No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, very welcoming, warm and friendly, traditional decor. Some noise in room from wine bar below, but that finished at 11pm so no problem.

Reviewed by
Alison J

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Very comfortable and good quality all around. I can only fault on two relatively minor points. I stayed on B&B terms and when I pay well over £100 for a nights stay I always think that it's a little poor to only include one rasher of bacon on the made to order breakfast. Similarly, on the black pudding front, surely the hotel could have stretched to including a whole round rather than the half round supplied. Other than this, no complaints at all.

Reviewed by
D Gamlin

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Lovely room, good food and really friendly staff.
Stayed one night and would come back

Reviewed by
William Smith

From Dalkeith, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable stay

Reviewed by
Silas G

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Hotel
When the opportunity came to stay in newcastle again i knew straight away where i would be staying. And Booked myself and my boyfriend a superior double room. I have stayed here previously so i know the service is second to none. The room was like a mini apartment with a beautiful en suite bathroom, and the comfiest bed EVER. Whenever we needed a taxi the staff were more than happy to order us one and go the extra mile. Brilliant hotel well worth the money.

Reviewed by
D Green

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel
I stopped here for one night and stayed in a superior double room which was fabulous. Very modern and really comfortable.
The only negative is there is little secure off road parking, but that did not detract from a really good nights rest.

Reviewed by
p bentham

From haverhill, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WASN'T IMPRESSED WITH THE UPGRADE ROOM. NEEDS DECORATING
HAD AN EARLY START AT 06.30 AM.
WOKEN UP AT 04.00 AM WITH SOMEONE SHOUTING IN THE CORRIDOR LET ME IN
MY ROOM. THIS WENT ON FOR 30 MINUTES.
DISTURBED OUR SLEEP.
WOULDN'T STAY AGAIN.

Reviewed by
C NOSSEK

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay!
6 of us stayed at the New Northumbria for a friday night reunion in Newcastle and had an absolutely brilliant stay! The staff were so lovely and genuine and nothing was too much trouble. The room was light and clean and for the price was excellent. I would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Sarah D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money - ideal midweek.
Stayed here for 1 Thursday night - we were going out for a celebration dinner at a nearby restaurant. Parking limited on site, warm & friendly welcome, efficient check-in to our standard room, which we found to be small, but clean and tidy, albeit in need of some updating.
We wouldn't have considered this location for a weekend stay - it's in the heart of the principal student residential area - so it's extremely noisy on Friday & Saturday evenings.
We can't comment on breakfast, other than to say it looked and smelt good as we passed through the restaurant area on our way to the car. We didn't eat here.

Reviewed by
Paul F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A centrally located nice hotel which is really good velue for money
We were attending a wedding nearby and rather than travel home that hight we decided to stay over. The facilities at the hotel are really good with evrything on your doorstep and the staff were really friendly. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone vistining Newcastle

Reviewed by
Hazel Tyrie

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next