No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Wickham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class honours
We've used the Gibside for the last three years when staying in Newcastle where our daughter has been studying for her degree at the University where she got a first and in accomodation terms we've always enjoyed a first class service staying at the Gibside- nice rooms, enjoyable food, very good value but importantly always a very friendly atmosphere and helpful service from staff.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel
Very nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Room was large and well appointed, bathroom lovely. Good location with great views.

Reviewed by
Catherine B

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gibside hotel is ideal
Ive Stayed here on business now on three occasions. Staff have always been friendly and helpful with nothing to much trouble.
Booking, check in and out is easy. It has a great lounge bar bar that also serves very good food, again bar staff are great. It also has a resteraunt and function room.
'Whickham' the little town were it is situated has pubs, resteraunts, and shops right on your doorstep.
The rooms are Clean and comfortable with free wireless.
Overall it is ideal for business or pleasure.
Hassle free stay every time.
I will stay here again.

Reviewed by
Steve Whitehead

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gibside big disappointment - will not return
Booked into the Gibside for one night; with my sister, as it was local to our family and we were attending a family funeral.
Upon arrival, went to our twin room ( up 2 flights of stairs, no lift & no offer of help with our bags!). The single beds looked 'messy, and upon checking, one single sheet was dirty. All the bedding looked as if they had not been ironed; in fact they looked a mess. We contacted reception and they did act very quickly to rectify the situation; even offering us a complimentary drink whilst we waited for housekeeping to change the bed.
The room was a little dingy and it appeared that very little care had been taken to make the room & bathroom ready. The bathroom was clean, but some of the grout was missing / dirty and the shower curtain was mouldy. My sister & I are both in the hospitality industry and were disappointed with this hotel. We were visiting the town for a funeral and were not really in the mood to be sorting issues out like this. We have family who live in the area, but will be looking to stay at a different hotel in future. The bedrooms need refurbishment.

Reviewed by
G Bent

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
have stayed here a few times,rooms are clean and quite spacious,good value hotel in centre of whickham,close to metro and newcastle

Reviewed by
b burke

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A smart hotel but overpriced
I stayed here for one night whilst working in Newcastle. The hotel itself is of a high standard, with friendly reception staff. I stayed in a standard room ('single occupancy') for £75. The room however seemed quite basic and bland for this price, however it was clean and quite large, with good bathroom facilities. Breakfast was not included - I did not want to pay a hefty £12.50 for a cooked breakfast so I did not have the chance to try the hotel's food, however there is a restaurant attached to the hotel that appeared to offer a range of high quality food.

Reviewed by
James B

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Nice hotel clean and friendly deffintly stop again

Reviewed by
M Harding

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
This was a Nice Hotel, Rooms Clean etc, However the Cost of breakfast (Which was not included) was Astonimical in Proportion , £8.95 for Continental & a Whopping £12.95 Each for Full English, This would have added onto our stay for two nights £51.80 , While an evening Meal in the Bar for two people was below £13.00 and this was very Good
This resulted in us going Elsewhere for Breakfast . So they lost out Ps The Hotel is NOT in Newcastle its in Gateshead Over the Tyne

Reviewed by
B Mills

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gibside hotel recomended
I recently stayed at the Gibside Hotel. Location was ideal as I was due to visit Newcastle city center the following day. Upon arrival the receptionist was exceedingly helpful in relation to travelling times into town. The room was clean and had everything needed for a short stay. My only slight criticism would be the menu in the room was not clear as to whether it was room service or for the main restaurant. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints whatsoever and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant was nothing short of excellent.

Reviewed by
Terry Lucas

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next