


needs a refurb.

  • Andrew S

  • October 2014

Pay before breakfast

A nice hotel marred by a noisy side (overlooks the station, obviously), but also a very odd payment policy for breakfast.

Just when you are feeling delicate, and you need a cuppa and some tlc, you must pay at the bar before you even know what's on the buffet.

  • Simon W

  • October 2014

A quiet Saturday night in Newcastle

We were given a room looking out onto an internal well.

We were in too much of a hurry to complain but when we realised that the back of the hotel faced the railway (I'd have loved it, my companion not) and the front faced onto Newcastle city centre on a Saturday night, we were glad. It was expensive for what it was - a room for sleeping in - but perhaps it would have seemed better value if we'd stayed longer. It was, however, superbly convenient for the event we were in Newcastle for.

  • Claire C

  • October 2014

Grim and noisy

The room was clean .

Furnishing and bedding was cheap and nasty .it was impossible to sleep due to noise . It was convenient for the station but so are lots of alternatives .It was by far the worst place I have stayed on a very very long time .

  • Rachel D

  • October 2014

Friday night at the station hotel

The hotel is in an excellent location right by the train station.

The room was small but clean and comfortable. Staff on reception were unprofessional; laughing and talking to one another while they served us, making us feel uncomfortable while checking out.