No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 177 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Room No Complaints
Staff were friendly have no negative comments at all room was lovely bed was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
LISA M

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fog on the Tyne all mine
Lovely hotel next to station so not far to walk. Nothing too much trouble. Just been on 4 floor was quite warm slept with window open eventually came for lindisfarne concert at City hall.

Reviewed by
C Thomson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Station Hotel
Great hotel excellent location ,great staff only let is Newcastle central train station directly behind so if you have a room to the rear it is noisy, but other than that all good

Reviewed by
mark p

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd visit and will definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Brian R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasurable stay
Room was lovely & very spacious - ordered room service & it was the best I have had in a long time.
Food was very tasty & was hot, served on a very hot plate. Excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Michelle Wilson

From Chatteris, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Station Hotel
Second time staying here. Great location. Staff very helpful. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation type
The room was OK but as a superior room it was actually smaller and of a lower quality than when other family members had booked before and stayed in a standard room. Is this because I was on my own or because the hotel knew I had booked through laterooms, I wonder. Also the room was at the top of the hotel and the noise from the roof, the rattling, banging and general loft noises was awful and kept me awake. There was virtually no hot water coming from the hot tap in the bathroom sink. This was not addressed during my stay.

Reviewed by
r gray

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very noisy
The room was facing the front of the hotel and the road. The street noise was apparent until the small hours and then the workman started at around7am. Their was no double glazing or noise reduction so not much sleep had. The road works outside look to be on for a while and the hotel should have informed us before hand .

Reviewed by
Gail s

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very expensive for a very dark dingy room
For £200 a night I expected a lot nicer room I have stayed in better travel lodge hotels with nicer rooms !!

Reviewed by
K Ellis

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Station Hotel
We had a lovely stay, but we were only at the hotel one night and were not able to use the leisure facilities due to their opening times. I would have been happy if the leisure club had opened so that it could be used before breakfast. There is not enough time to enjoy the facility after breakfast with check out being at 11am.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next