No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay

Reviewed by
j weaver

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Room we were in had a new bathroom but generally looked a bit tired & dated. Beds were comfy enough. We were at the front of the hotel which was quite noisy on a nice evening as people were eating, , Drinking and playing music outside. Hotel is within an easy distance of the Uni campus and the metro is not far away
either. Hotel staff were great & booked us a taxi for our uni visit.

Reviewed by
Janet B

From Littleborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable bed , excellent breakfast. Room on a busy street so a little noisy but room supplied with a fan so I could close the windows and sleep in silence.

Reviewed by
M Dunlop

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet room but smelled of curry
Needs new carpets

Reviewed by
D Carmen

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff
Stayed 3 nights in the middle of June and had smashing time, weather played a big part. We booked superior room and when shown round it we noticed it faced out to lane at back of hotel. We asked if we could change it to one with a view overlooking front and they gave us another room no problem. The room was cleaned every day but cant comment on the food as we didn't eat in any of the hotels bars/ restaurants, mainly due to the fact that the hotels on opposite side of the road gets all the sun so we tended to sit there from late afternoon onwards. Cant fault hotel, staff were friendly

Reviewed by
S McCrindle

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and nice hotel
Very nice and pleasant stay in this hotel. Would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
u zafar

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

late booking
very happy that we managed to get a room that late in a hotel where we had a good time before

Reviewed by
i robertson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basically good, but needs a little attention
Our room was basically fine; the bed was comfortable, the pillows good, the linen ok. The décor of the room was a little tired and needs a bit of TLC. It is all a bit dark, which is rather dated now. Air conditioning would be a great bonus - it was a hot night so we had to have the windows open which made it quite noisy. (Though anything would be noisy compared to where we live.) Not sure if we could have requested a room with air-con. We had booked a twin room, which was all that was available, but ended up with a double at no extra cost. The staff were very polite. All in all a good stay. Breakfast not included, which seemed a bit mean for the cost.

Reviewed by
Nicola R

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Recommended

Reviewed by
S Williams

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable,functional hotel,good for short stay -good value

Reviewed by
J Roberts

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next