No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sweeneys Bar, Restaurant & Rooms

4Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
18-20 Lake Road, Keswick, CA12 5BX
Centrally located in the heart of the popular market town of Keswick, Sweeneys offers an ideal base from which to explore the spectacular Northern Lakes. Situated on a quiet street around the corner from the main market square, we present a bar lounge and restaurant decorated in a contemporary style whilst retaining traditional Lakeland character. Sweeneys offers four bedrooms comprising two double and two twin family rooms, sleeping up to four people. All bedrooms are comfortably furnished in a modern style and offer en suite bathroom, TV and tea & coffee making facilities. Please note: Sweeney's is a non smoking hotel.

Could you add to all of our properties: Well behaved dogs allowed at the
charge of £15 per pet for the duration of your stay.
Picture of Sweeneys Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Quick night away with the wife. Arrived to find they were refurbishing the restaurant so no meals were available, Alan gave us a good discount to get breakfast locally which was good. The room was great for what we needed, very warm and cosy, good shower - couldn't fault it.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good central location
Sweeney's bar has a great central location. The room was clean and comfortable if a little on the snug side. The views out over the fells from our room to the rear of the hotel were superb . Breakfast was great and plenty of it . Alan the host couldn't do enough for us and made us feel welcome, we'll be back in the future, really enjoyed our stay!

Reviewed by
Carolyn R

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, amazing staff, doggy friendly and great central location.
Ive stayed here a few times now, and keep going back as it is a great place. The only negatives is that the room is a little small. The bathroom is huge though and very new/clean looking. The breakfast was just amazing, great high quality sausages, thick cut bacon... even dogs are allowed in the dining room. There is no parking, but you just park up in the side street, its about 1 min walk away and I've never seen any issues with crime in any form, so it is very safe. Also they serve food and drink downstairs, which is as good as the breakfasts. Also, when we got there, the owners asked if we wanted bowls for the dogs etc, which was great.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Sunderland, Royaume-Uni
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sweeneys Bar, Restaurant & Rooms
Room a bit small.

Reviewed by
Jane G

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another excellent stay at Sweeneys
Service couldn't be better. Breakfast was great. Rooms although a little small are clean and comfortable with everything you need. Ideal location in the heart of Keswick at a very reasonable rate. This is my second stay at Sweeneys and look forward to going again.

Reviewed by
L Charlton

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it
We stayed one night in December with our son and dog. Accommodation was spacious, clean, comfortable and warm. Location couldn't be bettef. Welcome was warm and breakfast was fab. Have no hesitation in recommending and would definately usd again.

Reviewed by
j bruce

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely recommend to others
I have stayed in quite a few dog friendly guesthouses in Keswick but have got to say that I would definitely recommend Sweeneys. Alan didn't have a problem with the dogs going down to breakfast with you which in my book is a big plus so that the dog didn't have to be left alone or us having to breakfast separately. Room was quite small but for a couple of nights we didn't find that a problem. Lovely breakfast to set you up for the day!

Reviewed by
S Tunney

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room and smashing breakfast

Reviewed by
j holdsworth

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Great value for money, excellent location. Friendly staff and manager and a very enjoyable breakfast. We will be back.

Reviewed by
Jennifer Gallon

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed at Sweenys for 2 nights bed and breakfast on the 22nd and 23rd of November.
I found the service to be great and Very friendly and the rooms very comfortable.
Breakfast was also really nice.

Reviewed by
Dennis Gallon

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next