Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Keswick Hotels > The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels)

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Station Road , Keswick, CA12 4NQ
Only moments away from the bustling market town of Keswick, this elegant Victorian hotel stands proudly in 4 acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the Latrigg and Skiddaw mountains. The Keswick Country House Hotel prides itself of professional, yet friendly service. Dining in our beautiful Lonsdale restaurant is truly a memorable experience. Our talented chefs delight in preparing daily menus with the emphasis on flavoursome dishes using local produce when possible. Comfortable yet stylish accommodation is available in a selection of room types, with our lounge bar available for pre-dinner drinks, we aim to make your stay in the English Lake District a memorable one!
Picture of The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels), Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country retreat
Great place for a night away. Good service, friendly staff and excellent base for exploring the North Lakes.

Reviewed by
Valerie W

From Haltwhistle, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Variable customer service
On occasions we felt that the hotel was run for the benefit of the staff and not the customers; when we came down to breakfast one morning at 9.55 the young man who greeted us ostentatiously looked at his watch and we wondered whether we would be served given that breakfast "ended" at 10.00.We were not on a full board package and when we tried to book a table for dinner we were initially told that there were no tables available and then that there were but we could only eat at 8.30 and then finally we were able to get a table for two at 8.15. One evening we had booked a table at a restaurant in Keswick and as we left the hotel it began to POUR with rain - the hotel could not "lend" us an umbrella to walk into Keswick but luckily one of the guests did. But, Clare Wilkinson, the receptionist at the desk could not have been more helpful. She allowed me to look at some of the other rooms in the hotel which had better views than ours and gave us a lot of information about the area.
It was very off-putting to have a notice about the Norovirus in our room and bossy notices about "washing our hands" But, the hotel has a lot of character, beautiful gardens and an endearing sense of faded grandeur. I would stay there again but would make sure I had a junior suite with a good view. Thanks to Clare I know which room I would choose!

Reviewed by
Hilarie C

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Supeb hotel, staff, food and location.
Will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
D Hernen

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay at Keswick hotel
We stayed here for a weekend, the hotel was lovely
Just what we had hoped for and the staff very friendly and helpful, the hotel is excellent walking distance from the town. Our room was huge with a great view out of tall windows we were upgraded when we got there which was a lovely surprise. The breakfast was a buffet and loads of choice with both hot and cold options.
We had a lovely stay here and would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
jessica l

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hope to return

Reviewed by
Jennifer S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Keswick chill out time.
Great food and service, comfortable bed and good walks on the door step made our stay even more enjoyable.

Reviewed by
J Johnston

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Left after 2 hours
Didn't even stay the night we where that disappointed with room and cleanlineess. Dirty windows, air vents stuffed with old dirty tissue, dirty flooring, offensive smell, just all round below average! Majorly over priced, not happy at all. Staff friendly however

Reviewed by
Catherine H

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was our first visit to The Keswick Country House Hotel. We would definitely stay there again. The staff were friendly and courteous, and the food was excellent. We thought that our half board booking was very good value for money.

Reviewed by
K Blyth

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressive but a little tired
The hotel itself is very impressive but overall the inside is just a little jaded and tired: it's a bit like an aged movie star. The qulaity inside is about the same as a chain hotel so the cost is reasonable if you get a deal but probably a little high if not. The majority there when I stayed seemed to be leisure travellers at the upper end of the age range but I've no idea if this is the norm.

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food
An enjoyable weekend stay. The room was huge and beds were really comfy. What really makes this hotel is the restaurant - the food was excellent.
Tip: if you are arriving late, prebook dinner reservation/s in advance of arrival to ensure you eat at the time you require.

Reviewed by
Jan H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next