No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service
I stay regularly at this hotel as it is excellent value at £50. The rooms are of a good size and well equipped. On this particular visit I mentioned I had a cold on arrival and asked for some herbal teas to help my throat, which they gave me along with some sliced fresh lemon from the neighbouring restaurant (Scalini's - which is also great and can be provided as room service).

Reviewed by
C Hare

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

x

Reviewed by
K Watson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
When I arrived there was a very warm welcome and check in was very efficient. I wanted to store some frozen food samples in a freezer overnight and receptionist could not have been more helpful. She contacted the restaurant manager who accommodated me immediately. My room was a good walk from reception but very clean and modern. WiFi and tv both worked very well....and the shower was fantastic!
Out of courtesy to the restaurant manager I ate at the hotel's restaurant Scalini's that evening and the food was first class. Great atmosphere and service too. i will definitely use the New Northumbria again.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Llangefni, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accomodation for a fair price

Reviewed by
Frank B

From Venlo, Netherlands
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. The room was a bit small and the window was broken so would not close but it was clean and what we needed for the weekend. We were at the back of the hotel so did not hear any noise from Osbornes bar below. Friends of ours were at the front and the noise level was very loud in their room but it did stop at 11pm.
Also, be aware that some of the rooms have not been updated to match the modern decor of the rooms shown on the website. Friends paid the same amount for 3 nights for the same standard of room but their room was definitely not on a par with the other rooms which was disappointing.

Reviewed by
E O'Neill

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Northumbria hotel
We arrived the ladies behind reception greeted up with friendly smiles and were so hopeful and polite to then find out are room had been upgraded which was fantastic after a night at the cairn hotel which was only 3 or so doors down which was horrendous and dirty so to arrive and have such a beautiful room was a great after worrying it would of been the same ,for the money we had paid .Really really would recommend this hotel , a little noisey on the Friday but again for the money we paid it was amazing I will definitely go back :-) .Thank you Northumbria hotel :-)

Reviewed by
Ami Wright

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I enjoyed our short break at the New Northumbria in August. We found the hotel to be clean with very helpful and obliging staff. Our room was fine but the lighting was rather inadequate as the window was very small and did not let in much natural light. The bathroom was very clean and the towels were of a good quality.
We ate in the italian restaurant, Scalini's, on the night of our arrtval and enjoyed the food and atmosphere there.

Reviewed by
William H

From Larbert, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendliest and most helpful receptionist
First off Stephanie was a really warm and down to earth presence at reception who genuinely seemed to build a rapport with many of the guests which made a big difference to those of us away an eve or two on business . Stayed in a premium room and this was lovely with big sash window . Nice Italian restaurant attached and great outdoor seating in a cosmopolitan style . Please note this is a premium room the basic one I saw was in need of some t.l.c. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
M Rutkowski

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was a little warm but left window open

Reviewed by
L Robb

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Landed on my feet in this hotel that's for sure! We had such a lovely time even though we only stayed the one night. Very welcoming and friendly. The lady in reception advised is where was best to go. It's very local to the centre of Newcastle (we walked it!) and Jesmond itself is a place like I've never experienced before- quirky,friendly and fabulous!

Reviewed by
Diane Hayes

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next