Reviews - Royal Station Hotel


Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH

Price From 114.89 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (148)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • suzanne parker

  • January 2015

new years eve night out

Staff were very helpfull and friendly, room was lovely but would of liked a bit of a view and not a wall but we did book late.

For £150 for one night i think brekkie should be included..

  • l giles

  • January 2015

Royal Station Hotel

Safe did not lock ,and hot water was just warm

  • D Bain

  • January 2015

Go for the premium option for a little extra and the rooms are excellently sized.

Faded glory chic with the best location in Newcastle.

  • LISA M

  • December 2014

Lovely Room No Complaints

Staff were friendly have no negative comments at all room was lovely bed was very comfortable.

  • C Thomson

  • December 2014

Fog on the Tyne all mine

Lovely hotel next to station so not far to walk.

Nothing too much trouble. Just been on 4 floor was quite warm slept with window open eventually came for lindisfarne concert at City hall.

  • mark p

  • December 2014

Royal Station Hotel

Great hotel excellent location ,great staff only let is Newcastle central train station directly behind so if you have a room to the rear it is noisy, but other than that all good

  • Brian R

  • December 2014

2nd visit and will definitely stay again

  • Michelle Wilson

  • December 2014

Pleasurable stay

Room was lovely & very spacious - ordered room service & it was the best I have had in a long time.

Food was very tasty & was hot, served on a very hot plate. Excellent value for money

  • r gray

  • December 2014

Accommodation type

The room was OK but as a superior room it was actually smaller and of a lower quality than when other family members had booked before and stayed in a standard room.

Is this because I was on my own or because the hotel knew I had booked through laterooms, I wonder. Also the room was at the top of the hotel and the noise from the roof, the rattling, banging and general loft noises was awful and kept me awake. There was virtually no hot water coming from the hot tap in the bathroom sink. This was not addressed during my stay.

  • G Cottrell

  • December 2014

Not bad but not the best

On arrival to the royal station we were greeted by a grand entrance which really looked the part.

the reception staff were on hand and very friendly. we checked into our room for the first of a two night stay the room looked lovely and we thought it was perfect for us until the night time arrived then the noise from the bars started and the noise of revellers signing in the streets below our third floor room was almost as if we were right there beside them we couldn't open the windows or the noise just got even worse. never the less we thought after a sleep things would be good but the bed was the most uncomfortable thing I've ever slept in not just for me but for my girlfriend as well we awoke in the morning both feeling like we had just been ten rounds with Tyson. We were there to relax but relax was not the case not wanting to make to much of a fuss I spoke to the reception staff who could not have been anymore helpful they quickly got the manager and instantly gave us a new room the second night was like staying in a completely different place as the new room was at the rear of the hotel and you couldn't hear a thing. The room was really nice spacious on a whole I'd certainly go back but I would definelty state when booking that a room at the rear of the hotel would be what I was wanting and the staff were faultless the really couldn't have been anymore friendly or helpful even when I was complaining

On checking out the manager gave us some discount for our first night that both me and my girlfriend both thought was reasonable

The hotel was in the perfect location for us as only a two min walk had you right in the heart of the city