No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Whickham , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The Best Western Plus Gibside Hotel is just 5 minutes drive from the A1(M) and MetroCentre at Gateshead, with easy access to Newcastle City Centre.

Guests enjoy a choice of bedroom styles, from Standard bedrooms to Junior Suites. Dining options include 'Paco's' , our A la Carte Restaurant, and the 'Sphinx' Lounge Bar , with a bistro style menu and panoramic views .

We have conference facilities from 2- 150 Delegates, and extensive car parking available at the rear of the hotel . Wireless internet is available free of charge in all bedrooms, meeting rooms and public areas. For business or leisure travellers, The Best Western Plus Gibside Hotel offers comfort, style and a personal service.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel for a trip to Newcastle
Nice hotel within easy reach of Newcastle and the Metro Centre. Rooms recently updated. Receptionist was extremely helpful

Reviewed by
C Davies

From Hawick, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpful, nice room, good location. Stayed for a wedding, really enjoyed ourselves.

Reviewed by
R Bell

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
great value accommodation, very clean, good sized room and great location to explore the northeast.
There are 2 accommodation blocks, we were staying in the block that contains the restaurant and bar. So when we returned to our room at 10pm we could hear the music from the bar, however it was turned off at 11pm, so did not disturb our sleep.
parking was a little confusing, there is a public car park outside the hotel (at the back), but there were also some unmarked spaces by the entrance, this is where we parked and we didnt get a ticket, so assumed it was ok to park there!

Reviewed by
Mark W

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle
Enjoyed our stay, food was lovely customer service was perfect, overall a nice place to stay

Reviewed by
L I

From Barrow in Furness, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gibside Hotel
I booked this hotel as we were attending a concert at Metro Radio Arena and did'nt fancy driving home late at night. All the staff, from the reception to the bar staff to the porters were all extremely friendy and helpful. When we checked in (which we were allowed to do early as our room was ready), we were told we had been given a free upgrade. The room was comfortable and clean. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Beverley D

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, would recommend
Great Hotel in a nice little village that is close to the Metro Centre and A1, lovely views across the valley and loads of parking. We didn't eat in the hotel during our stay as we were visiting family but from what we saw the food looked good. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
H Calder

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff, could improve food

Reviewed by
David Kerridge

From Otley, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel on the edge of Newcastle
Very friendly welcome, hotel in a nice area and handy for visiting Newcastle.

Reviewed by
sarah h

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years Eve at Hotel!
Very nice hotel, hard to find though - very dark room, was perfect for somewhere to sleep, staff were friendly and rooms were quiet really .. Would return if got it at reduced rate again (£75)

Reviewed by
Shaunna D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well done!

Reviewed by
Daniel S

From Germany
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9