No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Hotel
When the opportunity came to stay in newcastle again i knew straight away where i would be staying. And Booked myself and my boyfriend a superior double room. I have stayed here previously so i know the service is second to none. The room was like a mini apartment with a beautiful en suite bathroom, and the comfiest bed EVER. Whenever we needed a taxi the staff were more than happy to order us one and go the extra mile. Brilliant hotel well worth the money.

Reviewed by
D Green

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel
I stopped here for one night and stayed in a superior double room which was fabulous. Very modern and really comfortable.
The only negative is there is little secure off road parking, but that did not detract from a really good nights rest.

Reviewed by
p bentham

From haverhill, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WASN'T IMPRESSED WITH THE UPGRADE ROOM. NEEDS DECORATING
HAD AN EARLY START AT 06.30 AM.
WOKEN UP AT 04.00 AM WITH SOMEONE SHOUTING IN THE CORRIDOR LET ME IN
MY ROOM. THIS WENT ON FOR 30 MINUTES.
DISTURBED OUR SLEEP.
WOULDN'T STAY AGAIN.

Reviewed by
C NOSSEK

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay!
6 of us stayed at the New Northumbria for a friday night reunion in Newcastle and had an absolutely brilliant stay! The staff were so lovely and genuine and nothing was too much trouble. The room was light and clean and for the price was excellent. I would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Sarah D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money - ideal midweek.
Stayed here for 1 Thursday night - we were going out for a celebration dinner at a nearby restaurant. Parking limited on site, warm & friendly welcome, efficient check-in to our standard room, which we found to be small, but clean and tidy, albeit in need of some updating.
We wouldn't have considered this location for a weekend stay - it's in the heart of the principal student residential area - so it's extremely noisy on Friday & Saturday evenings.
We can't comment on breakfast, other than to say it looked and smelt good as we passed through the restaurant area on our way to the car. We didn't eat here.

Reviewed by
Paul F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A centrally located nice hotel which is really good velue for money
We were attending a wedding nearby and rather than travel home that hight we decided to stay over. The facilities at the hotel are really good with evrything on your doorstep and the staff were really friendly. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone vistining Newcastle

Reviewed by
Hazel Tyrie

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room not up to scratch
Up on arrival at the Hotel we were faced with the "on site parking". It was round the back of the hotel, and has spaces for around 7 cars. All of the spaces were taken (we arrived around 2.15pm and check in was 2pm) There was nothing stopping anyone parking on there, no hotel guest disks or anything to display to say you were a genuine guest. The hotel its self looked lovely from the outside, reception was lovely and modern. We made our way up the stairs to our room. It was okay. Apart from we booked a twin room and had been given a double. The décor could do with updating, it was a bit tatty around the edges. Our sash window was wide open and really stiff so we had to ring down to reception to get someone to close it. The bathroom was nice and modern, however the hot tap would not turn off! The handle was just swinging round and round, so we had to ring reception again!! This was within 5 minutes of us checking in. We had to wait in the room until someone came up to take a look at the tap (around 10 minutes later) a man knocked at the door. We left him in the room and went to a bank and do a bit of shopping, and when we came back to the room he was still in the bathroom, and there was an overwhelming stench of sewerage! The guy told us the smell would soon go away, and with this, he left. We were not able to open the window as it was really stiff, so we had to suffer the smell!! All this in mind, the hotel was close to the city centre, and the price was good. If it hadn't been for the need of 2 visits from the handy men it would have been okay.

Reviewed by
Natalie D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience for a Saturday night!
Great location - noisy outside until about 11.30 but that's Jesmond on a Saturday night apparently! Very helpful and welcoming chap on reception, tried to book a dinner table for us, recommended other restaurants. Our room was comfortable and clean, bathroom the same, although steps down to a bathroom in the middle of the night probably not a good idea! Leave the bathroom low light on..... Breakfast was good, staff very friendly overall.

Reviewed by
Margaret W

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation
Superb accommodation, breakfast and morning service let the hotel down a little but overall a very well recommended stay with great reception staff.

Reviewed by
Peter G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service and accommodation . Would definately stay again

Reviewed by
a turner

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next