Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North East England > County Durham > Tow Law Hotels > Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fir Tree,Tow Law , Bishop Auckland, DL13 4NW
Nestled within 2 acres of landscaped gardens, yet just 10 miles from Durham, this 17th Century country house hotel offers fabulous views, excellent food, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in 1643, this charming property is infused with the elegance and vibrancy of its long and distinguished history. Having been lovingly renovated, it combines original features – such as open hearth fires – with all the comfort and convenience of modern living. What’s more, with an excellent reputation for quality service and an enviable location on the edge of the Wear Valley, guests can expect to enjoy a warm welcome coupled with some beautifully stunning views.

Picture of Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant, Bishop Auckland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

PERFECT getaway
The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly we really liked the hotel itself it was lovely and has lots of character, the views from the hotel are amazing and the grounds are lovely and well kept, we felt it was like a home from home very comfortable and cozy and very very per friendly . Will definitely be back .

Reviewed by
Audrey Duncan

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very good value and outstanding food
Stated for a week and wasn't expecting much as only paid £150 for the week!
But the hotel was spacious, the rooms were huge and views from the window was outstanding, I would say that one or 2 bits in my room were in need of upkeep to make it perfect but saying that for £150 I can't complain.
The staff were friendly & helpful & the new chef produced some of the nicest food I've eaten.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very quiet, pleasant Hotel
After an initial hiccup on arrival the Hotel Manager was only to accommodating to help us. Though we didn't get the room we wanted, the room we had was very good. Hotel staff made sure everything was alright including putting up an extra bed for us. Rooms were great and made up every day. No complaints from us!!

Reviewed by
M Hope

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really good value for money and some really helpful staff
Had to check in really late as attending a wedding. Staff were great anf made sure everything was sorted when we arrived. Nice big room, i think the rooms need a bit of modernisation and i had problems trying to get hot water via the shower so had to have a bath. Couldnt fault the reception first class service. As this was only £50 Per night this was goof value for money

Reviewed by
Tamsin L

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad only stayed one night
Female staff friendly male member of staff in morning very off hand. Dead insects on windowsill next to table in dinning room were still there in morning. Evening meal very disapointing only one other table occupied. All other guests dinned out. Breakfast even more disapointing grilled tomatoes were fried & greasy. Bedroom tired & dated like rest of hotel. Painting of hallway & stairs being done which seemed odd taking place during what should be the "busy" season. Bedroom smelt very strongly of new paint on radiator.

Reviewed by
C Johnson

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
Decent room at a very good price.

Reviewed by
Ricardo G

From Brazil
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel - staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, even though they were very busy - exceeded expectations. Have already recommended to friends and family who intend to visit the area, and we would book again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
S GREEN

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for one night and after a long day at work was looking forward to a nice hot shower. Waited ten minutes at reception to check in because there was nobody at the desk or anywhere in sight. Eventually got into the room to find there was no hot water, the shower didn't work and the bath was dirty! Went downstairs to complain and got moved rooms to one with a working shower. Bed was clean and comfy but could hear every noise that possibly went on in the hotel so didn't get much sleep whatsoever.

Reviewed by
nicola w

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with no ice!!!!
Friendly staff. Shower - like standing in drizzle!!! Bathroom seen better days. No ice for drinks! Food average. Chips were hard in centre. Could not give any more as fryers were off, so knocked cost of meal off bill. Overall, pleasant enough stay, but we wouldn't revisit.

Reviewed by
Yvonne M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter 4 day break
Lovely hotel and friendly helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble for them. Lovely room with terrific view. Very peaceful location we slept like logs.Very filling breakfast to set you up for the day. Very relaxing break and excellent value for money. A car is needed to stay here and a very large free car park is situated at the rear of the hotel.

Reviewed by
carole e

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next