No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - REX HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Promenade , Whitley Bay, NE26 2RL
Located directly on the promenade overlooking the sea in the thriving town of Whitley Bay and just 20 minutes drive to Newcastle. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, onsite parking, restaurant and bar.

The property is perfect for the young and young at heart, there has been atotal overhaul of the
entertainment facilities which now include 3 of the most exciting and modern bars and a nightclub situated within the hotel, the nightclub is open
Thursday - Saturday plus Sundays on a Bank holiday weekend from 10:00PM -3:00AM. Also centrally located for all of the town's amenities, makes this the ideal base for a break on the North East Coast.

Each bedroom is comfortably styled and furnished and designed with the convenience of the guest foremost in mind. Many bedrooms offer commanding
panoramic sea views and provide the ideal base to explore and enjoy the
surrounding area.

The Restaurant offers the ideal place to have something to eat, with a
varied menu offering something for every taste using the freshest ingredients you will be able to enjoy a delicious meal whilst looking out at
the wonderful seaview. Please note, the restaurant is now closed Sunday -Thursday until further notice. Sunday lunch will still be available.

The seaside town of Whitley Bay has been popular with generations of visitors, the iconic St. Mary's Lighthouse which is now a visitor centre

stands on its own island and features a nature reserve and wetland habitat. Guests also visit from all over the UK to sample the nightlife and certainly don't leave disappointed. Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe's largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It's rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up adestination like no other.
Picture of REX HOTEL, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food not good ..tinned mushrooms and tomato for breakfast
Run down hotel ..trying hard not getting there
staff ok ..not their fault
wouldnt stay there again
Sorry folks try alternatives
Forget this place
I personally would like a refund

Reviewed by
J Smith

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really lovely hotel plenty of charm and style the staff were so great would do anything for you, especially Helen she is a lovely lady, I really enjoyed my stay would definately go back

Reviewed by
Eileen Buckley

From Frodsham, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rex Review
The location is great - apart from the adjoining street with it's awful pubs (not including the lovely Windsor Hotel) Bedrooms are fine. Love the old fashioned feel to the hotel, BUT can never understand having a dreadful nightclub (The Deep) going on for most nights of the week, with its' awful 'music' which goes on till 3 in the morning effectively blocking off most of the bedrooms for a good nights' sleep. Very pleasant dining room and fabulous breakfast. Love the décor in the corridors with the delightful fairy pictures.
Big seaview windows, lovely comfortable bed(s), peace and quiet (when the nightclub is not on)
Cross the road and you're on the beach. Short metro ride to Newcastle city centre. Accepts dogs. Great.

Reviewed by
e kinghorn

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a view
I was in room 207 what a view of the sea stunning

Reviewed by
Owen Jackson

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful experience in a wonderful hotel. Room overlooking the sea. Exceptional view from the third floor. Very comfortable beds. Staff very friendly. Will certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
P Painter

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and Needs Upgrading - Ditch the Night Club
Firstly, at the price the rooms are available for, don't expect a four or even 3 star experience. This hotel I suspect, mainly caters for young singles staying over on party nights or travelling tradespeople who happen to be working in the area.
The fact that remotes for the TV require a £10 deposit (due to them being stolen) may give you an idea of past clientele. And then the is the dreaded nightclub on the ground floor, directly below the bedrooms. The music pumps out until 3am on Sundays. Probably other nights as well. Unfortunately I booked the hotel in a hurry as I needed accommodation in the area at late notice and at a low price and did not have time to check reviews prior to booking. Had I done so I would probably have tried elsewhere.
The room I had was on said first floor on the inside of the building with a window looking into the light well. The bathroom was similar although not as bad as some of the photos posted by users. The floor had been retiled at some point with the floor level dropping leaving a 2-3cm gap to the mozaic tiles on the wall. Due to the way the cistern was boxed in the loo seat would not stay upright on its own (a pet hate of mine). This was also a smoking room and apart from yellowing paint, there was only a slight stale smell. Being a non-smoker I found it bearable. Since no other rooms were available I requested some air freshener which the staff were happy to provide. Peeling wall paper and cracks in the wall all show the tired state of the building.
However the bed, linen, towels, carpet and fixtures were all clean. Tea and coffee facilities were provided as were vending machines for snacks and canned drinks in the main lobby.The female receptionist was pleasant and helpful.
There is limited off street parking at the front of the hotel and some of the side streets nearby are permit only so finding a reasonably safe place to park may be a problem.
Breakfast was nothing fancy; the usual fare of cerials, fruit juices and cooked to order items, presented politely and efficiently by the serving staff.
Had it not have been for the night club which left me with only 2 1/2 hrs sleep, the hotel would have suited my purpose (just) as a place to stay for the night.

Reviewed by
Ian R

From Dunfermline, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So much for an early night
Was comming from glasgow to whitley bay to pick up a machine so i left glasgow at 4.00pm arriving at 9.30pm . All seemed fine the hotel was nice enough . But i should have been informed our room 220 was upstairs from a night club couldnt sleep because of the noise . This went on even after the music had stopped with people singing and shouting as they left the club i
I think i got to sleep about 3.30am till 6.00am with the sounds of the corridor door slamming shut , i would have be better driving back to glasgow the same day
Sent from the new iphone 5s

Reviewed by
a campbell

From Largs, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheapest is not always best.
Dependand on your reason for staying - beware that a bargain is sometimes there for a reason.
For £35 a night I was not expecting the ritz by any means..... But....... Constant dripping bathroom taps that had stained the bathware where they had been dripping for so long...... A very uncomfortable bed, a sweltering hot room with no ventilation, and decaying ceilings.... Next time will pay the extra £5 and stay down the road.
Won't be returning.

Reviewed by
Chris Hunt

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lads night away
There was 8 in our party and everyone enjoyed the hotel, it was cheap, in the right place, and we found the rooms to be quite comfortable, the bedding was all nice and clean and the room me stayed in (106) had a great view of the sea, we were only there one night and could not have asked for any more, even the breakfast we got in the morning was nice, would definitely use again !!!

Reviewed by
A Powell

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Excellence
We would definitely return to The Rex. Very comfortable room - sea view, spacious and light and the decor good. The hotel is in a very good position ,on the seafront and only l50 yds fro the centre of Whitlet Bay, with its shops, cafes, and easy access to both buses and Metro. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
A Hay

From Bolton. Gtr. M/CR, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next