Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3

61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (78)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ami Wright

  • August 2014

Northumbria hotel

We arrived the ladies behind reception greeted up with friendly smiles and were so hopeful and polite to then find out are room had been upgraded which was fantastic after a night at the cairn hotel which was only 3 or so doors down which was horrendous and dirty so to arrive and have such a beautiful room was a great after worrying it would of been the same ,for the money we had paid .Really really would recommend this hotel , a little noisey on the Friday but again for the money we paid it was amazing I will definitely go back :-) .Thank you Northumbria hotel :-)

  • William H

  • August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our short break at the New Northumbria in August.

We found the hotel to be clean with very helpful and obliging staff. Our room was fine but the lighting was rather inadequate as the window was very small and did not let in much natural light. The bathroom was very clean and the towels were of a good quality. We ate in the italian restaurant, Scalini's, on the night of our arrtval and enjoyed the food and atmosphere there.

  • M Rutkowski

  • August 2014

Friendliest and most helpful receptionist

First off Stephanie was a really warm and down to earth presence at reception who genuinely seemed to build a rapport with many of the guests which made a big difference to those of us away an eve or two on business .

Stayed in a premium room and this was lovely with big sash window . Nice Italian restaurant attached and great outdoor seating in a cosmopolitan style . Please note this is a premium room the basic one I saw was in need of some t.l.c. Would definitely stay again.

  • u zafar

  • August 2014

Enjoyed the stay

Clean rooms and very friendly staff.

  • Diane Hayes

  • August 2014

Fabulous

Landed on my feet in this hotel that's for sure.

We had such a lovely time even though we only stayed the one night. Very welcoming and friendly. The lady in reception advised is where was best to go. It's very local to the centre of Newcastle (we walked it!) and Jesmond itself is a place like I've never experienced before- quirky,friendly and fabulous.

  • L Robb

  • August 2014

room was a little warm but left window open

  • Grant B

  • July 2014

Extremely noisy, curtains don't close

Quite disappointing.

I had to get a staff member up to the room; the remote control for the TV didn't work; the curtains were not wide enough for the window; you either got a gap in the middle or at the side.

Room over the courtyard - extremely noisy. Even with double glazed windows shut it was like having a dozen people actually in my room.

No safety deposit box. An empty refrigerator.

A hole in the plaster above the bathroom wall light. My room smelled a little stale, as if a previous occupant had smoked.

I was asked what newspaper I wanted for Sunday morning. Presumed it was complimentary. At check-out I'm charged £2.70. I wouldn't normally buy a Sunday paper.

  • S McNulty

  • July 2014

Great city break

We went to Newcastle to celebrate my daughter's graduation and the hotel was perfect for the occasion.

The staff were very helpful, arranging taxis, giving advice etc. The accommodation was of a very good standard and the breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend

  • J Ogle

  • July 2014

Faultless service

We were a party of 3 and stayed in 2 twin rooms for one night on a Monday.

I was impressed with the professional and friendly staff. The hotel is clean and the lobby area looks newly decorated in a contemporary style. The rooms however are tired and dated but clean, comfortable and with good showers and decent hairdryer. There is no air conditioning in the rooms - as far as I was aware, perhaps other rooms have it - which would put me off staying in the height of summer. I would definitely stay again otherwise. As we had spent a large part of the day travelling and were tired, we decided not to venture out of the hotel that evening. We had drinks in the bar before dinner at the hotel restaurant Scallini's. The atmosphere in both was pleasant. Our meal was basic and unadventurous but filled a gap and was convenient. I would not eat at Scallini's again but only because I found the food very bland. Breakfast is served in the restaurant as well. We enjoyed an excellent full English breakfast. There is limited parking behind the hotel and we had no problems finding a space.

  • Adam A

  • July 2014

Lovely welcome

Great lady at the reception desk.

She was very helpful and smiley...lovely.

The room was a little dated, could do with a massive update. Although the room was warm (with just a small window to open) it was comfortable enough.

Great to have access to room service too.

Great area with lots of bars and is about 10 mins away for coach lane campus.