No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 177 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
A beautiful hotel in a perfect location in the city centre. Comfortable and hassle free

Reviewed by
Peter Yarwood

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good clean room and attractive hotel

Reviewed by
Liam B

From keighley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad but not the best
On arrival to the royal station we were greeted by a grand entrance which really looked the part. the reception staff were on hand and very friendly. we checked into our room for the first of a two night stay the room looked lovely and we thought it was perfect for us until the night time arrived then the noise from the bars started and the noise of revellers signing in the streets below our third floor room was almost as if we were right there beside them we couldn't open the windows or the noise just got even worse. never the less we thought after a sleep things would be good but the bed was the most uncomfortable thing I've ever slept in not just for me but for my girlfriend as well we awoke in the morning both feeling like we had just been ten rounds with Tyson. We were there to relax but relax was not the case not wanting to make to much of a fuss I spoke to the reception staff who could not have been anymore helpful they quickly got the manager and instantly gave us a new room the second night was like staying in a completely different place as the new room was at the rear of the hotel and you couldn't hear a thing. The room was really nice spacious on a whole I'd certainly go back but I would definelty state when booking that a room at the rear of the hotel would be what I was wanting and the staff were faultless the really couldn't have been anymore friendly or helpful even when I was complaining
On checking out the manager gave us some discount for our first night that both me and my girlfriend both thought was reasonable
The hotel was in the perfect location for us as only a two min walk had you right in the heart of the city

Reviewed by
G Cottrell

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very handy location. Nice staff

Reviewed by
IAN HUTCHISON

From Larbert, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
Location is fab, great price considering location and the quality

Reviewed by
H Slater

From bishop auckland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I always use this hotel when I visite Newcastle. It is very special. Probably very difficult to keep up to a good standard. I think they make the best of a very old building

Reviewed by
s zundel

From Switzerland
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian elegance 2 minutes from the station
I was glad I asked for a quiet room - in a distant wing overlooking the train sheds. The street-side rooms apparently get lots of post-club noise.
Wonderful chandeliers and tiled staircases.
My only regret was that I didn't have time for a swim.

Reviewed by
Eleanor M

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle
Partner and I have stayed here twice already and have another room booked for later this month.
We both love the central location and the facilities this hotel offers us, such as the pool, gym etc...
The rooms are beautifully decorated and the staff are always willing to help.

Reviewed by
Keith T

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very clean and well presented, but there were drafts from the windows as they didn't shut properly

Reviewed by
Sharon G

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff poor rooms
I stayed here for one night and I have to admit I was glad it was just one night, we arrived and checked in where the staff were very professional, when we got to our room we realised we were in a different one than we booked which I assume was actually a suite not a double room but the room wasn't very well lit and seamed outdated and cold, the beds have very poor quality mattresses on them also, and when I went for a shower there was no hot water, I went to reception and I can't fault the staff for trying to sort it out but the maintenance mans response was to leave the water running for 10mins which I don't mean to be picky but when your paying money u shouldnt have to sit there waiting for the water to heat up especially for ten mins, this had no affect anyway so I asked to be moved which we were straight away into a room that we initially booked and it was a slight improvement but again the mattress was very poor and the TV was poorly positioned right in front of the bed which meant u had to lean to the side to walk past it small issue, and for my second attempt at a shower half way through the shower head fell off onto my head which again is very poor, again I had to go down to reception where the staff were again excellent in trying to resolve it, but sadly the maintenance man was pritty miserable and made me feel like I was causing him hassle because he had to fix it, but sadly it was not my fault there rooms are not at a good standard, hotel is in a perfect position if u are going to the radio arena for a show like me and my partner were but the hotel needs a big refurb to make it a top hotel which with the staff it has it could be, I'm glad I got a cheaper rate for the room as it wasn't worth even the money we paid could have got a better room at the premier inn

Reviewed by
R Nockels

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next