Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Keswick Hotels > The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels)

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Station Road , Keswick, CA12 4NQ
Only moments away from the bustling market town of Keswick, this elegant Victorian hotel stands proudly in 4 acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the Latrigg and Skiddaw mountains. The Keswick Country House Hotel prides itself of professional, yet friendly service. Dining in our beautiful Lonsdale restaurant is truly a memorable experience. Our talented chefs delight in preparing daily menus with the emphasis on flavoursome dishes using local produce when possible. Comfortable yet stylish accommodation is available in a selection of room types, with our lounge bar available for pre-dinner drinks, we aim to make your stay in the English Lake District a memorable one!
Picture of The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels), Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

luvly warm relaxing hotel.a stones throw from all you need.

Reviewed by
ANTHONY M

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slipping Standards
We have been to The Keswick many times, usually staying in the Station Rooms for peace and quiet, and I am sad to say that standards are slipping! The accommodation in the Station is good but we had a day when the room wasn't serviced. Okay we had called back to the room for a cup of tea at lunch time and had put the Do not disturb sign up but it was only there for 20 minutes and the cleaning staff were busy in the room across the way when we went back out, making sure that we had removed the sign. When we complained to the Duty Manager at about 4-30pm that the room was not serviced we were told the staff went off duty at 3-30pm so we had to do it ourselves!!! Not good service for expensive rooms. As usual the food was good but again the service was not up to standard. One night we ordered our Starter and waited a while, then noticed our choice coming along, unfortunately the Waiter went to an adjacent table, asked who had ordered Prawns put it down then tried to deliver the wrong Starter to the other customer at that table. Instead of realising it was the wrong table he left the one Starter returning 5 mins later with the other half for that table and leaving us waiting for anything to be delivered. Then another 10 mins later he returns with our Starters but brought the order that had been made by the other table. Off he goes again and 5mins later the right order appears without any hint of an apology for delay or mistakes. Because of the mix up and delays it must have destroyed the routine and after our Starter plates had been removed another member of staff appeared took away the cutlery for our Main and tried to leave the Dessert Menus!!! At least she did apologise when we exclaimed that we had not had our Main yet. The previous night to this one the Waitress completely forgot to put our Dessert order into the kitchen so we were left waiting about 20 mins. We visit Keswick at least once every year and have always stayed in the Keswick Hotel but after this last experience we may well decide to try somewhere else.

Reviewed by
T GRAHAM

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country retreat
Great place for a night away. Good service, friendly staff and excellent base for exploring the North Lakes.

Reviewed by
Valerie W

From Haltwhistle, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Variable customer service
On occasions we felt that the hotel was run for the benefit of the staff and not the customers; when we came down to breakfast one morning at 9.55 the young man who greeted us ostentatiously looked at his watch and we wondered whether we would be served given that breakfast "ended" at 10.00.We were not on a full board package and when we tried to book a table for dinner we were initially told that there were no tables available and then that there were but we could only eat at 8.30 and then finally we were able to get a table for two at 8.15. One evening we had booked a table at a restaurant in Keswick and as we left the hotel it began to POUR with rain - the hotel could not "lend" us an umbrella to walk into Keswick but luckily one of the guests did. But, Clare Wilkinson, the receptionist at the desk could not have been more helpful. She allowed me to look at some of the other rooms in the hotel which had better views than ours and gave us a lot of information about the area.
It was very off-putting to have a notice about the Norovirus in our room and bossy notices about "washing our hands" But, the hotel has a lot of character, beautiful gardens and an endearing sense of faded grandeur. I would stay there again but would make sure I had a junior suite with a good view. Thanks to Clare I know which room I would choose!

Reviewed by
Hilarie C

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Supeb hotel, staff, food and location.
Will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
D Hernen

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay at Keswick hotel
We stayed here for a weekend, the hotel was lovely
Just what we had hoped for and the staff very friendly and helpful, the hotel is excellent walking distance from the town. Our room was huge with a great view out of tall windows we were upgraded when we got there which was a lovely surprise. The breakfast was a buffet and loads of choice with both hot and cold options.
We had a lovely stay here and would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
jessica l

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hope to return

Reviewed by
Jennifer S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Keswick chill out time.
Great food and service, comfortable bed and good walks on the door step made our stay even more enjoyable.

Reviewed by
J Johnston

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Left after 2 hours
Didn't even stay the night we where that disappointed with room and cleanlineess. Dirty windows, air vents stuffed with old dirty tissue, dirty flooring, offensive smell, just all round below average! Majorly over priced, not happy at all. Staff friendly however

Reviewed by
Catherine H

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was our first visit to The Keswick Country House Hotel. We would definitely stay there again. The staff were friendly and courteous, and the food was excellent. We thought that our half board booking was very good value for money.

Reviewed by
K Blyth

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next