Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3

61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN

Price From 122.24 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (79)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Gillian B

  • November 2014

Good for overnight stay

I booked here for one night as I wanted to stay overnight after bringing my son back to University.

The hotel was conveniently located for the University and had a restaurant attached so we didn't have to go wandering around town on a Monday evening looking for somewhere to eat. Service at the hotel was good and it was reasonably priced. On the down side, one of the reasons I booked was that it offered off street parking but I only just managed to squeeze my car into one of the rear spaces. Had I not it would have been difficult to park as the hotel is located in a residential area with limited off street parking. The room I had was a reasonable size and the bed was fine but the room had a tiny window and the furnishings were rather tired. I wouldn't have liked to stay for more long with the 1970's style check carpet and striped wallpaper. The surface coating on the furniture was also very worn which made it look tatty.

  • r rogers

  • November 2014

V ery clean and friendly staff also helpfull convenient to city centre most enjoyable

  • Louise M

  • October 2014

Brilliant wee hotel

We had a lovely stay at the hotel.

I'd advise booking a superior room (the rooms you see online) as the standard rooms are nothing in comparison. Comfortable beds, lovely rooms, the staff were fantastic and really lovely. You have to book a table in Scalinis, really good food. Can't think of any complaints at all. Well Done New Northumbria Hotel...your customer service is second to none!

  • Richard R

  • October 2014

Just right.

Very good value for money.

A good location, nice room and friendly staff.

  • J Roberts

  • October 2014

Thumbs up for this hotel.

Polite, friendly staff who were keen to please.

I asked for a minor problem in the bathroom to be rectified and it was sorted promptly. The room was really comfy and spacious. I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • C Hare

  • September 2014

Friendly service

I stay regularly at this hotel as it is excellent value at £50.

The rooms are of a good size and well equipped. On this particular visit I mentioned I had a cold on arrival and asked for some herbal teas to help my throat, which they gave me along with some sliced fresh lemon from the neighbouring restaurant (Scalini's - which is also great and can be provided as room service).

  • K Watson

  • September 2014

x

  • Frank B

  • September 2014

Good accomodation for a fair price

  • Richard H

  • September 2014

Great overnight stay

When I arrived there was a very warm welcome and check in was very efficient.

I wanted to store some frozen food samples in a freezer overnight and receptionist could not have been more helpful. She contacted the restaurant manager who accommodated me immediately. My room was a good walk from reception but very clean and modern. WiFi and tv both worked very well....and the shower was fantastic. Out of courtesy to the restaurant manager I ate at the hotel's restaurant Scalini's that evening and the food was first class. Great atmosphere and service too. i will definitely use the New Northumbria again.

  • E O'Neill

  • August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend.

The room was a bit small and the window was broken so would not close but it was clean and what we needed for the weekend. We were at the back of the hotel so did not hear any noise from Osbornes bar below. Friends of ours were at the front and the noise level was very loud in their room but it did stop at 11pm. Also, be aware that some of the rooms have not been updated to match the modern decor of the rooms shown on the website. Friends paid the same amount for 3 nights for the same standard of room but their room was definitely not on a par with the other rooms which was disappointing.