Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Keswick Hotels > The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels)

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Station Road , Keswick, CA12 4NQ
Only moments away from the bustling market town of Keswick, this elegant Victorian hotel stands proudly in 4 acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the Latrigg and Skiddaw mountains. The Keswick Country House Hotel prides itself of professional, yet friendly service. Dining in our beautiful Lonsdale restaurant is truly a memorable experience. Our talented chefs delight in preparing daily menus with the emphasis on flavoursome dishes using local produce when possible. Comfortable yet stylish accommodation is available in a selection of room types, with our lounge bar available for pre-dinner drinks, we aim to make your stay in the English Lake District a memorable one!
Picture of The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels), Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find!
This was an excellent hotel. The food was absolutely fantastic, more like 4* than 3. The grounds are beautiful, with views to die for.

Reviewed by
Cynthia Carroll

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff & food are good - owners not so good
The staff at the hotel are friendly, helpful and professional. Restaurant was very good - meals very tasty.
However we were disappointed with the room - the ceiling needed repairs, signs of dampness in walls. View from windows would have been beautiful but we couldn't see it properly because of mucky windows - I hasten to add that the insides of windows were clean so the cleaning staff were doing their job - however they were absolutely filthy on the outside.
Obviously the management are too tight to spend money on hiring window cleaners and on renovating the rooms.
The hotel was built in 19th century but should really be updated with air-con etc.
I've frequently stayed at guest houses with better amenities. If hotels insist on charging three times as much as a guest house the accomodation should justify the additional costs to the guests.

Reviewed by
Colin K

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dog Friendly lovely old Hotel in Keswick

Reviewed by
joan BOARDMAN

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

most enjoyable stay
Xcellent food friendly hardworking staff great location

Reviewed by
Joseph W

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality and comfort
lovely relaxing hotel in magnificent setting

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good experience
Stayed on dinner, B&B bases in a superior room and found every aspect of our stay to be very good.

Reviewed by
James G

From Melrose, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a grand night away
The hotel was up to all expecations and food was spot on would return to stop
Here again .

Reviewed by
m brown

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional service
Even though we turned up a week early after a traumatic period in our lives the hotel - without quibble or question - managed to change our date for the same special offer price so that we could stay in one of their three remaining rooms on the night we had turned up!!! Exceptional service!

Reviewed by
Patricia S

From Appleby in Westmorland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok but not amazing
We stayed in a standard room, but though the room itself was clean and nice, it overlooked roofing of the hotel. There was no view from the room. The light in the room was controlled by a main switch, so for example in the night, if you wanted to switch off lights and watch tv, the bed side lamp could not be switched on for any reason. I think for the price charged the room required some mordernisation. Also food was nice but pricey(£26pp) for dinner. Customer service was ok.

Reviewed by
N Kanagaratnam

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel set in beautiful grounds
This was our 4th stay in Keswick but first at this hotel. Hotel ideally located 5 minutes walk from town centre, right next to Keswick park and leisure centre (with pool). Free car parking which is a bonus in Keswick as parking can be really difficult to find.
Public areas within the hotel could do with renovating; wallpaper coming away from walls in some parts, carpets a tad thread bear in places. However, our room in the station building was decorated beautifully and was a very pleasant surprise. The evening meal was very good as was breakfast the following morning. Staff were really helpful and pleasant (a lot of them seemed to be of Polish or Eastern European origin). All in all, we had an enjoyable stay and if the right deal came along, we would stay here again for sure. If the owners could invest in renovating the public areas to the same standard as we found in our room, this hotel would be 4 star!!

Reviewed by
kelly b

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next