No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - REX HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Promenade , Whitley Bay, NE26 2RL
Located directly on the promenade overlooking the sea in the thriving town of Whitley Bay and just 20 minutes drive to Newcastle. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, onsite parking, restaurant and bar.

The property is perfect for the young and young at heart, there has been atotal overhaul of the
entertainment facilities which now include 3 of the most exciting and modern bars and a nightclub situated within the hotel, the nightclub is open
Thursday - Saturday plus Sundays on a Bank holiday weekend from 10:00PM -3:00AM. Also centrally located for all of the town's amenities, makes this the ideal base for a break on the North East Coast.

Each bedroom is comfortably styled and furnished and designed with the convenience of the guest foremost in mind. Many bedrooms offer commanding
panoramic sea views and provide the ideal base to explore and enjoy the
surrounding area.

The Restaurant offers the ideal place to have something to eat, with a
varied menu offering something for every taste using the freshest ingredients you will be able to enjoy a delicious meal whilst looking out at
the wonderful seaview. Please note, the restaurant is now closed Sunday -Thursday until further notice. Sunday lunch will still be available.

The seaside town of Whitley Bay has been popular with generations of visitors, the iconic St. Mary's Lighthouse which is now a visitor centre

stands on its own island and features a nature reserve and wetland habitat. Guests also visit from all over the UK to sample the nightlife and certainly don't leave disappointed. Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe's largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It's rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up adestination like no other.
Picture of REX HOTEL, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lads night away
There was 8 in our party and everyone enjoyed the hotel, it was cheap, in the right place, and we found the rooms to be quite comfortable, the bedding was all nice and clean and the room me stayed in (106) had a great view of the sea, we were only there one night and could not have asked for any more, even the breakfast we got in the morning was nice, would definitely use again !!!

Reviewed by
A Powell

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Excellence
We would definitely return to The Rex. Very comfortable room - sea view, spacious and light and the decor good. The hotel is in a very good position ,on the seafront and only l50 yds fro the centre of Whitlet Bay, with its shops, cafes, and easy access to both buses and Metro. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
A Hay

From Bolton. Gtr. M/CR, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get Away with bugs!
Very basic accommodation! On a quick glance appears clean and tidy but on closer viewing not very clean at all! During the last night on getting up to the bathroom I spotted silverfish in the bathroom. The bathroom needed updating and was dusty and full of cobwebs. Shower head was broken and pressure from shower very poor. Dust in bedroom and furniture had been there a long time, you could write your name in the dust on top of the TV unit. Carpets very thread bare throughout and place could benefit from a major face lift. Breakfast however was good. Asked for a quite room and was given a noisy room. You get what you pay for, I suppose.

Reviewed by
Nial Mcinnes

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay clear from here and spend your cash elsewhere , old and well past it's sell by date .
Frosty unfriendly reception , Pay on arrival before you have seen the room
Dirty room
Terrible bed
Couldn't be mch worse , and I am doubtful the sheets where clean ...

Reviewed by
Tony F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing..
This hotel has such potential but unfortunately has fallen into disrepair. The receptionist wasnt particularly welcoming, the lift smelt of urine & the only redeeming feature about our room was the beautiful sea view. Not the worst place I've stayed but it was more a sad experience as the original features of the hotel looked to hold so much history and could have been maintained in a much better fashion.
As a north-easterner I hate to have to leave a bad review of a historical part of Whitley bay but I feel if this hotel doesn't get an update soon it may not recover as many places in the area haven't.

Reviewed by
Clare S

From Thornaby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
The room had a sea view and was very spacious, plenty of storage for clothes etc. the bed was very comfortable and was a king size.
The breakfast was excellent. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
renee l

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seaside room super mid week
Wonderful spacious room with a superb view of the sea only a stones throw away.
Very friendly.
I stayed mid week but imagine could be a bit noisy over weekend as a nightclub is under this room.
Take some extra cash as you have to pay a deposit for the remote control for the tv
A hairdryer would have been handy - but weather so hot was not an issue

Reviewed by
A Stanley

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rex
Lovely building let down by tired interior, worn carpets etc. Windows in room ill-fitting so noise from nearby clubs & pubs keep my wife awake until after 4am. Bathroom clean but dated bath. Bedroom was clean and tidy. Having to leave £10 deposit for the TV remote tells it's own story as perhaps the signs saying 'curries in bedroom not allowed'. Over priced for the stay but if you get a sea view may just be worth it.

Reviewed by
Alyn S

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The right choice of hotel
The Rex hotel is absolutely superb.
The standard of hospitality is very high
The staff are brilliant, helpful and professional
The food is plentiful and delicious
It is a very clean hotel
The furniture and decor are vintage and very relaxing, giving an relaxing ambience

ManagementResponse

Good Afternnon An absolute pleasure to welcome you to the Hotel. Thank you so much for your comments. Regards, Karen Carmedy

Reviewed by
zeina a

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Everything fine except the lager in the bar which was a bit flat and certainly tasted different than the same brand in a nearby restaurant. Otherwise everything was fine. I would stay there again

ManagementResponse

Good Afternoon, Your comments are very much appreciated and I have taken the relevant action regarding your advise about the lager. My apologies. Regards, Karen Carmedy

Reviewed by
K Williams

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next