No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Northumbria Hotel experience
Have been the third time within two months.

Reviewed by
Lucia M

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we expected
Hotel looked lovely on website...we booked a superior room with breakfast included. Room was small with little storage space and was not superior in my opinion. As the receptionist at check in had not told us what time breakfast was at and there was no info in our room, we asked the maid who woke us up before 9am. She told us 10am so we got ready at a leisurely pace and headed down at 9.50 to find all breakfast items in process of being cleared away and we were told that it ended at 9.30. When we protested that we were told 10am the girl told us that she would get something cooked for us , which she did and it was ok but not great. We skipped breakfast the next day in favour of a lie in and put our "do not disturb"sign on the door...however the maid came in anyway and woke us up. ON our last night we were woken up at 3am by loud vulgar drunk people who ran down our corridor and even banged on our door..this went on for at least one hour..it was disgraceful and i am sure that the night staff heard this but did nothing. As we checked out we heard another guest mention it to reception as we also did. We have previously stayed at a premier inn and found it much superior. We will not return .

Reviewed by
kerry m

From lisburn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Northumbria
Great staff, couldn't do enough to help.
Disappointed breakfast finished at 10 am.
Room looked tired but was clean.
Do not think it was value for money at £70 a night.

Reviewed by
M Morris

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel experience. Spacious room.

Reviewed by
L Mathes

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly and helpfull staff!
Arrived with my mum to stay in a twin room for the weekend. Staff (Amy in particular) were very helpful helping us up the stairs with our bags as there was no lift. Our deluxe Twin room was very spacious and very clean. We ordered room service from Scalinis restaurant which came nice and quick and was lovely. Our stay was comfortable and the staff were amazing. I'll definately be staying again and will be recommending to friends and family.

Reviewed by
N Wood

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel experience.
room towards Osborne Rd was a bit louder than last time's room to the back.

Reviewed by
L Mathes

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but cold showers
Pleasant enough hotel and room is comfortable and clean but no hot water in the morning! Up at 7am I let the shower run and run but no hot water appeared so it was a cold shower for me. This is a basic requisite for a hotel so I will not be returning!
Of course the shower controls are behind the cold flow of water so trying to tempt hot water out was no fun!

Reviewed by
John G

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, very welcoming, warm and friendly, traditional decor. Some noise in room from wine bar below, but that finished at 11pm so no problem.

Reviewed by
Alison J

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Very comfortable and good quality all around. I can only fault on two relatively minor points. I stayed on B&B terms and when I pay well over £100 for a nights stay I always think that it's a little poor to only include one rasher of bacon on the made to order breakfast. Similarly, on the black pudding front, surely the hotel could have stretched to including a whole round rather than the half round supplied. Other than this, no complaints at all.

Reviewed by
D Gamlin

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Lovely room, good food and really friendly staff.
Stayed one night and would come back

Reviewed by
William Smith

From Dalkeith, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next