No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service and accommodation . Would definately stay again

Reviewed by
a turner

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The 1st room we were allocated, and stayed in for the 1st night was disappointing. It was a very warm evening - the window wouldn't open. The hot tap in the basin didn't open. There was a very noise extractor fan outside the room. The room had a disagreeable smell because the fan in the bathroom didn't work. We were given a room opposite for the 2nd night which was very comfortable and airy and had a completely different feeling.

Reviewed by
A Carmichael

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality room. Rather impersonal attitude to service. Little effort to convert atmosphere of bar to become breakfast room. Felt a bit of a nuisance to ask for toast, as well as cooked breakfast. One cup of coffee on arrival at table and no offer of a top up. Very comfortable hotel- little evidence of a culture of service amongst staff.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Oxford, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay, a shame it wasn't for longer!
I stayed here for one night while working in Newcastle - very helpful and friendly reception staff. I had a standard double room which was of a very high standard, spacious and very clean. Noticeably better than many other 'standard' rooms I have stayed in in other hotels of the same price range. Breakfast, although an additional extra at around nine pounds, was excellent, and offered both a cooked breakfast and any items from the continental buffet, so you could really fill yourself up if you wanted to. Overall a very impressive hotel and I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Reviewed by
James B

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lot better than I was expecting!
Having read mixed reviews about this hotel before my stay, I was not expecting a night as great as I had. We arrived quite late and were able to easily check in having booked through laterooms.com. Our room was lovely with a tv and very nice bathroom. Although there was no remote controller for the television, we rung reception and one was brough up toute de suite! All in all, we had a very good stay and were impressed!

Reviewed by
Annabel Jenney

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Limited parking. Room tired and in need of a bit of TLC
Room clean enough, but could do with a bit of a refurb. The car parking availability is terrible, with only a handful of spaces aling an alleyway behind the hotel and the surrounding streets are residents permit parking only.
The menu in the bar, Osbornes, was severely limited, exacerbated by some of the items not being available. I was treated to the third worst burger I have had in my life. Avoid. There is another restaurant and other bars and food places in the locale though.

Reviewed by
Andrew Aitchison

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
We stay at this hotel on a regular basis purely for the location, service & nightlife. The hotel is situated about 2 miles outside the centre, which is about £5 or £6 in a taxi (there is a rank outside at weekends, if not reception are more than happy to get you one). The local area is very nice with quite a few bars & restaurants around (Would recommend Scalini's Italian next to the hotel which is superb, but busy). We stayed over the May Bank Holiday Sunday in a Superior Double room which was nicely decorated if a little on the small size for other Superior Rooms we have stayed in. Breakfast was extra which I always find a little annoying but was very good for the £7 extra each that it cost. The reception staff are helpful, genuine & always have a smile. I would say that this hotel is ideal for younger (or young at heart!!) groups/couples at the weekend due to the lively crowds that flock to the bar below & in the local area then probably business people & tourists during the week.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Amazingly comfortable bed.. huge room, great service

Reviewed by
Tara B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great area and price
The Hotel was very good, the staff friendly and welcoming. The location is very good with a range of pubs and places to eat. The Hotel can get a bit noisy at times but nothing too bad. The night we stayed the Police had to be called to deal with a disturbance, not the fault of the Hotel who dealt with it speedily and professionally.

Reviewed by
George P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wife stayed here last week whilst visiting daughter at university. Decided to stay on wife's recommendation whilst on business. Excellent all round.

Reviewed by
A Ryan

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next