No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sweeneys Bar, Restaurant & Rooms

4Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
18-20 Lake Road, Keswick, CA12 5BX
Centrally located in the heart of the popular market town of Keswick, Sweeneys offers an ideal base from which to explore the spectacular Northern Lakes. Situated on a quiet street around the corner from the main market square, we present a bar lounge and restaurant decorated in a contemporary style whilst retaining traditional Lakeland character. Sweeneys offers four bedrooms comprising two double and two twin family rooms, sleeping up to four people. All bedrooms are comfortably furnished in a modern style and offer en suite bathroom, TV and tea & coffee making facilities. Please note: Sweeney's is a non smoking hotel.

Could you add to all of our properties: Well behaved dogs allowed at the
charge of £15 per pet for the duration of your stay.
Picture of Sweeneys Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money Central venue
We got a warm welcome at this little inn. It's only small but the rooms were bright. Sunny and clean. The shower was fantastic. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was delightful and the manager could not have been more helpful. We took our big dog and he was made very welcome too. Would def go again

Reviewed by
Andrea Nesbitt

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful night away before our proper honeymoon
Excellent value for money accommodation and food. Friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Gary Johnson

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real pleasure
It's always nice when you find the place you've booked is much better than you expected it to be. 'Rooms' as part of the accommodation title leaves a very open impression but impressed must be the word I'd use. Spacious bedroom, good quality linen and towels, spotless en-suite, nice smelling toiletries, extremely helpful staff, an excellent meal in the restaurant and top quality breakfast. There was nothing to not like. Despite being in the centre of town all was quiet outside by ten o'clock. Will certainly be staying there again.

Reviewed by
David B

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend
Nice place, great food, good location, friendly staff. The "only" thing I didn't like was the stairs creaked quite loudly so trying to be quiet when coming in late after a few drinks wasn't possible, however thats hardly going to put me off going back there. Happy I chose this place.

Reviewed by
Dan T

From Preston, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A handy town centre location with good food available.
The staff were excellent and very helpful. Ideally located for exploring the town and a good base for further exploration of the Lakes and mountain walks.

Reviewed by
Mick Macleod

From Corby, England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st class service
Lovely setting, easy to get to all local amenities. Top rate service from Alan - so so helpful and made our stay very special and memorable.

Reviewed by
Neil P

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should have been so good . . . . . .
Fantastic location. We'll presented hotel, with pleasant decor. Lovely little touches in the room. However during our stay there was only one member of staff! He tried his best but as receptionist, waiter, front of house, chef, cleaner & bar staff it was just too much.
If you've got a sense of humour then your stay will be just fine. It's so very nearly really good.

Reviewed by
S Shaw

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honeymoon couple on tour
From Gretna Green to a mini tour of Scotland and The Lakes...
Penultimate night of our special week. Great room: spotless and tidy with beautifully crisp bed linen and soft towels; sunny aspect with a big, airy feel to it . Shower = gorgeous! Alan (the Proprieter) was exceptionally helpful about parking, location, our accommodation and was just generally friendly. Breakfast was lovely - a good selection and cooked just beautifully. Draught beer was very well kept. Nice, relaxed 'no rush' atmosphere to chill out in. Good stay!

Reviewed by
A Griffiths

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

March Mid-week Break
Alan the manager was most helpful. Room was spotlessly clean with ample supply of tea/coffee.
We had 2 days bed/breakfast, The breakfasts were substantial and good quality.

Reviewed by
Alan Wright

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
We were most pleased with our welcome reception from the owner of the accommodation. Our room was very clean and warm and comfortable. Our pet was cosy and even received a sausage for her breakfast ! Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Brown

From Liversedge, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next