No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 173 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutey quality!
Went up there for a night out and was totally impressed with the rooms, the hotel kept the rooms tidy and it seemed all the staff knew ways to help answering all questions and helping out with requests. After a many many jager bombs and double vodka red bull mixes the place was still easy to find, the night staff a brilliant at getting you up the stairs in the vodka state. After a quality night, quality sleep is needed, and the bed doesn't disappoint it so comfy you forget that you're holding your muscles to prevent a southward leakage. The thing is the bed and the bathroom are so close. You don't even have to be scared when you feel the train leaving the station because in two steps you are in a beautiful all white bathroom to release the alcohol into the toilet.
The rooms are great for people looking for a night out, you have a lot of mirrors for the pre night out selfies, a mini fridge that keeps that beer and vodka mix cold and comes with complementary water to help that hangover the next morning
Loved every minute
Overall best hotel to arrive drunk at

Reviewed by
Mostern K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
carol M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelled from Carlisle by train so picked this hotel as next to railway station. Also wanted accommodation within easy walking distance of the shopping area and mainly the Theatre Royal. Excellent choice on all counts. Very helpful and friendly staff and we were able to leave our luggage even though we had checked out at 11 a.m. Breakfast was excellent with everything imaginable to eat. Only criticism was we couldn't go into the bar on Saturday afternoon before our train home as there was a wedding on.

Reviewed by
M Liddell

From , England
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, shame about view, stains and noise
The hotel is extremely grand as you enter, was almost a little overwhelmed. However, unfortunately the room didn't live up to the entrance. There was dried nail varnish on the table and interesting black stains on the carpet. The noise from the local hostelry also went onto to the wee small hours. However, on the upside, it was very large, and what wasn't stained was clean, the bathroom scrupulously so. Breakfast was good but had to be paid for separately which always fells to be a swizz. I think it was overpriced for what it offered.

Reviewed by
S B

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mini break
I stayed with my 17yr old daughter, we went to the arena to see Mcbusted. The hotel is close to the train station, when we booked In the staff were very friendly. We had a twin room which was clean, the shower was very powerful, perfect to wake you up! We used all the facilities including the pool and steam room. I would certainly go again and recommend it to my friends.

Reviewed by
alison b

From northumberland, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money

Reviewed by
P Cooper

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy
Despite reading negative reviews, I was very happy with my room. I paid £75 and got a massive suite. Yes breakfast was charged as an optional extra of £10 but it was good quality. The location of the hotel was very convenient for shops and the station. Music could be heard from the wine bar downstairs, but it didn't bother me. If you like 100% no sound then probably not the best place to stay, personally I enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Rebecca N

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place
Very impressed. Very clean room. Nice to have free items in fridge. Good price. Good location.

Reviewed by
tracey k

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a lovely stay at the royal hotel newcastle, staff very friendly and helpful and what a lovely surprise on arrival to be upgraded to the bridal suite! Thought that only happened to everyone else. Top marks and would definitely come back again

Reviewed by
k sutherland

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location
Friendly staff and impressive hotel.

Reviewed by
C Searle

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next