New Northumbria Hotel

3

61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (96)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C Hare

  • September 2014

Friendly service

I stay regularly at this hotel as it is excellent value at £50.

The rooms are of a good size and well equipped. On this particular visit I mentioned I had a cold on arrival and asked for some herbal teas to help my throat, which they gave me along with some sliced fresh lemon from the neighbouring restaurant (Scalini's - which is also great and can be provided as room service).

  • K Watson

  • September 2014

x

  • Frank B

  • September 2014

Good accomodation for a fair price

  • Richard H

  • September 2014

Great overnight stay

When I arrived there was a very warm welcome and check in was very efficient.

I wanted to store some frozen food samples in a freezer overnight and receptionist could not have been more helpful. She contacted the restaurant manager who accommodated me immediately. My room was a good walk from reception but very clean and modern. WiFi and tv both worked very well....and the shower was fantastic. Out of courtesy to the restaurant manager I ate at the hotel's restaurant Scalini's that evening and the food was first class. Great atmosphere and service too. i will definitely use the New Northumbria again.

  • E O'Neill

  • August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend.

The room was a bit small and the window was broken so would not close but it was clean and what we needed for the weekend. We were at the back of the hotel so did not hear any noise from Osbornes bar below. Friends of ours were at the front and the noise level was very loud in their room but it did stop at 11pm. Also, be aware that some of the rooms have not been updated to match the modern decor of the rooms shown on the website. Friends paid the same amount for 3 nights for the same standard of room but their room was definitely not on a par with the other rooms which was disappointing.

  • Ami Wright

  • August 2014

Northumbria hotel

We arrived the ladies behind reception greeted up with friendly smiles and were so hopeful and polite to then find out are room had been upgraded which was fantastic after a night at the cairn hotel which was only 3 or so doors down which was horrendous and dirty so to arrive and have such a beautiful room was a great after worrying it would of been the same ,for the money we had paid .Really really would recommend this hotel , a little noisey on the Friday but again for the money we paid it was amazing I will definitely go back :-) .Thank you Northumbria hotel :-)

  • William H

  • August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our short break at the New Northumbria in August.

We found the hotel to be clean with very helpful and obliging staff. Our room was fine but the lighting was rather inadequate as the window was very small and did not let in much natural light. The bathroom was very clean and the towels were of a good quality. We ate in the italian restaurant, Scalini's, on the night of our arrtval and enjoyed the food and atmosphere there.

  • M Rutkowski

  • August 2014

Friendliest and most helpful receptionist

First off Stephanie was a really warm and down to earth presence at reception who genuinely seemed to build a rapport with many of the guests which made a big difference to those of us away an eve or two on business .

Stayed in a premium room and this was lovely with big sash window . Nice Italian restaurant attached and great outdoor seating in a cosmopolitan style . Please note this is a premium room the basic one I saw was in need of some t.l.c. Would definitely stay again.

  • u zafar

  • August 2014

Enjoyed the stay

Clean rooms and very friendly staff.

  • Diane Hayes

  • August 2014

Fabulous

Landed on my feet in this hotel that's for sure.

We had such a lovely time even though we only stayed the one night. Very welcoming and friendly. The lady in reception advised is where was best to go. It's very local to the centre of Newcastle (we walked it!) and Jesmond itself is a place like I've never experienced before- quirky,friendly and fabulous.