No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Wickham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel on the edge of Newcastle
Very friendly welcome, hotel in a nice area and handy for visiting Newcastle.

Reviewed by
sarah h

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit
The hotel was excellent value. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely book this hotel again.

Reviewed by
L Walker

From St Andrews, Scotland
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay if you want to visit all of the attractions of the North East. Great Bar.

Reviewed by
P Coates

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food inclusive
price of the room okay. price of cooked breakfast expensive at £12.50. just makes you wonder if they are not emloying staff to accomodate your needs. would have loved to have breakfast but not at that price. set off home on an empty stomach.

Reviewed by
ian blaydes

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We stayed the night at the Gibside as we were visiting friends in Newcastle. When we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was big, clean and nicely decorated with good views. We would stay again!

Reviewed by
Jon G

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place great food and a freindly place to stay
my only problem was the bed it was 2 singles zipped together and very uncomfatable

Reviewed by
stephen jelly

From newcastle, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed at this excellent hotel for 2 nights the staff could,nt of been anymore helpful always had a smile for you, the rooms were big, spacious, comfy, and very clean had everything that you look for in a hotel room. there ars a couple of bars in the hotel which were very comfy the staff especialy in the residents bar were very pleasant we could have sat all night without them wanting us out.overall its one of the best hotels we have stayed at we look forward to returning for another break

Reviewed by
g mcgreechin

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel
Smart, clean, good facilities, excellent room.
Only adverse comment is the price of breakfast!
Had to find a sandwich shop nearby, no problem - it is a pleasant area.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
When me and my friend arrived at the gobside hotel we were instantly upgraded to a deluxe suit for no extra charge. The room was lovely, very modern and had the biggest most comfortable bed in. Most importantly the room was clean and the staff were friendly. Hotel is close for the metro and Newcastle city centre. The only downfall with this hotel is that breakfast isn't included in the price which is a shame. Otherwise a great hotel. Would defiantly recommend.

Reviewed by
c beswick

From Bedale, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with a great location
Thoroughly enjoyed out stay at the hotel lovely room and great experience all round we shall be staying there again soon

Reviewed by
G Bagley

From Redcar, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next