No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sweeneys Bar, Restaurant & Rooms

4Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
18-20 Lake Road, Keswick, CA12 5BX
Centrally located in the heart of the popular market town of Keswick, Sweeneys offers an ideal base from which to explore the spectacular Northern Lakes. Situated on a quiet street around the corner from the main market square, we present a bar lounge and restaurant decorated in a contemporary style whilst retaining traditional Lakeland character. Sweeneys offers four bedrooms comprising two double and two twin family rooms, sleeping up to four people. All bedrooms are comfortably furnished in a modern style and offer en suite bathroom, TV and tea & coffee making facilities. Please note: Sweeney's is a non smoking hotel.

Could you add to all of our properties: Well behaved dogs allowed at the
charge of £15 per pet for the duration of your stay.
Picture of Sweeneys Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely recommend to others
I have stayed in quite a few dog friendly guesthouses in Keswick but have got to say that I would definitely recommend Sweeneys. Alan didn't have a problem with the dogs going down to breakfast with you which in my book is a big plus so that the dog didn't have to be left alone or us having to breakfast separately. Room was quite small but for a couple of nights we didn't find that a problem. Lovely breakfast to set you up for the day!

Reviewed by
S Tunney

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Great value for money, excellent location. Friendly staff and manager and a very enjoyable breakfast. We will be back.

Reviewed by
Jennifer Gallon

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed at Sweenys for 2 nights bed and breakfast on the 22nd and 23rd of November.
I found the service to be great and Very friendly and the rooms very comfortable.
Breakfast was also really nice.

Reviewed by
Dennis Gallon

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed Feelings
Overall we had an enjoyable stay. Good points are: Very central and close to all the amenities.The room (number 4) was bright and airy with a double aspect, clean and lovely and warm. The staff are very friendly and we felt welcome. The breakfast was of good quality and cooked fresh. The waitress was pleasant and obliging.
Not so good points: Everywhere needs some TLC. Parts of the building are in desperate need of redecoration. Apart from our room the rest of the place was cold and felt uninviting. At breakfast it was so cold our food went cold very quickly. We had to rush the food and didn't linger due to the atmosphere. We visit Keswick regularly but would only stay here again if it has a refurbishment.

Reviewed by
J Lloyd

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

double room was more like a double cupboard!
the double room at Sweeny's was so small that from one side of bed you could touch the bathroom door and from the other side of the bed you could touch the window, the wardrobe door wouldn't open when standing in front of the door as it was so close to the end of the bed, as we had booked a 3 night stay we asked the following morning if we could be moved to a room with more space. We were offered and moved to an apartment in a different building in Keswick which offered more space however, the outside staircase used to access the top floor apartment had no less than 66 steps, the shower didn't get hot and the bed was on a wooden frame approximately 12 inches from the floor and the bedroom window didn't close properly. The man who moved us tried to do his best and was helpful however we feel that the accommodation was sub standard for the £85.00 per night charge.

Reviewed by
Keith W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money! Centre of Keswick. Couldn't have wished for better. Will definitely stay again if we go again.

Reviewed by
Alison Lee

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Room was nice and homely with lovely en suite, enjoyed the stay however in regards to the food, the steak was over cooked. I like mine rare and it was medium well but that is bit picking. Everything else was great, we were given a key for the back door so we could come and go as we please and the back door lead straight onto the street with all the bars and restaurants.

Reviewed by
Gary R

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money
this is the second time we have stayed. It is really good value for the money. So central in the town and the breakfast is excellent.

Reviewed by
janice powles

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful October Getaway
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sweeneys. Room was clean and comfortable, ensuite was too with a strong powerful shower. Food and service excellent and manager showed us where to park the car to avoid charges at the adjacent car park.We will definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
RUTH H

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel.
Spotless well decorated room, nice restaurant, good central location and excellent breakfast. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Graham T

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next