No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Whickham , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The Best Western Plus Gibside Hotel is just 5 minutes drive from the A1(M) and MetroCentre at Gateshead, with easy access to Newcastle City Centre.

Guests enjoy a choice of bedroom styles, from Standard bedrooms to Junior Suites. Dining options include 'Paco's' , our A la Carte Restaurant, and the 'Sphinx' Lounge Bar , with a bistro style menu and panoramic views .

We have conference facilities from 2- 150 Delegates, and extensive car parking available at the rear of the hotel . Wireless internet is available free of charge in all bedrooms, meeting rooms and public areas. For business or leisure travellers, The Best Western Plus Gibside Hotel offers comfort, style and a personal service.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

V.Good value for money, Easy access, great reception, easy parking, nice room, £10 taxi fare to Newcastle City centre which I think v reasonable- all round very nice hotel- would recommend.

Reviewed by
G GALLAGHER

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
Could not fault hotel, paid for breakfast on arrival , very good value. Room warm and spotless. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay there again only 5 to 10 minute drive from city centre.

Reviewed by
K Fox

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic quality and great value
I was expecting anything when looking at the price but as soon as I turned up in the car park, which is fantastic as its only £1 per a while day, and only a few footsteps away from the main entrance, the quality of the room was great, easy sign in and out with no problems, really enjoyed the stay and more than likely will book again.

Reviewed by
Carl R

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lizc
First time at this hotel and would definitely stay again
Staff very helpful land room lovely
Food really good
And the view !!! What can I say
Will be back

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Room was great quality

Reviewed by
C Sampson

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fsntastic
Great value for money

Reviewed by
A Cameron

From Kelso, USA
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice comfy hotel
Stayed bed and brekkie, comfy bed and lovely fresh brekkie.

Reviewed by
a hibbert

From Newbiggin by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whickham Village Gibside Hotel Gateshead.
I have stayed at this hotel several times. Had my wedding reception there in 1987 and my silver anniversary there in 2012. Have used hotel for family occasions. Can only recommend this hotel. Very handy for many places of interest. Great views.

Reviewed by
Eileen Wilson

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good pet friendly hotel
The staff were very helpful and friendly and our dog was well accommodated. The room was a good size, the beds comfortable, and there were plenty of towels and hot water for the shower or bath. The hotel was just a short walk from the the town centre and local amenities. There weren't many car parks for the hotel itself, but there was very cheap all day parking very close by. The dinner my wife ate in the hotel restaurant could have been better; the prawn cocktail starter was not really a cocktail, just a lot of prawns (too many) and salad on a flat plate, not a glass dish; they needed a proper cocktail sauce. The roast potatoes were small and dry, and the roast lamb didn't taste very nice. These shortcomings might be explained by my wife having eaten shortly before the restaurant closed, so that the food may not have been freshly cooked. However the dessert was really lovely, she said. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it seemed expensive.

Reviewed by
Vaughan W

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcoming hotel with excellent staff although the layout is a challenge with lots of stairs

Reviewed by
B Guess

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next