No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friday night fly through
Very welcoming at desk. Room numbering a mystery so took a while to find our room.
Nice and clean but, like a lot of hotels a bit warm. The bed - comfortable - yes but every sleeping movement of your partner was amplified throughout.

Reviewed by
Maurice J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff go above and beyond.
We had booked a standerd room and were swiftly checked in by a cheery young girl, given our keys and sent up to our room. The lift is not working in the hotel so be prepared to walk up a few flights of stairs. The way the room numbers are laid out is a little confusing but there are plenty of signs so you do not get lost.
The hotel itself is going under refurbishment and you can definatly see where this starts and stops. Our room was one of the few that hadn't been done, nevertheless we had a look around and eveything was clean and as it should be. My partner had noticed the the wooden panelling around the bath had gone rotten and was expanding. I telephoned reception and asked if we could be moved rooms or if I could pay for an upgrade as this was part of a belated Christmas present.
The cheery young women from reception appeared in an instant (she also checked what we had spotted and repeatly apologised, I felt quite bad!) and showed us to our new room - no less in the new part and had given us a free upgrade. When the room she had given us was made up of twins she rushed off and got another set of room keys to ensure we had the double we had booked.
The room we stayed in itself was beautiful, light, and airy - not to mention the enormous bed. Bathroom was lovely - spotless I may add.
Our stay at the New Northumbria was nothing short of fantastic, everything is kept immaculate and the staff are in a league of their own - I cannot praise them highly enough. Without a shadow of a doubt I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Cumming

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant service
We only stayed for one night but were made to feel amazingly welcome in the hotel!
Room was cosy, quiet (even though the hotel is on a busy road) and brilliant shower!
Will definitely stay again when visiting friends in the area.

Reviewed by
Clare L

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Northumbria Hotel experience
Have been the third time within two months.

Reviewed by
Lucia M

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we expected
Hotel looked lovely on website...we booked a superior room with breakfast included. Room was small with little storage space and was not superior in my opinion. As the receptionist at check in had not told us what time breakfast was at and there was no info in our room, we asked the maid who woke us up before 9am. She told us 10am so we got ready at a leisurely pace and headed down at 9.50 to find all breakfast items in process of being cleared away and we were told that it ended at 9.30. When we protested that we were told 10am the girl told us that she would get something cooked for us , which she did and it was ok but not great. We skipped breakfast the next day in favour of a lie in and put our "do not disturb"sign on the door...however the maid came in anyway and woke us up. ON our last night we were woken up at 3am by loud vulgar drunk people who ran down our corridor and even banged on our door..this went on for at least one hour..it was disgraceful and i am sure that the night staff heard this but did nothing. As we checked out we heard another guest mention it to reception as we also did. We have previously stayed at a premier inn and found it much superior. We will not return .

Reviewed by
kerry m

From lisburn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Northumbria
Great staff, couldn't do enough to help.
Disappointed breakfast finished at 10 am.
Room looked tired but was clean.
Do not think it was value for money at £70 a night.

Reviewed by
M Morris

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel experience. Spacious room.

Reviewed by
L Mathes

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly and helpfull staff!
Arrived with my mum to stay in a twin room for the weekend. Staff (Amy in particular) were very helpful helping us up the stairs with our bags as there was no lift. Our deluxe Twin room was very spacious and very clean. We ordered room service from Scalinis restaurant which came nice and quick and was lovely. Our stay was comfortable and the staff were amazing. I'll definately be staying again and will be recommending to friends and family.

Reviewed by
N Wood

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel experience.
room towards Osborne Rd was a bit louder than last time's room to the back.

Reviewed by
L Mathes

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but cold showers
Pleasant enough hotel and room is comfortable and clean but no hot water in the morning! Up at 7am I let the shower run and run but no hot water appeared so it was a cold shower for me. This is a basic requisite for a hotel so I will not be returning!
Of course the shower controls are behind the cold flow of water so trying to tempt hot water out was no fun!

Reviewed by
John G

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next