No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel on 0191 2320781 for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 159 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Victorian Hotel, But..
This is Victorian railway hotel of great character, and is well appointed although the decor is looking a bit tired. The staff were courteous and helpful, and the breakfast good and plentiful. The one big problem was that there was no hot water in the room (115A) and we had to have cold showers in the morning. When I reported this, the lady on reception said, "Oh, we do have this problem; you have to let it run for 15 minutes!". Ridiculous! A hundred quid a night hotel room and no hot running water. Why don't they get a plumber in and get it sorted? Quite apart from that, it was wrong - the water must have run for over 20 minutes, and never ran hot.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From DERBY, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
When i visit newcastle i usualy stay in this hotel! I have stayed there a couple weeks ago and my room wasnt really good. After i wrote a review i got a better room and the stuff was glad to let me know that if i didnt like my room this time the would be happy to change it! i was realy happy from this stay and im sure i will be staying there again!

Reviewed by
PANAGIOTIS V

From Greece
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Warm welcome, room small but modern. Very clean and tidy, comfortable bed. As expected on a Saturday night in Newcastle there was a little noise at 3am but did not last long. Would recommend and would stay again

Reviewed by
L Bush

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay in the toon
I have been to Newcastle and stayed in loads of the all the brand named hotels Hilton, Copthorne, Jury Inn etc. All good; but the Station Hotel etc all the others ale into insignificance. From the moment you check in to the minute you check out the service is exemplary. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for either business or pleasure.

Reviewed by
Sharon T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very pleased
We were very pleased with our room and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very spacious. The only thing that let the hotel down was the member of staff who was rude to me when I went down to reception at about 7am to get a soft drink.

Reviewed by
T Woodward

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle
Thought the service when we arrived was fantastic. Rooms were clean and well presented. Beautiful hotel

Reviewed by
Iona H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room 428.......never again!
Im a regular customer at the Royal Station Hotel and im always happy with my stay! unfortunately this time it was not very good! The size of my room was small and the room itself was really really hot. Also it was on the side of the rail tracks and thats not really helpful if you wanted to get another couple of hours of extra thing! Another thing that got my attention was the cleaning stuff.....they did a fantastic job and they were really polite but when they started cleaning the rooms next door they were realy loud and noisy and all the doors got slammed realy hard.......not a good thing if you are in need of some extra sleep.
I do not know if i should have asked to put me in another room. I certainly hope next time will be better and i will definitely not stay at room 428 ever again!

Reviewed by
PANAGIOTIS V

From Greece
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
I booked this hotel at the last minute for a weeken away for a night out in Newcastle for my boyfriends birthday. On arriving we were upgraded to an executive room which was lovely and clean and very spacious. We loved the quietness of the room although we stayed on a Saturday night meaning we could hear people at the bars and clubs opposite but that was not a problem. The stuff were very friendly and we have recommended the hotel to others already. We would love to come back to this hotel.

Reviewed by
Hannah Nicholson

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely luxury nights stay away
Fabulous hotel, really beautiful. Swimming pool & sauna is really relaxing and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the beauty of the hotel in general, only thing was our neighbours were arguing during the night but overall the hotel is lovely.

Reviewed by
kayleigh Peel

From South Shields, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception staff were friendly and attentive. Hotel is a little jaded as very busy. Doorman wouldn't let non residents into the hotel after 11pm.

Reviewed by
craig t

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next