No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Whickham , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The Best Western Plus Gibside Hotel is just 5 minutes drive from the A1(M) and MetroCentre at Gateshead, with easy access to Newcastle City Centre.

Guests enjoy a choice of bedroom styles, from Standard bedrooms to Junior Suites. Dining options include 'Paco's' , our A la Carte Restaurant, and the 'Sphinx' Lounge Bar , with a bistro style menu and panoramic views .

We have conference facilities from 2- 150 Delegates, and extensive car parking available at the rear of the hotel . Wireless internet is available free of charge in all bedrooms, meeting rooms and public areas. For business or leisure travellers, The Best Western Plus Gibside Hotel offers comfort, style and a personal service.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what it says on the tin
Refurbished deluxe rooms are what I would call standard. 2 beds were pushed together, marks on the wall, dripping shower, small tv, noisy. They categorise the rooms as deluxe due to a refurbishment.....that's not my definition

Reviewed by
D Pringle

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good accommodation
We stayed on a visit to Newcastle Uni. Rooms absolutely great - comfortable, clean and quiet. Did not sample dinner, but breakfast swift and adequate. It is in a suburb of the City and NOT in the country. One of the other reviews seemed to think it was!

Reviewed by
David W

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super stay at the Gibside.
Accommodation was excellent value for money, but breakfast at £12.50 a head is not!!

Reviewed by
Alan S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good! More than you expect fot the price!!
For the price I very very surprised. I was expecting a very basic room but what I got was so much better. A room which I would rate a lot higher than given. The only down side was the double bed was actually 2 single mattresses on a double bed frame so you sunk in the middle where there was a gap. Other than that room was clean, and pleasant. Enjoyed my stay and so did my girlfriend. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
P Mackie

From , England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a very nice stay here with my friend. Very clean hotel and lovely reception staff. Great price too. Thank you

Reviewed by
Jessica Tupman

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed one night and had a very early start. Needed our b/fast before 8am and staff were extremely accommodating, for which we were very grateful. Room lovely. bit too dark for my tastes but put me to sleep quickly.

Reviewed by
s c

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic hotel
Not good value for money

Reviewed by
S Asnani

From Newport on Tay, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room clean, bed comfortable, breakfast was poor,

Reviewed by
C J

From Accrington, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and inviting environment
The room was of a good size, was clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly and gave good advice on where to eat out and what there was locally to do.

Reviewed by
Christopher E

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff....hotel OK for the price but really needs updating.

Reviewed by
Peter A

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next