No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel on 0191 2320781 for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 167 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good rooms good location
Rooms were clean and spacious campared to others in the city center. Great location, good parking if you get there early enough. Staff were friendly and always had a smile on they're face.

Reviewed by
A Moore

From Middlewich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

station royal hotel.....a decent way to get introduced to Newcastle
the hotel is all about fabulousity

Reviewed by
N P

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel location excellent
Lovely surroundings location excellent great. Service facilities and room fridge stocked with water orange juice and biscuits tea coffee facilities. TV although did not use hair dryer bathroom well stocked gym facilities great service friendly and excellent all staff friendly and greeted by all who we came across brilliant location for sightseeing rail services and parking adjacent to hotel room warm and linen clean mattress a little too hard quiet beautiful decor and within keeping with architecture enjoyable stay would book again

Reviewed by
S Smith

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful old hotel, was upgraded to four poster room free of charge as I'd just been married, the room was lovely and large however it didn't have much character, I would stay here again and next time try out the pool and spa.

Reviewed by
K Miller

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Location
Room clean and quiet, booked the room only option but had a sandwich in the bar which was good.
efficient staff,and we managed to park outside the front.

Reviewed by
I McKay

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very practical for business trip
I stayed at the hotel for one night; arriving late by train I was glad that the hotel was right next to the station. The hotel looked great and very grand. The staff were courteous and efficient, it took me minutes to check in and get to my room.
Because I was just going there to sleep, I didn't care about the view or anything, so the fact that my room's window face a wall and let in almost no light didn't bother me at all. The room was clean, warm and welcoming. The shower was great, strong and warm - it's all about a good shower! The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet, I heard no noise at all despite being right in the city centre (granted, it was Sunday night...).
I sadly didn't have time to enjoy the other facilities (swimming pool and gym) as I arrived too late.
All in all great value for money.

Reviewed by
Marie H

From Oxford, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointment
My wife and I have stayed at this hotel loads over the years and its normally great, however this time they stuck us in room 316, we think this room should be allocated to keeping cleaning equipment in.
The bed was tiny and uncomfortable the view was a wall about 2m from our window and it had to be the noisiest room in the hotel.
Sorry but have to tell the truth.

Reviewed by
R Thornton

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Beautiful interior decor

Reviewed by
Julie M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Just had one night away as a Christmas treat; have stayed before but this time found the room to be very small and very noisy (outside noise not from within the hotel) the window did not close properly. When we mentioned it at check out the response was "yes, it is a noisy hotel" perhaps this should be mentioned!

Reviewed by
Melanie D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in Newcastle
We stayed in Newcastle to do some Christmas shopping. The hotel is in a great location close to all the shops in the city centre and easy to get home from (on the train!) right next to the station. The staff were friendly and helpful, we had a good time and would go again (but with ear plugs!).

Reviewed by
Eric Utley

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next