No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Normanhurst Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
195 Brooklands Road , Sale, M33 3PJ
Located only 5 mins from UHSM and within 15 minutes of the Airport, MUFC, MEN Arena, The Trafford Centre and Manchester Central. The Hotel offers free parking, free WiFi, restaurant and bar.

The Normanhurst was originally one of the three great manor houses built on Brooklands Road (Sale's most prestigous road)in the late 19th Century and is the only building of its type still to exist.

Brooklands Road Station at the top of the road is on the Metrolink system with trams running to all areas of Manchester every 6 minutes. We are the nearest hotel to the University Hospital of South Manchester (UHSM) and minutes away from the M60 and M56.

Our high quality restaurant and bar is a favourite with residents and locals and all our dishes are freshly made to order. Our extensive menus cater for all tastes however, if you require something extra special our chefs will prepare virtually any dish providing they have at least 24 hours notice.
Picture of Normanhurst Hotel, Sale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The room and hotel itself was fine. Staff and service was spot on. The experience not so much.
Our room was located ground floor right next to the gardens and we were kept awake by several late night revellers.
Overall good hotel bad experience

Reviewed by
G Carter

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Normanhurst Hotel Sale
Good value for money (breakfast include in price). Room very clean with nice ensuite bathroom (shower). Staff friendly and helpful. A mirror near to the hairdryer would be useful, the one inside the wardrobe door was too far away for this purpose. 20 minute walk to local tram network was a priority for us to access Manchester city centre.

Reviewed by
L Wood

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Lovely old house with lots of character. Room was comfortable, especially the bed, although walls seem to be very thin. Bathroom was ok. Breakfast was good. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful well kept gardens, a very pleasant place to have your coffee after breakfast.

Reviewed by
David N

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful, lovely & clean
This hotel has got to be one of the nicest places to stay in sale. Very clean and the food was out of this world. Me and my partner stayed here as we had a wedding close by - we will certainly be coming here again, and will be bringing our lo with us next time - he can play in the huge garden they have, which is very well maintained

Reviewed by
j dack

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation, food very good.

Reviewed by
Paul Jones

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Normanhurst Hotel
Hotel undergoing some refurbishment. Disappointed when bar was not open one day. Room fine with some minor defects - stingy with towels - no bath mat - shower curtain lacked a seal so water dripped all over the floor - room not hovered.
However - bed comfortable - food excellent especially breakfast - staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
michael fowler

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs some TLC
When we arrived and booked in, the young man on the desk appeared to be slightly robotic in his customer care mode rather than warm and friendly. We looked forward to possibly staying in one of the rooms in the old building but ended up having to trail over to a room in the newer part which was a long walk away. The room was clean and tidy although on the small side. No complimentary tea/coffee/kettle!! Bed was comfy. Prices in the restaurant where expensive so we had a nice walk into Sale and went to a pub where we had a lovely meal for half the price. Came back afterwards and went to the hotel bar for a couple of drinks. Thought it could be called 'The Moon Bar' because there was no atmosphere. Breakfast was good but why on earth do establishments insist on boiling the mushrooms....tasteless.

Reviewed by
m cothay

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Normanhurst Brooklands
Small hotel in characterful building. Not the chain hotel experience and good at what it does. Well located for Sale and Manchester Airport.

Reviewed by
Terry M

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect wee hotel
we stayed for just one night and had a beautiful room over looking the garden. The staff were really nice, quite friendly without over doing it and were very helpful. The breakfast was really lovely, and they served good coffee as well.
It really was for us a perfect wee hotel, lovely room, bright and sunny with a very clean en suite, we also had a hair drier, iron and ironing board in the room, so you didn't have to ask for anything, really enjoyed our short stay there. Thank you!

Reviewed by
S Cormack

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad hotel
Room in the annexe was a good size, only (picky) negative was the old, worn carpet. Parts of the hotel are being renovated and need to be as areas are looking tired. Location is a bit far out of town too. All in all quite a happy group of guests.

Reviewed by
Graham D

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next