No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 169 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation
The hotel room was really nice and was clean couldn't fault anything. I never tried the food so not sure what it was like. The staff in the hotel were really helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Emma P

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hostel
I was given a room with 3 double beds, none of the beds had a full set of feet the cushions on every bed were dirty, the carpet was stained and also not hoovered , stains over all the walls this room looks as if its used for partying. i have stayed in other rooms before and they were better however after this room i will not be staying again.

Reviewed by
K Wilson

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet Saturday night in Newcastle
We were given a room looking out onto an internal well. We were in too much of a hurry to complain but when we realised that the back of the hotel faced the railway (I'd have loved it, my companion not) and the front faced onto Newcastle city centre on a Saturday night, we were glad.
It was expensive for what it was - a room for sleeping in - but perhaps it would have seemed better value if we'd stayed longer. It was, however, superbly convenient for the event we were in Newcastle for.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite nice but £140 was quite expensive

Reviewed by
Linda G

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortab

Reviewed by
Lindsey Ellis

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine hotel and location
Stayed with friends at the Royal Station Hotel on a Saturday evening. Arrived ahead of the check-in time but pleased our rooms were ready for us. Easy and quick check-in. Room was spotlessly clean and bed was comfortable. The sash window refused to stay open (it was a warm night) but I managed to find something to wedge it. Not a major problem! Never ate at the hotel simply because we were meeting other friends in town and plans had already been made. Check-out was easy and the hotel looked after our bags until our train arrived. No complaints at all :<)

Reviewed by
RICHARD BEAN

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really convenient for the Station
Great classic interior, Comfortable though a tad expensive.

Reviewed by
C Brunt

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected
Double room, 316 with a view of a wall with peeling paint and if I stretched my neck, could just about see the Tyne Bridge. No double glazing so could hear freight trains from the nearby rail station throughout the night. Breakfast was buffet style and not very hot or inspiring. Very disappointed as I had stayed here before

Reviewed by
Richard M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stag party weekend
The hotel location is brilliant, central for the bars, 10 min walk to St. James park for the football and 1 min from the train station platforms for when your rough after the night before. Can't complain about the cleanliness as the hotel was spotless, staff were friendly and helpful the only let down was the room temperature. I'm not sure if there is a sauna underneath room 212 or a lava pit but the window in the room was open the entire weekend and the radiator was off, I'd be surprised if the temperature went below 27 degrees in there. I'm sure if I said something I would have been moved to another room but I was there stag party and it was pretty close to the lift so location over temperature won out.

Reviewed by
R Maciver

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, perfect location, will be back!
Cannot fault anything about my stay, it was perfect for what I needed-near to the station, the bars & the shops. Room was lovely & had a great bathroom, much bigger than expected. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Lara M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next