No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - REX HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Promenade , Whitley Bay, NE26 2RL
Located directly on the promenade overlooking the sea in the thriving town of Whitley Bay and just 20 minutes drive to Newcastle. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, onsite parking, restaurant and bar.

The property is perfect for the young and young at heart, there has been atotal overhaul of the
entertainment facilities which now include 3 of the most exciting and modern bars and a nightclub situated within the hotel, the nightclub is open
Thursday - Saturday plus Sundays on a Bank holiday weekend from 10:00PM -3:00AM. Also centrally located for all of the town's amenities, makes this the ideal base for a break on the North East Coast.

Each bedroom is comfortably styled and furnished and designed with the convenience of the guest foremost in mind. Many bedrooms offer commanding
panoramic sea views and provide the ideal base to explore and enjoy the
surrounding area.

The Restaurant offers the ideal place to have something to eat, with a
varied menu offering something for every taste using the freshest ingredients you will be able to enjoy a delicious meal whilst looking out at
the wonderful seaview. Please note, the restaurant is now closed Sunday -Thursday until further notice. Sunday lunch will still be available.

The seaside town of Whitley Bay has been popular with generations of visitors, the iconic St. Mary's Lighthouse which is now a visitor centre

stands on its own island and features a nature reserve and wetland habitat. Guests also visit from all over the UK to sample the nightlife and certainly don't leave disappointed. Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe's largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It's rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up adestination like no other.
Picture of REX HOTEL, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful noise from club
First night was great . Second night was dreadful. There is a nightclub downstairs. The whole hotel shakes with the thumping noise till 3am.

Reviewed by
Richard O

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at the Rex
I needed two nights but after reading reviews thought I'd book just one and see how it was in reality . First of all the staff were great ,no problems at all . I think they are let down by a lack of investment in this tired hotel . I was given room 350 which is on the third floor down a narrow walkway behind the lift itself , here you find a door leading to a number of rooms . This is where the heating stopped . The room had no heating despite a radiator in the room , I must say the lady on reception offered me a small heater or a change of room and was very helpful . I decided as I'd unpacked and needed to be out of the hotel pretty quick I would remain in 350....big mistake really..The bed had very old blankets etc like you would expect at maybe a Salvation Army Hostel in the 70s .The tired out mattress had a thick plastic cover on it that was awfull , I woke in the night to find I was lying on this as the sheet had slipped of the plastic . The lift being very close was annoying as was the nightclub below . In the bathroom was another none working heater and no bath towel only a small hand towel ...Shower curtain was grotty ....The room was only £32 and despite a decent breakfast thrown in it was way over priced . I didn't book another night and never would again until things improve i.e. a total makeover . I feel very sorry for the staff who are doing their best to make the most of a bad situation . There probably are better rooms in the hotel but there's no excuse for the conditions I found ...The Rex's also reputation locally is very bad..

Reviewed by
Ronald K

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good hotel in prime location .Good facilities, but WIFI connection was poor. Overall, Very Good.
I enjoyed my stay at the Rex Hotel in Whitley Bay. I stayed there before!! The room was very good. The breakfast was very good. I did have problems with the wifi. I could not get connected in my hotel room. I told reception. After a few attempts, I gave up with it completely. I still had a very nice time there besides that!!! and I will still go there again, as I feel it is a very good hotel and you cannot complain about the location.

Reviewed by
Robert Reid

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

East coast seaside town
In it's hay day it must have been quite a grand hotel
My room was a single much better than I expected for the price
It had an en suite which I did not expect from the late room blurb
I had put on my booking a request for a smoking room this had not been passed on
thankfully the reception was able to change it
I went along the road for something to eat a burger and chips and a beer £13
a place called "Noir" It was poor and a bit pricy would not recommend
Breakfast in the morning was exceptional
All in all fantastic Hotel great value
There is a night club on site not open on my stay this could make it a bit noisy I guess something to keep in mind if booking

Reviewed by
Kenneth Barnett

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tired looking
hotel staff were spot on , but some parts of hotel were in need of a facelift .

Reviewed by
g dempsey

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Excellent hotel for the price we paid.
Large clean room could do with a bit of a touch up hear and there but nothing major!!
Friendly helpful staff
Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
M McMaster

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, came as a surprise as we picked the cheapest one!
Beautiful building, amazing room, huge bed, lovely sea view. Could be a little noisy from the club below if you're not used to noise at night but it was no bother for us and quietened down after 1am or so. Breakfast was good, nothing memorable but a big helping and great customer service. I also recommend the lift if you like the twilight zone.

Reviewed by
Catt S

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Hotel with great character
Some of the reviews were a bit off putting when I read them but Myself and my wife had a fabulous stay at The Rex. We had a fantastic room with a sea view better than I have had before. It was very spacious and the bed very comfy. I found all of the staff were very polite and helpful. The breakfast choices were excellent and food very good. We did hear music but this did not stop us from sleeping. I would definitely stay at The Rex again when visiting the area.

Reviewed by
Ray C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed in a single room on the third floor, room was obviously not used much and smelled damp
The staff were cordial and welcoming. The size of the room was as expected,but was difficult to find and no guidance was given . Obviously great efforts had been made to make the room clean, but this was spoiled by the small of damp. The hotel itself had been very grand in its day and the ground floor has been significantly updated but the rest needs upgrading to meet modern standards

Reviewed by
Gerald C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very brief visit
Arrived late afternoon, was directed to room, left bags & went for walk. Returned, changed and went to a 'do' all evening. Returned late, went to bed. Awoke to fire alarm @ 2.50 am, soon silenced! - no fire fortunately! Up and left too early for cooked breakfast, however night porter made sure cereals, juice etc were available. Too brief a visit to properly assess hotel, but felt it was tired and needed TLC and money spent. OK for the time I spent there.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next