No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel on 0191 2320781 for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 165 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay. Fantastic room. Fantatic food (cannon of lamb). Very nice staff.
What more can I say, the hotel is marvellous. The only down side is that I could not stay for longer.
Bill Parkinson

Reviewed by
W Parkinson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

18th July 2013
Very comfortable room, very friendly staff, good value for money

Reviewed by
Barbara Lock

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but rather noisy on a night
The hotel was lovely but the noise was a problem. I could hear the bass line from the bar beneath the hotel until the early hours each morning. I also couldn't open the windows because the sound from the road and other bars kicking out disturbed my sleep. It was a very hot week and with no air con in the room and noise from having the window open I didn't sleep well all week.
I would stay in this hotel again but only in winter. The rooms are just too warm in the summer.

Reviewed by
Laura W

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly+central location
Was given a superior double as all singles full,so good value for money. Couldn't close thr sash window+was noisy, but someone arrived within mins to help me close it. Would still have been quite noisy-to be expected next to a station, but I had earplugs. No A/C. Staff v friendly+helpedme with directions+bus times.

Reviewed by
karen v

From hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Room with No View
Although we were relieved to find any double room at short notice during Graduation Week in Newcastle (my fault), the size of the room was a disappointment; it was difficult to open the door and enter the room properly, the bed was a very small double and the window overlooked a shabby ventilation shaft, with no view of the sky at all. I felt like a maid in 'Upstairs Downstairs'. In spite of this, everything was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Well, I suppose you get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
Ruth Lawton

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really nice friendly hotel however my stay short as I arrived late and left early
Room was comfortable, very clean and had all you needed. It was a little noisy as you can hear through the walls and floors above so if you are a light sleeper like me it may be a restless night.
otherwise recommend you try it as very friendly and 5 mins out of station. Good one

Reviewed by
karen b

From Tamworth, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room
The accommodation was of good size, especially the bathroom & the bed was especially comfy!

Reviewed by
Joanne Townsend

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reunion at the royal
A convenient and pleasant place to stay.Friendly staff ,very handy for the railway station,metro and city centre.

Reviewed by
r davison

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little noisy but great location, great staff and a very good gym
I stayed at the back of the hotel which had noise from the train station, but otherwise the stay (which was for two nights) was great. Nice central location, staff were very good but for me the highlight was the gym. Well equipped for a 'hotel' gym with a smith machine, which is a rarity - most hotel gyms only seem to provide cardio equipment! There was some confusion over breakfast as I thought I'd booked and had breakfast included and I ended up having to pay for breakfast in the morning in addition so check your booking carefully. Rooms were well appointed and the hotel had a nice style to it.

Reviewed by
Simon R

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Room perfectly adequate. Small, tucked away but good value as a late booking. Room very clean but pile of dirty towels outside my door the whole time which was a bit off putting, particularly on arrival. Reception staff excellent, welcoming and happy to order a taxi.

Reviewed by
Jocelyn C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next