No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Wickham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Nice hotel clean and friendly deffintly stop again

Reviewed by
M Harding

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gibside hotel recomended
I recently stayed at the Gibside Hotel. Location was ideal as I was due to visit Newcastle city center the following day. Upon arrival the receptionist was exceedingly helpful in relation to travelling times into town. The room was clean and had everything needed for a short stay. My only slight criticism would be the menu in the room was not clear as to whether it was room service or for the main restaurant. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
This was a Nice Hotel, Rooms Clean etc, However the Cost of breakfast (Which was not included) was Astonimical in Proportion , £8.95 for Continental & a Whopping £12.95 Each for Full English, This would have added onto our stay for two nights £51.80 , While an evening Meal in the Bar for two people was below £13.00 and this was very Good
This resulted in us going Elsewhere for Breakfast . So they lost out Ps The Hotel is NOT in Newcastle its in Gateshead Over the Tyne

Reviewed by
B Mills

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints whatsoever and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant was nothing short of excellent.

Reviewed by
Terry Lucas

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel

Reviewed by
M Wilson

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
Friendly staff, clean room, all in all a lovely hotel. Would recommend to anyone wanting a nice hotel and will definitely be staying here again. Was about 10 minutes taxi ride to the city centre

Reviewed by
john a

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
Very pleasant and comfortable hotel

Reviewed by
B Currie

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but comfortable
Welcoming staff as we arrived, went to our room, it was a basic room with 2 beds pushed together to make a large double but the room was clean, comfortable and had all that we needed for our one night stay. Didn't have breakfast because £8.95 seemed quite pricey for a continental breakfast so we ate elsewhere. No complaints really apart from we got disturbed in the middle of the night by other noisey guests, but with regards to the hotel itself, I would recommend to a friend.

Reviewed by
N Nichols

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was an ok hotel for just the one night however I probably wouldn't return. The staff were all friendly and we were pre-warned about one the restaurants been closed which was good however the room was not as expected (looks like we got one of the rooms not yet refurbished) and there was twin beds in the room not a double which i felt was awkward for a couple travelling.

Reviewed by
Beth S

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

week end break
stayed here before and will stay again , very nice hotel

Reviewed by
c cowan

From Cowdenbeath, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next