No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Harnham Road , Salisbury, SP2 8JQ
The recently awarded 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an idyllic location, with stunning views across the River Avon to the magnificent Salisbury Cathedral beyond. This 13th century inn provides the perfect riverside location whether your stay is for either business and leisure. Being close to all major road and rail links, the hotel is perfectly located for all your business needs in the Wiltshire area, whilst allowing the perfect restful ambience after your busy day. There are many original features remaining around the hotel including the old wooden beams and log fire in the traditional Oak Bar. There is FREE Wi-Fi available on the Legacy network in selected public areas for the benefit of our guests and visitors.

Picture of Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel, Salisbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely stay we had beautiful views from our room friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
graham sharpin

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cathedral Jem
The experience was excellent from the moment we walked in. Receptionist was more than willing to help on any request including the provision of soya milk for the room. The room was lovely and overlooked the river with views of the Cathedral.
Perfect location and only a 10 minute walk from the city centre. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
Excellent value for money and will be heading back later in the year.

Reviewed by
M Sleath

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay for the price.
Good location for Salisbury, just a 5min walk into the city, Lovely view of the cathedral & river Avon from the executive room, a better view from the first floor but from the ground floor you have your own patio to which you can walk out to the garden & river which you would make better use of during the spring & summer. We will go back again but does or will so be full at weekends for weddings.

Reviewed by
C Pierce

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lush Place but breakfast could be better.
We went away for a relaxing holiday away. This is what we got, the hotel location was perfect nice short work to town via the cathedral grounds. We stayed in room 10 which was amazing but bed was very big and comfy with a nice view off the river. The staff were great and friendly. The only thing that let the place down was its breakfast, the continental was ok but could have more to it, and everything kept running out and had to wait a long time for things like OJ and plates. On the last morning we decided to pay for a full English and was disappointed on the size of the meal for the price of the meal. But one night we had a dinner and that was lush. Thank you for the stay!.

Reviewed by
E Cook

From Gloucestershire, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel, poor breakfast and breakfast service
This hotel is a very nice place to stay for visits to Salisbury, the rooms and public areas are all clean and tidy and the receptionist went out of her way to help and put us at ease.
Our price only included continental breakfast, which was a little disappointing however, we were determined to make the best of our time away.
The first breakfast was ok, tea and coffee served quickly and hot, boiled eggs, ham and cheese all available and the staff were a little officious but efficient.
The second morning was a different story, no eggs, no toast, no juice, and the tea and coffee order was not taken for around 15 minutes after we sat down.
The toast and juice were replenished eventually, but the eggs were not, the ham and cheese we requested were brought but then taken away as they were someone else's order not ours.
Again they were delivered but about 20 minutes after they were ordered.
The staff on duty this morning were unfriendly and clearly flustered, although there were less in the dining room than the day before.
Tables were not cleared and we had to wait for the table we were offered to be laid.
All in all a much less pleasant experience than we had expected and unfortunately the breakfast experience is what you take away with you.

Reviewed by
Jane H

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room and hotel
an elegant room steeped in history, lovely furnishings. Great service from the staff,

Reviewed by
Robert A

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great receptionist
loved the hotel fee. The receptionist was really lovely and looked after me with room service and taxi's great customer service well done

Reviewed by
C Hutchinson

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, location perfect, staff happy and friendly and the room was fantastic with stunning views of the river and cathedral.

Reviewed by
c brown

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find!!
We've never been to Salisbury before but fell in love with it straight away. The hotel is an easy 10 minute level walk into the city centre, passing the cathedral as you go. On check in the lady at the desk was extremely helpful, providing useful information which proved invaluable on such a drizzly day. The view from the dining room is stunning just yards from the river Avon. Would love to see it in the spring. The room was very comfortable and clean, couldn't fault it. We will definitely return and would recommend it to anyone. Didn't have dinner here so can't comment. Breakfast was continental with the option to pay extra for the full English.

Reviewed by
Peter Cockcroft

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quirky and old-fashioned inn with 21st century service
I found it a lovely place to stay
We were very central for Salisbury
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay

Reviewed by
J Finch

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next