No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Northumbria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AN
Situated in the Cafe society of Jesmond, less than a mile from Newcastle City Centre and within walking distance of the cities nightlife. The New Northumbria Hotel is the ideal location for business and pleasure.

All en-suite bedrooms are superbly furnished, each one equipped with TV, minibar upon request, tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer, direct dial telephone, computer connection and much much more.Conference and meeting rooms are available with a business centre.

Scalini's Mediterranean restaurant is the most popular venue in Newcastle and booking in advance is highly recommended. Louis restaurant provides a fine dine ambiance in which to enjoy tempting creations from our original and exciting menu while relaxing over a glass of champagne. Osbornes is our very popular and busy bar with our "game of skill" happy hours and providing traditional pub food with free internet access, it is a favorite meeting place for local residents and hotel guests.

Whether a lively holiday break or a business stopover, the staff at The New Northumbria will ensure that your clients and guests enjoy a seamless personal service.

PLEASE NOTE - Any bookings of 5 rooms or more are classed as a group and are subject to different terms and conditions. The hotel will contact the guest upon booking to outline these terms.
Picture of New Northumbria Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable,functional hotel,good for short stay -good value

Reviewed by
J Roberts

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in Jesmond
This is the third time I have stayed and it is a great place to stay when travelling alone. Lots of good cafes, bars and quirky shops. It can be a bit busy on the street at weekends but as I am mostly visiting through the week for work it tends to be quieter. I ask for a room at the back of the hotel and always have a superior room which is much larger and has room to work at my computer. Food in the restaurants is reasonable and good quality and service is always friendly and attentive. Lots of other good places to eat locally especially Franchesca's on Manor Road.

Reviewed by
Jean J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good vfm
Pleasant experience good food at a very reasonable cost. Room clean but minor glitches with alarm times were annoying. Lift is very small and help was not offered when struggling with a heavy bag. There was no real room for anyone needing to work as the TV and kettle tray took up all the desk room which is not good for the business guest.

Reviewed by
Ann C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent one night stay
Very pleasantly surprised by our hotel choice - staff really friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to superior rooms and mine was spacious and beautifully decorated. Meal in the hotel's Italien restaurant was fine. Breakfast was not amazing as the waitress was trying to cope on her own having been let down by another member of staff not turning up, but the cooked breakfast was nice. The buffet could be improved but was okay. Would definitely stay again - the area (Jesmond) is great - lots of places to eat and really attractive.

Reviewed by
Sarah P

From Holsworthy, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very tired, bed very hard and pillows flat, shower also cold and performed poorly.
In the future I would upgrade to a better rrom as the hotel was very well placed with freindly staff it was just my tired room which let it down.

Reviewed by
D Stokes

From , England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth the money
We are return customers and find the staff very friendly and helpful.
This is a good value comfortable hotel in a good location

Reviewed by
C Hodgett

From Limavady, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
We were made to feel extremely welcome on our arrival and the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, including helping us with parking, storing our presents to take home in the fridge and charging my phone. We had been upgraded and the room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The only slight minus was we had a room at the front of the hotel which was a little noisy. Our dog was also made to feel welcome.

Reviewed by
Janet Adams

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Phone and Check Before You Book
The hotel lift was out of service when we checked in and still out of service when we checked out 2 nights later.DO NOT book this hotel without checking if lift is now working if any member of your party has mobility problems or is a wheel chair user. Apparently there have been previous complaints about the lift being out of commission from customers with mobility problems .My mother has great difficulty walking any distance so naturally with the lift not working the receptionist gave us a room on the top(4th) floor. Makes sense doesn't it ?! Several flights of stairs later we got into our room. I knew from the distress on my mums face that we couldn't stay in that room for the duration of our stay. Rang the receptionist and explained mums mobility problem asked to be moved.The same receptionist gave us a room on the first floor. It was at the back of the hotel.From the cracks in the plaster on the walls and the well worn stair carpets i guessed what was coming. The room was shabby.They'd upgraded the decor of the hotel and either forgot or hadn't got round to that room.Said room was at the back of the hotel with windows either side looking out over enormous roof top air venting systems. Just in case we got cold they'd helpfully provided us with a couple of plug in mobile electric radiators.Wardrobes with no doors but a lovely mixture of hangers., ironing board against the wall and iron shoved into the this open wardrobe system with cord delicately dropping from the shelf. No arm chairs. Joy! I looked at mum's face. Poor thing was just glad to sit down. Before we'd gone into the room mum had asked about the obvious noise coming from the rooftop vents. 'Oh they don't last long', said the receptionist who'd showed us to the room. Nearly an hour later mum couldn't stand the tandem rooftop venting sonata any longer and neither could i. Ever the dutiful daughter i rang reception and explained the situation and the fact that when i booked it never occurred to me to ring up and ask whether the hotel lift was working. New receptionist very apologetic,' i don't think that we have any spare rooms but i'll check.If not do you want your money refunded?' Before i'd even had a chance to get back onto the Laterooms site and explore. Lovely competent receptionist had found us a new room on the first floor.It would be an upgrade but she'd make sure that we weren't charged the extra because of all the trouble we'd had and the fact that we didn't know that the lift wasn't working when we booked.The extra bonus was that the room was close to the stairs.What fun, a smartly decorated &refurbished room with wardrobe that had doors and would you believe it a space for proper an ironing board and iron. My my ...NASA would be jealous. Proper static radiators not plug in ones and armchairs. Goodness me what a difference a receptionist with intelligence makes, were it not for her we definitely would have left.
As to the 'Italian' restaurant , the waitresses could do with some input on their social skills and one of the waiters obviously failed comprehension at school. Mum has a shellfish allergy.So many things on the menu had shellfish.At 83 mums not part of the 'i'll just have a pizza' generation and , having had a duck breast you could make a saddle with the night before , she very tentatively chose 'Fish Pie' . The pie was described as fish in creamy sauce topped with mashed potato. She kept worrying that that there'd be shellfish in it.While i helpfully told her not to be daft , and besides if she looked through the menu again if there was shellfish in a dish it was listed. The fish pie came. Mum started eating, just the mashed potato at first. she tried the cream sauce and bit into a prawn. As i watched her top lip getting bigger it was then that she chose to tell me that she'd changed handbags at home and her anti-histamines were in her 'other bag'. With one eye on her top lip and the other on the waiter i called him over and explained that the menu didn't mention that the sauce had shellfish in it.' Well we do tell all our customers to let us know if they have any allergies '. I passed comprehension at school , i don't have a hearing impairment and he never asked if we had any special requirements . I was much more polite than i normally would have been because my daughter was visibly cringing at my 'making a fuss'. I pressed my case. 'Your fish pie has shellfish in it and unlike all your other dishes it's not listed.' say i. 'Yes, says he' it's a fish pie' You do know the difference between fish and shellfish don't you?'
It seems not but he did understand that he had a serious problem on his hands spoke to his manager and we didn't have to pay for a pie that was hardly eaten. Forgive me for being underwhelmed. I watched mum like a hawk.Fortunately as soon as she bit into the prawn she spat it out so we just had a swollen top lip to deal with but it could have been so much worse.

Reviewed by
O Bright

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful room decoration

Reviewed by
K Matthews

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff friendly, room shabby and overpriced
Staff very friendly, hotel generally seemed ok but our room was shabby and small. Things were very worn and the decor left a lot to be desired. Our room (123) was overlooking the road and over a glass roof which had broken beer glasses etc on it. The double bed touched the side wall, bay window so you could only get in bed the one way. The lighting in the room was very poor, the main light was in the corridor of the room near the bathroom.Road noise was high due to the window being single glazed. Ok as a base for races and staying in Jesmond, not far from Newcastle, but at £50 per night,without breakfast , not worth it (and we re not posh or complainers). Staff very friendly on front desk and Osborne bar attached to the hotel good.

Reviewed by
Scott T

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next