Reviews - Royal Station Hotel


Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH

Price From 170.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (159)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Philip R

  • September 2014

Very poor

The only good thing this hotel has is location.

No room air conditioning, small cramped bathroom, poor standard of decor. No better than a travelodge or premier inn. Breakfast was extra and quite frankly not worth the money. Very poor indeed. Will not return again in a hurry.

  • P Minary

  • August 2014

Clean room right in city centre will use again

  • melissa g

  • August 2014

first visit

i was very pleased with my room and very luxury at a good price.

  • A Chinn

  • August 2014

Never again

The check in was a good experience.

However, the room itself was dated and not very clean. The silicone around the bath was black and mouldy.

  • S Gould

  • August 2014

Fabulous weekend we had

Lovely property and great deco.

Just next to the central station and good location is the highlight of our stay for us.We were there 3 nights in a twin room. The room we stayed was spacious and had 2 queen size beds. It was very comfortable and had a good sleep. Would love to stay again when I visit next time to the North East.

  • P Burns

  • August 2014

Royal Station Hootle

  • Lee G

  • August 2014

Decent Hotel, Good Value for Money, Ideal for Single Traveller

This was a nice surprise.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the public areas were in splendid condition. Victorian tiling is spectacular. Room was nice. Good bed. Good shower and bath. Would stay again. I usually find many faults with hotels but found none at this hotel.

  • Robert Milne

  • August 2014

great hotel with friendly helpful staff

Loved staying here - the staff were very helpful, pleasant and friendly.

  • Mostern K

  • July 2014

absolutey quality!

Went up there for a night out and was totally impressed with the rooms, the hotel kept the rooms tidy and it seemed all the staff knew ways to help answering all questions and helping out with requests.

After a many many jager bombs and double vodka red bull mixes the place was still easy to find, the night staff a brilliant at getting you up the stairs in the vodka state. After a quality night, quality sleep is needed, and the bed doesn't disappoint it so comfy you forget that you're holding your muscles to prevent a southward leakage. The thing is the bed and the bathroom are so close. You don't even have to be scared when you feel the train leaving the station because in two steps you are in a beautiful all white bathroom to release the alcohol into the toilet.

The rooms are great for people looking for a night out, you have a lot of mirrors for the pre night out selfies, a mini fridge that keeps that beer and vodka mix cold and comes with complementary water to help that hangover the next morning

Loved every minute

Overall best hotel to arrive drunk at

  • Chris W

  • July 2014

Good hotel with history not your new square soulless box supplied by the big chain hoteliers