No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel on 0191 2320781 for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 163 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very practical for business trip
I stayed at the hotel for one night; arriving late by train I was glad that the hotel was right next to the station. The hotel looked great and very grand. The staff were courteous and efficient, it took me minutes to check in and get to my room.
Because I was just going there to sleep, I didn't care about the view or anything, so the fact that my room's window face a wall and let in almost no light didn't bother me at all. The room was clean, warm and welcoming. The shower was great, strong and warm - it's all about a good shower! The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet, I heard no noise at all despite being right in the city centre (granted, it was Sunday night...).
I sadly didn't have time to enjoy the other facilities (swimming pool and gym) as I arrived too late.
All in all great value for money.

Reviewed by
Marie H

From Oxford, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointment
My wife and I have stayed at this hotel loads over the years and its normally great, however this time they stuck us in room 316, we think this room should be allocated to keeping cleaning equipment in.
The bed was tiny and uncomfortable the view was a wall about 2m from our window and it had to be the noisiest room in the hotel.
Sorry but have to tell the truth.

Reviewed by
R Thornton

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Beautiful interior decor

Reviewed by
Julie M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Just had one night away as a Christmas treat; have stayed before but this time found the room to be very small and very noisy (outside noise not from within the hotel) the window did not close properly. When we mentioned it at check out the response was "yes, it is a noisy hotel" perhaps this should be mentioned!

Reviewed by
Melanie D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in Newcastle
We stayed in Newcastle to do some Christmas shopping. The hotel is in a great location close to all the shops in the city centre and easy to get home from (on the train!) right next to the station. The staff were friendly and helpful, we had a good time and would go again (but with ear plugs!).

Reviewed by
Eric Utley

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury treat for a change!
Going up to Newcastle for a concert, we travelled by train, and therefore wanted somewhere fairly central. The hotel was perfect - adjacent to the station, smack in the middle of town. From entering - clean, spacious, welcoming - the hotel lived up to everything we expected. A proper hotel, not a travel cheap place. The receptionist was welcoming, friendly but professional. Booking in was easy, directions to the room clear (and help offered with the bags) The room was large, clean, warm, and perfect. The two nights staying there was relaxing, and every member of staff we met made us feel at ease, welcome, and respected. There was nothing about the stay which would make us not want to return - and we will. It is not cheap - but the old adage "you get what you pay for" is so true. We really look forward to being able to return to the area again - and will definitely be staying at the Royal Station Hotel!

Reviewed by
K Watson

From Withernsea, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seal ruins stay
The Royal Station Hotel looked impressive, a stunning pink marble staircase was hidden under a blue carpet and massive chandeliers hung through the stair well from five floors up. All the staff dressed sharp and were polite and, with one exception, efficient. I thought my little en suite room in the attic was rather sweet. Additionally I found the clatter of revellers returning to their rooms at 3am made a nice change from listening to the broken toilet filling and emptying all night. Obviously I reported the problem, but the hotel elected not to fix it.

Reviewed by
Chris N

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Station Hotel
Great location right next door to train station and local amenities.
Only complaint would be the condensation on the windows couldn't see out for the water on windows.

Reviewed by
carol b

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was our second stay and it won't be the last. Nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff, they are friendly caring and polite.
I can't comment on the food as we ate out but it did smell nice......the room was clean and warm, the beds were comfy and the bedding was crisp and white the room attendants cleaned and replenished the small fridge every day.
We are looking forward to our next stay.
Thank you

Reviewed by
suzan lawrence

From scarborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal station hotel lives up to its name
great location particularly if arriving by train as right next to station - stayed one night and met all my needs - even had a bath in room

Reviewed by
Selwyn D

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next