Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel


61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN

Price From 156.37 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (79)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Rutkowski

  • August 2014

Friendliest and most helpful receptionist

First off Stephanie was a really warm and down to earth presence at reception who genuinely seemed to build a rapport with many of the guests which made a big difference to those of us away an eve or two on business .

Stayed in a premium room and this was lovely with big sash window . Nice Italian restaurant attached and great outdoor seating in a cosmopolitan style . Please note this is a premium room the basic one I saw was in need of some t.l.c. Would definitely stay again.

  • u zafar

  • August 2014

Enjoyed the stay

Clean rooms and very friendly staff.

  • Diane Hayes

  • August 2014


Landed on my feet in this hotel that's for sure.

We had such a lovely time even though we only stayed the one night. Very welcoming and friendly. The lady in reception advised is where was best to go. It's very local to the centre of Newcastle (we walked it!) and Jesmond itself is a place like I've never experienced before- quirky,friendly and fabulous.

  • L Robb

  • August 2014

room was a little warm but left window open

  • Grant B

  • July 2014

Extremely noisy, curtains don't close

Quite disappointing.

I had to get a staff member up to the room; the remote control for the TV didn't work; the curtains were not wide enough for the window; you either got a gap in the middle or at the side.

Room over the courtyard - extremely noisy. Even with double glazed windows shut it was like having a dozen people actually in my room.

No safety deposit box. An empty refrigerator.

A hole in the plaster above the bathroom wall light. My room smelled a little stale, as if a previous occupant had smoked.

I was asked what newspaper I wanted for Sunday morning. Presumed it was complimentary. At check-out I'm charged £2.70. I wouldn't normally buy a Sunday paper.

  • S McNulty

  • July 2014

Great city break

We went to Newcastle to celebrate my daughter's graduation and the hotel was perfect for the occasion.

The staff were very helpful, arranging taxis, giving advice etc. The accommodation was of a very good standard and the breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend

  • J Ogle

  • July 2014

Faultless service

We were a party of 3 and stayed in 2 twin rooms for one night on a Monday.

I was impressed with the professional and friendly staff. The hotel is clean and the lobby area looks newly decorated in a contemporary style. The rooms however are tired and dated but clean, comfortable and with good showers and decent hairdryer. There is no air conditioning in the rooms - as far as I was aware, perhaps other rooms have it - which would put me off staying in the height of summer. I would definitely stay again otherwise. As we had spent a large part of the day travelling and were tired, we decided not to venture out of the hotel that evening. We had drinks in the bar before dinner at the hotel restaurant Scallini's. The atmosphere in both was pleasant. Our meal was basic and unadventurous but filled a gap and was convenient. I would not eat at Scallini's again but only because I found the food very bland. Breakfast is served in the restaurant as well. We enjoyed an excellent full English breakfast. There is limited parking behind the hotel and we had no problems finding a space.

  • Adam A

  • July 2014

Lovely welcome

Great lady at the reception desk.

She was very helpful and smiley...lovely.

The room was a little dated, could do with a massive update. Although the room was warm (with just a small window to open) it was comfortable enough.

Great to have access to room service too.

Great area with lots of bars and is about 10 mins away for coach lane campus.

  • j weaver

  • June 2014

Excellent stay

  • Janet B

  • June 2014

Reception staff were extremely friendly and very helpful.

Room we were in had a new bathroom but generally looked a bit tired & dated. Beds were comfy enough. We were at the front of the hotel which was quite noisy on a nice evening as people were eating, , Drinking and playing music outside. Hotel is within an easy distance of the Uni campus and the metro is not far away

either. Hotel staff were great & booked us a taxi for our uni visit.