No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Landed on my feet in this hotel that's for sure! We had such a lovely time even though we only stayed the one night. Very welcoming and friendly. The lady in reception advised is where was best to go. It's very local to the centre of Newcastle (we walked it!) and Jesmond itself is a place like I've never experienced before- quirky,friendly and fabulous!

Reviewed by
Diane Hayes

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed the stay
Clean rooms and very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
u zafar

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely noisy, curtains don't close
Quite disappointing. I had to get a staff member up to the room; the remote control for the TV didn't work; the curtains were not wide enough for the window; you either got a gap in the middle or at the side.
Room over the courtyard - extremely noisy. Even with double glazed windows shut it was like having a dozen people actually in my room.
No safety deposit box. An empty refrigerator.
A hole in the plaster above the bathroom wall light. My room smelled a little stale, as if a previous occupant had smoked.
I was asked what newspaper I wanted for Sunday morning. Presumed it was complimentary. At check-out I'm charged £2.70. I wouldn't normally buy a Sunday paper.

Reviewed by
Grant B

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great city break
We went to Newcastle to celebrate my daughter's graduation and the hotel was perfect for the occasion. The staff were very helpful, arranging taxis, giving advice etc. The accommodation was of a very good standard and the breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend

Reviewed by
S McNulty

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely welcome
Great lady at the reception desk! She was very helpful and smiley...lovely!
The room was a little dated, could do with a massive update. Although the room was warm (with just a small window to open) it was comfortable enough.
Great to have access to room service too!
Great area with lots of bars and is about 10 mins away for coach lane campus.

Reviewed by
Adam A

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless service
We were a party of 3 and stayed in 2 twin rooms for one night on a Monday.
I was impressed with the professional and friendly staff. The hotel is clean and the lobby area looks newly decorated in a contemporary style. The rooms however are tired and dated but clean, comfortable and with good showers and decent hairdryer. There is no air conditioning in the rooms - as far as I was aware, perhaps other rooms have it - which would put me off staying in the height of summer. I would definitely stay again otherwise.
As we had spent a large part of the day travelling and were tired, we decided not to venture out of the hotel that evening. We had drinks in the bar before dinner at the hotel restaurant Scallini's. The atmosphere in both was pleasant.
Our meal was basic and unadventurous but filled a gap and was convenient. I would not eat at Scallini's again but only because I found the food very bland.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant as well. We enjoyed an excellent full English breakfast.
There is limited parking behind the hotel and we had no problems finding a space.

Reviewed by
J Ogle

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay

Reviewed by
j weaver

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Room we were in had a new bathroom but generally looked a bit tired & dated. Beds were comfy enough. We were at the front of the hotel which was quite noisy on a nice evening as people were eating, , Drinking and playing music outside. Hotel is within an easy distance of the Uni campus and the metro is not far away
either. Hotel staff were great & booked us a taxi for our uni visit.

Reviewed by
Janet B

From Littleborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable bed , excellent breakfast. Room on a busy street so a little noisy but room supplied with a fan so I could close the windows and sleep in silence.

Reviewed by
M Dunlop

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet room but smelled of curry
Needs new carpets

Reviewed by
D Carmen

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next