Reviews - The Edgbaston Palace Hotel


198-200 Hagley Road, Birmingham, B16 9PQ

Price From 250.63 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (77)

69% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul F

  • September 2015

Very average

Our room had a broken aerial lead on the TV (which meant no TV available) and a missing shower curtain.

Both reported to reception immediately but only the aerial lead turned up. Airlock in water supply meant a very weak and temperamental shower. Generous supply of biscuits and drinks available in room. Breakfast OK. Would not recommend overall.

  • M Michaelides

  • September 2015

If I had known.....

....that the accommodation was half price because it was in the adjacent acquisition that I assume is not yet finished to the desired standard, I might have booked elsewhere.

The bathroom and bedroom finishes are excellent, the bedroom lighting not suitable for people working at the desk or wanting a bedside read - there's only the ceiling light. which cannot be turned off from the bed. A table lamp for the desk was provided when requested. The 'used towel' instructions refer to a towel rail if towels are to be used again but there isn't one. Staff were very pleasant and helpful always. A light switch by the main door would have been nice to find as would room numbers on the walls. It took a bit of looking around several corners before I found mine upstairs. There was plenty of parking space as advertised; a safe would have been nice to see and hopefully in due course, these little issues will be resolved. Then I would be happy to stay in the annexe again.

  • richard l

  • September 2015

Cricket Trip

No Comment

  • C Connor

  • August 2015

Family Room

We spent the night here as a group of 3 women in a family room.

We had single beds, and the accommodation was basic but suited to our needs. Great value for money. Lots of free parking.

  • David F

  • August 2015

Unfinished Accommodation

Stayed in Annex which is clearly not finished.

My room had no bathroom fittings (not even a toilet roll holder), no toiletries (not even a piece of soap) and no hot water despite a laughable warning that water very hot. Bedroom had a bare bulb, no table lamp and a dangerous step between the bedroom and bathroom.

  • Lee James

  • July 2015

Refurb in progress, but managed well.

This hotel is moving in the right direction.

Completed areas are excellent, so can be firgiven for "Works in Progress" Clean, Tidy with very helpfull and friendly staff. Stayed for an evening meal, which was first class, unfortunately, the breakfast let the food score down with overcooked bacon and a hard fried egg. schoolboy errors. Would stay there again, overall good 3 satr hotel.

  • Christina W

  • June 2015

Very reasonable

I didn't like the plastic-covered mattress, but the other guest didn't notice it, so that's just me.The room was clean and comfortable otherwise.

There was shower gel, but no soap and no towel rail. There was work going on in the corridors, but it didn't affect the rooms, and presumably will be temporary!

  • Scott Johnston

  • June 2015

Probably the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in!!

Room looked like a storage cupboard, carpets thread bare, duvet cover ripped, shower hardly worked, hairs in sink and wifi did not work.

Breakfast was not very nice. On the + side the staff are really nice

  • anthony c

  • May 2015

A good budget hotel. Cost of taxi into town and the room, still cheaper than a city centre hotel.

First impressions in reception were ok.

Then the walk to the room revealed a carpet and a level of cleanliness that shocked me. Don't get me wrong, the bedding and bathroom were excellent. The room carpet was dirty and smelly.

No aircon, but at £50, that's ok. The room was oppressively hot though.

Finally, the noise at night in the courtyard was troublesome. We had to sleep with the window open due to the heat.

Having said that, I would stay here again, if I'm allowed, but they need to sort the Annex reception areas out as its a minor thing but casts a negative first impression.

  • Peter Fereday

  • March 2015

Okay for an overnight stop.

Hotel was fine for an quick stop-over.

The room was cheap enough and we were served a pleasant breakfast. The bed was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, on the down-side, the shower cubicle was really tiny (approx 600mm square tray to stand in!) and the lock was broken on the (ground-floor) window thus making the room insecure overnight. This was an old looking fault, that should have been fixed long ago. The faulty lock was reported to staff in the morning so by now should be repaired??