No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and nice hotel
Very nice and pleasant stay in this hotel. Would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
u zafar

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

late booking
very happy that we managed to get a room that late in a hotel where we had a good time before

Reviewed by
i robertson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basically good, but needs a little attention
Our room was basically fine; the bed was comfortable, the pillows good, the linen ok. The décor of the room was a little tired and needs a bit of TLC. It is all a bit dark, which is rather dated now. Air conditioning would be a great bonus - it was a hot night so we had to have the windows open which made it quite noisy. (Though anything would be noisy compared to where we live.) Not sure if we could have requested a room with air-con. We had booked a twin room, which was all that was available, but ended up with a double at no extra cost. The staff were very polite. All in all a good stay. Breakfast not included, which seemed a bit mean for the cost.

Reviewed by
Nicola R

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Recommended

Reviewed by
S Williams

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable,functional hotel,good for short stay -good value

Reviewed by
J Roberts

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in Jesmond
This is the third time I have stayed and it is a great place to stay when travelling alone. Lots of good cafes, bars and quirky shops. It can be a bit busy on the street at weekends but as I am mostly visiting through the week for work it tends to be quieter. I ask for a room at the back of the hotel and always have a superior room which is much larger and has room to work at my computer. Food in the restaurants is reasonable and good quality and service is always friendly and attentive. Lots of other good places to eat locally especially Franchesca's on Manor Road.

Reviewed by
Jean J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good vfm
Pleasant experience good food at a very reasonable cost. Room clean but minor glitches with alarm times were annoying. Lift is very small and help was not offered when struggling with a heavy bag. There was no real room for anyone needing to work as the TV and kettle tray took up all the desk room which is not good for the business guest.

Reviewed by
Ann C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent one night stay
Very pleasantly surprised by our hotel choice - staff really friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to superior rooms and mine was spacious and beautifully decorated. Meal in the hotel's Italien restaurant was fine. Breakfast was not amazing as the waitress was trying to cope on her own having been let down by another member of staff not turning up, but the cooked breakfast was nice. The buffet could be improved but was okay. Would definitely stay again - the area (Jesmond) is great - lots of places to eat and really attractive.

Reviewed by
Sarah P

From Holsworthy, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very tired, bed very hard and pillows flat, shower also cold and performed poorly.
In the future I would upgrade to a better rrom as the hotel was very well placed with freindly staff it was just my tired room which let it down.

Reviewed by
D Stokes

From , England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth the money
We are return customers and find the staff very friendly and helpful.
This is a good value comfortable hotel in a good location

Reviewed by
C Hodgett

From Limavady, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next