No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Normanhurst Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
195 Brooklands Road , Sale, M33 3PJ
Located only 5 mins from UHSM and within 15 minutes of the Airport, MUFC, MEN Arena, The Trafford Centre and Manchester Central. The Hotel offers free parking, free WiFi, restaurant and bar.

The Normanhurst was originally one of the three great manor houses built on Brooklands Road (Sale's most prestigous road)in the late 19th Century and is the only building of its type still to exist.

Brooklands Road Station at the top of the road is on the Metrolink system with trams running to all areas of Manchester every 6 minutes. We are the nearest hotel to the University Hospital of South Manchester (UHSM) and minutes away from the M60 and M56.

Our high quality restaurant and bar is a favourite with residents and locals and all our dishes are freshly made to order. Our extensive menus cater for all tastes however, if you require something extra special our chefs will prepare virtually any dish providing they have at least 24 hours notice.
Picture of Normanhurst Hotel, Sale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Normanhurst Hotel
No comment

Reviewed by
Brian Martin

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasent stay, good value for money
My partner and I stayed here over the weekend with another couple. The rooms were basic but comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful and happy to assist when we struggled to lock the doors and to call us a taxi! The breakfast was a buffet style, and was good enough apart from the poor quality of sausage.
Overall the stay suited us for what we needed it for, with close proximity to Manchester and a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
S Bell

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff saved it
We arrived 11/10/14. I'll do the not so great part first. Our room wasn't a suite or a family room but given the fact we needed something to accommodate a cot I thought it would be bigger. It wasn't quite ready when we got there either. So we requested a cot but there wasn't one. Apparently this never made it to the booking at the hotel. I went to speak with the young lady at reception and she got right on it. The chambermaids came immediately and set up the cot. The staff there were just great. From the guy who gave me 2 forks Saturday night to the dining room staff in the morning. They got us scrambled eggs because we didn't want fried. Our llittle girl wondered around the dining room and they just kept on going. They were ALL very helpful and they made the stay worthwhile. I hope they get to read this. Thanks so very much. Your hard work is appreciated.

Reviewed by
Richard Augustine

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I advised beforehand that I was gluten intolerant, but was very disappointed to be told that although I had asked the night before, no provision could be made for me to have breakfast at 8.15am (they start serving at 8.30am), I could have toast or cereal (neither of which I can eat). So had to leave for my course on an empty stomach, not the best start to the day.

Reviewed by
Kim F

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good spacious accomodation with all mod con's present in room.
The accomodation was clean and room was a good size.
Only potential drawback was parking. Great if you can park at the front of the building but the overflow at the rear is very tight and felt uncomfortable leaving the car there in case it got bumped.

Reviewed by
Ian F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smelly room and outdated decor in attractive location
The hotel looked lovely from the outside but unfortunately the rooms built in an unattractive annex out the back and were a bit of a disappointment. Here's a summary of some things we didn't enjoy and the ones we did enjoy during our stay:
- Our room smelt of wet dog
- The food in the restaurant was bland, overcooked and overpriced
- Very outdated decor, both in the bedroom and in the restaurant
- There was a long black hair from previous visitor on the wall in the shower, the inside of the bathroom door wasn't cleaned properly either
- Hard beds
- The tap in the bathroom was loose and at an angle with part of the handle missing
- Bathrooms badly designed, you have to go into the shower and close the glass door to be able to turn on the shower tap, which means you get sprayed with cold water
- Breakfast food selection was a bit sparse and uninspired
- The owner didn't come across as very warm or friendly, she more or less ignored us when we were in the main house for our dinner and we didn't feel very welcome. It would have been nice with a smile and a hello.
+ Gorgeous, large garden
+ The breakfast staff and morning check-out staff were all very friendly, accommodating and positive
+ Good location, close to Manchester and in a quiet leafy area
+ Newly renovated bathrooms
The hotel is good for a short budget stay if you don't have too high expectations and we still had a good time during our visit despite our negative comments.

Reviewed by
Sara N

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Clean, warm and excellent value for money, have paid twice as much for half as less. Very, hriendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Robert Laventure

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as advertised.
This appears as a deal to stay at a manor house but there is a second old residential looking property behind with paper thin walls. This is where our deal was actually for and we had to cross an indoor bridge to get to our room from the mane house. The room was tiny and old, very disappointed with it. Food and staff were very nice.

Reviewed by
G Roberts

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Nice comfortable hotel staff very polite breakfast very good would not hesitate to book again well good value for money

Reviewed by
s saleh

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting from sussex
Very friendly and accommodating , very enjoyable stay to see family locally.

Reviewed by
Ann C

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next