No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was good, the staff pleasant and we were allowed to bring our dog which was a real bonus. The location is good, there are plenty of facilities in the hotel and around the hotel. One issue however, the internet was broken and unusable.

Reviewed by
Joanna F

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel! Quality price for a quality room!
We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and attended to our needs. The room was very nice and the bathroom was impeccable! We really enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend The New Northumbria Hotel to any future customers! Thanks!

Reviewed by
R Begum

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast was faulty towers
Table not set coffee cold asked for a third time and received a hot one. 1/2 slice black pudding 1/2 mushroom. We're we on rashons.and fry up was cold. Another morning I asked for scrambled egg it was like a burned omelette .stuck to continental breakfast.no literature at hotel about Newcastle or local attractions.did not no anything about how to get to beamish,very vague .
Taxi were a rip of

Reviewed by
C Brown

From Loanhead, Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top notch standard

Reviewed by
C Herbert

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small and dark rooms
Room we where given was at back of property, one very small window that you could not see out of unless on tip toes. Room small and dark, two light bulbs not working, but where changed on asking, room was cold and no heating had been put on in room, bed lumpy and uncomfy. Only one cup for the two of us for tea/coffee, I think it was because of half price booking, you where given the cheapest room, and just not attention given to room. Workman offered a room next door, but was above kitchen extractor fan.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From York, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy customer
nice friendly staff and clean hotel, good value for money very pleased with my stay.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet large room in non refurbished wing of hotel, broken shower - but we enjoyed our stay!
Exceptionally friendly staff on the check in desk, lovely communal areas in the hotel and beautiful facade, everything looked exactly like the photos showed. Our room was right at the far end on the first floor. A long windy corridor with a funky carpet and contemporary muted grey walls changed quite abruptly through a door into a bright yellow stained carpet in the obviously 'not-quite-refurbished-yet' wing. We were not too worried as right at the far end probably means it'll be quiet, which it was. The room was large and had some refurbed aspects but an old carpet which was threadbare at the bathroom door. Some of the furniture was scuffed and coule have done with sanding down and revarnishing. A new carpet and some tlc would definitely improve this room. The only problem after the shabby carpet was the shower - which we totally forgot to mention on check out (which we should have done if not just for future guest's sake but guess we're doing it now...). The shower head was cracked in two places and looked like it had been for some time, the cord was broken so revealed the plastic underneath and the coil that links the shower head to the unit was very dirty indeed inbetween the coil links at the bottom. It takes some time for such dirt to accumulate so I suspect it will still be there. Now, the shower actually worked rather well with a decent amout of pressure even given that water was spraying out of the top and down the tiles at the same time. We had a couple of showers a day and they were just fine, again it was just shabby really. The bathroom generally wasn't that clean, the floor edges and tiled walls needed a good clean and polish. It did not have that zingy shiny clean appearance we would normally expect. The bed was very large and very comfy indeed. Our view was a fire escape but we weren't in the slightest bit worried as we came to see a gig and the city so didn't spend much time in the room. Also given the room was the far end and back of the hotel it was lovely and quiet. We prepaid for breakfast for checkout day, we rather wish we hadn't and had gone to Cafe 1901 around the corner which we did afterwards anyway! £7 each bought us a coffee and the smallest English Breakfast we have ever come across. The menu mentioned 'Tomatoes....Mushrooms...Hash Browns' and the ubiquitous egg, bacon, black pudding etc. What arrived for my partner was one slice of bacon, an egg, a tiny sausage around 2 inches long, half a mushroom, half a thin slice of black pudding, one hash brown and half a tomato. As I had asked for no mushrooms and no hash browns I had even less. The full cost of this micro-breakfast would have been £9.75 according to the menu - and that was without the coffee! It really was awful and the gentlemen serving it was offhand and came across as rude. That's why there is only a 5 for customer service and not a 6 as the rest of the staff were lovely. As regards the shower we only noticed when we had unpacked and got ready to take a shower. We guess the hotel may have moved us to another room but we just wanted to get ready and go out, and the minimum of hassle - and as the shower worked fine it didn't really affect our stay. It would have been nice to stay in one of the lovely rooms in the photos on the website though, it was a little disappointing to be in something more shabby. We did enjoy our stay though apart from the breakfast which was so bad we found it amusing - and we went and had a proper breakfast round the corner. Maybe we should have complained about that in retrospect!

Reviewed by
Rachel H

From Oswaldtwistle, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in lively part of town.
Lively hotel in busy Jesmond, the hotel has all the amenities you need for your stay with both a Italian eatery and a bar attached. Food in the Italian Scalini's was excellent and quite busy, the bar was also busy with live music on the night i stayed which was good however the room that i was in was right above the bar and was very noisy when the band were playing this stopped at about 10 pm. My room was a bit shabby with loose door handles, curtains that had rips in them and loose taps which i had trouble turning off not sure if booking through late rooms and getting a good price had anything to do with getting this particular room. This was a shame as the rest of my stay was great, parking was a bit of a problem however i did arrive quite late so had to park around the corner on the street which had parking limitations on that meant you had to move your car by 8am.
All this said i would stay again at the hotel and the reception staff were very helpful...

Reviewed by
G Brown

From Morecambe, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in prime location
We stayed here for 1 night for our anniversary. There are adjoining restaurants and pubs so everything is on your door step. Really enjoyable stay. Friendly staff. Would stay again and would recommend to friends. £50 per night for a standard double room in this location we thought was a bargain. Room was clean and comfortable. Only negative points is the size of the car park (your pretty stuck if you don't get one of the 10 or so spaces they have as it is permit parking in the close proximity and I wouldn't really recommend the breakfast if you are a big eater. One sausage 1 bacon 1 egg 1 mushroom and black pudding doesn't really feel like a hearty breakfast if your hungry. We would stay again but it is maybe not suitable for older people as it is quite loud at times.

Reviewed by
D Tomlin

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
M Jackson

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in October 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next