No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 173 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle via Thailand
It was very warm in the room and no air conditioning. Unfortunately because of the location of the Train Stattion & the building work opposite when we opened the windows it was very noisy constantly day and night. We got very little rest which was a shame because we had a gruelling journey ahead of us.

Reviewed by
DELPHI G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mini break mother and daughter
good location, very old hotel, comfortable, friendly, inside room with no window, felt a bit strange at first but we got used to it. nice lobby.

Reviewed by
b law

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
The hotel is in a really good place, right next to the station and the shopping and transport links. The room was lovely and very comfortable - with free drinks in the fridge. Very tasty breakfast. The only downside was the noise, which went on until 1am. If you want to stay here I would recommend you ask to stay in a quiet area as there are lots of bars and noisy nightlife all around, and two bars in the hotel.

Reviewed by
J West

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Really really really friendly and helpful staff - so incredibly helpful, polite and nice in all the right ways.
Good food, good room (only complaint was a couple of light bulbs not working - that apart can't fault them - instead want to praise where it is very clearly deserved!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Gren E

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room but kept awake all night bu rowdy people outside hotel

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional old fashioned city centre hotel. My room was very large and extremely comfortable. Unfortunately the view was of scaffolding at the time. Located in the city centre next to the station.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Royal Station Hotel
Checked in with my partner at 3pm and was greeted by two very friendly and welcoming faces.
We were given a brief overview of the hotel's facilities and if we required breakfast the next morning.
Our room was spotlessly clean and much better than either of us had anticipated. The room was spacious, had separate dressing area and a huge bathroom. The hotel's communal areas were absolutely gorgeous, we loved the décor/styling etc... We used the pool/spa/sauna and again could fault it. Location is excellent for anyone intending on sampling Newcastle's nightlife. Already booked in for another stay in October and really looking forward to it. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. 10/10

Reviewed by
K Tynan

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel, great location
Very good, clean hotel in a great spot right next to the station, which was useful for me as I had an early train to catch. My room in fact overlooked the station so there was some noise from trains but not bad once I got to used to it. There was also some noise from surrounding bars and clubs in the evening, being in a city centre location this was to be expected of course. The staff were very friendly on check in and check out.
Room was comfortable and clean and there was even a mini-fridge stocked with complimentary water, orange juice and KitKats, replenished daily. There is free wi-fi available but it was a bit on the slow side when I tried it. however it did get quite warm and stuffy - no air conditioning and leaving the window open all night wasn't an option due to the noise. However overall this was a great hotel and would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room is clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
Y Hao

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything you could want
Lovely room, spacious and small free snack and water left for kids in fridge nice touch, bathrobes all good really enjoyed! Couldn't ask for more, central location, parking lovely staff... Overall one of the nicest hotels I've started in, swimming pool, steam room, sauna... All good... No complaints! Def recommend!

Reviewed by
Melanie R

From Newbiggin by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next