No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Morritt

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Greta Bridge , Barnard Castle, DL12 9SE
The Morritt is a Grade II listed 17th Century, country house hotel with traditional values and warm, attentive staff. Ideally located just off the A66 Transpennine Route (9 miles west of Scotch Corner), set in the tranquille hamlet of Greta Bridge. 27 en-suite bedrooms (21 in the main building, 6 located in the hotel grounds) all with free wi-fi, hospitality trays, direct dial telephone and colour television with freeview. Our contemporary restaurant (Gilroy's) has an excellent reputation for food as well as an award-winning wine list (over 100 bins to choose from!) and our traditional Dickens bar serves hand-pulled ales (Timothy Taylor's Landlord, BlackSheep Ale and Seasonal Guest Beers). Beautifully landscaped gardens make a wonderful setting for warmer days and for those cooler months we have roaring log fires. Ideal for both business and leisure we offer conference rooms with natural daylight as well as private dining by arrangement. There are beautiful walks on the doorstep (ask at Reception for details), and the Tees Valley and Yorkshire Dales are all but a stone’s throw away.
Picture of The Morritt , Barnard Castle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small bed and uncomfortable, and although the staff were very nice, it was not a four star hotel
The food was expensive for what we had
Chairs and tables moved every night not picked up, but dragged across the floor.

Reviewed by
D Beaton

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding stopover for 1 night
Small poky little room, cramped shower and noise from the kitchen bins and bottles being moved about at 1am in the morning and 7.30am on the Sunday did little to help lift my view of this hotel.
Only £120 a night so what could I expect? - a lot more than this.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

morrit arms
very pleasent surroundings,helpful staff,comfy bed clean room however cant really say its a £140 a night hotel

Reviewed by
n ross

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely peaceful location.Very kind and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.We really enjoyed the evening meal and breakfast. Good quality food and choice selection for breakfast. We would stay again.

Reviewed by
JOHN D

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gem Just Off the A1
This is less than 1/4 mile from the busy A1, but seems worlds away with its beautiful gardens and cosy bar and lounge. We chose to eat dinner in nearby Barnards Castle because we thought the hotel menu was expensive (but the prices might have ben justified). Our room was spacious and the breakfast was ample and well cooked.

Reviewed by
Eva H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Value for Money
We were disappointed especially as the cheapest room is £120 per night. The room is small and basic. The double bed was small and had an uncomfortable mattress so we did not sleep well. When we arrived at reception we had to carry our case up 2 floors ourselves as there was no staff willing to carry it. Limited hospitality tray, no herbal teas. We were awoken by creaky floor boards from the room next door. At breakfast there was a lovely waitress, but there was no vegetarian option and we had to tolerate a noisy radio playing blaring pop music. We had come for a peaceful time. It was far to overpriced for what they offer.

Reviewed by
C Thomas

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
One night stay, slept well and ate in Bistro. Lovely old fashioned pub with good food.
Bar area was so dark in the evening we could not read the menu!

Reviewed by
James S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding weekend
Had a wonderful stay here'. Used the Spa and had afternoon tea and treatment. Room was great as was breakfast. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
C Johnson

From Co durham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Kay C

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely relaxing weekend
Staff lovely and friendly, cosy busy public bar, drink not too expensive, nice food, hotel done out very nicely, and very happy with the weekend.

Reviewed by
Elaine D

From Keswick, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next