No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - REX HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Promenade , Whitley Bay, NE26 2RL
Located directly on the promenade overlooking the sea in the thriving town of Whitley Bay and just 20 minutes drive to Newcastle. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, onsite parking, restaurant and bar.

The property is perfect for the young and young at heart, there has been atotal overhaul of the
entertainment facilities which now include 3 of the most exciting and modern bars and a nightclub situated within the hotel, the nightclub is open
Thursday - Saturday plus Sundays on a Bank holiday weekend from 10:00PM -3:00AM. Also centrally located for all of the town's amenities, makes this the ideal base for a break on the North East Coast.

Each bedroom is comfortably styled and furnished and designed with the convenience of the guest foremost in mind. Many bedrooms offer commanding
panoramic sea views and provide the ideal base to explore and enjoy the
surrounding area.

The Restaurant offers the ideal place to have something to eat, with a
varied menu offering something for every taste using the freshest ingredients you will be able to enjoy a delicious meal whilst looking out at
the wonderful seaview. Please note, the restaurant is now closed Sunday -Thursday until further notice. Sunday lunch will still be available.

The seaside town of Whitley Bay has been popular with generations of visitors, the iconic St. Mary's Lighthouse which is now a visitor centre

stands on its own island and features a nature reserve and wetland habitat. Guests also visit from all over the UK to sample the nightlife and certainly don't leave disappointed. Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe's largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It's rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up adestination like no other.
Picture of REX HOTEL, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, came as a surprise as we picked the cheapest one!
Beautiful building, amazing room, huge bed, lovely sea view. Could be a little noisy from the club below if you're not used to noise at night but it was no bother for us and quietened down after 1am or so. Breakfast was good, nothing memorable but a big helping and great customer service. I also recommend the lift if you like the twilight zone.

Reviewed by
Catt S

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Hotel with great character
Some of the reviews were a bit off putting when I read them but Myself and my wife had a fabulous stay at The Rex. We had a fantastic room with a sea view better than I have had before. It was very spacious and the bed very comfy. I found all of the staff were very polite and helpful. The breakfast choices were excellent and food very good. We did hear music but this did not stop us from sleeping. I would definitely stay at The Rex again when visiting the area.

Reviewed by
Ray C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed in a single room on the third floor, room was obviously not used much and smelled damp
The staff were cordial and welcoming. The size of the room was as expected,but was difficult to find and no guidance was given . Obviously great efforts had been made to make the room clean, but this was spoiled by the small of damp. The hotel itself had been very grand in its day and the ground floor has been significantly updated but the rest needs upgrading to meet modern standards

Reviewed by
Gerald C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very brief visit
Arrived late afternoon, was directed to room, left bags & went for walk. Returned, changed and went to a 'do' all evening. Returned late, went to bed. Awoke to fire alarm @ 2.50 am, soon silenced! - no fire fortunately! Up and left too early for cooked breakfast, however night porter made sure cereals, juice etc were available. Too brief a visit to properly assess hotel, but felt it was tired and needed TLC and money spent. OK for the time I spent there.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this hotel needs a complete reburbishment, very poor rooms.

Reviewed by
andrew b

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not perfect but good value for money.
the hotel has seen better days, but not too bad, i've stayed in worse. Sea view made it for me....excellent view of the whole bay and st. Mary's island from bay window. Probably the only hotel with such a good view.

Reviewed by
EVA MCRAE

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Staff brilliant view noisy club
We stayed at the Rex for a last minute bank holiday getaway. We were able to take the dog too which was brilliant. The room was really clean, just a bit rough around the edges- carpet joins were highly visable, shower was half leaking. But apart from that it was lovely. We ended up with a sea view. Breakfast was lovely. Only issues were that you can hear the nightclub in your room and the doors swing in the corridors and when people came back late at night it startled us and the dog.

Reviewed by
Hayley P

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dont stay
The double room i booked was very clean and a perfect size could not fault it. I went down for breakfast in the morning and was accused by the male waiter of not paying for my room and was going to be thrown out of the hotel when i had actually paid before i arrived. His attitude twords me and my friend was disgusting making us wait while he checked if i payed! They deffinatley need to get rid of him and employ someone who knows how to smile and treat people with respect! Safe to say i would rather sleep on the beach than be treat the way i was!

Reviewed by
l alderson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap n cheerful
Nice reception staff- warm welcome at the Rex.

Reviewed by
Jane L

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Rex hotel is very dated, the lift was out of order so had to go up 3x flights of stairs to get to my room. The carpets throughout the hotel were thick of dust, mostly the stairs that looked like they hadn't been hovered in about 5 years. The corridor smell was awful, the radiator in my room had so much dust gathered I could barely see through the gaps and the bedroom light didn't work.
The lady on reception was lovely but she was the only nice thing about this hotel. Hotel from hell avoid like the plague.

Reviewed by
T Leatt

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next