No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Whickham , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The Best Western Plus Gibside Hotel is just 5 minutes drive from the A1(M) and MetroCentre at Gateshead, with easy access to Newcastle City Centre.

Guests enjoy a choice of bedroom styles, from Standard bedrooms to Junior Suites. Dining options include 'Paco's' , our A la Carte Restaurant, and the 'Sphinx' Lounge Bar , with a bistro style menu and panoramic views .

We have conference facilities from 2- 150 Delegates, and extensive car parking available at the rear of the hotel . Wireless internet is available free of charge in all bedrooms, meeting rooms and public areas. For business or leisure travellers, The Best Western Plus Gibside Hotel offers comfort, style and a personal service.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in nice place

Reviewed by
WENDY B

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy

Reviewed by
M Miah

From London , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very happy with accommodation and staff were lovely.
Pillows a bit hard for our liking but we are all different.

Reviewed by
Anthony Parker

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at the hotel following my nieces wedding, which was held at the gibside hotel. The staff were very pleasant and made our stay very welcoming.

Reviewed by
dawn h

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
I stayed here as it is a sister to the beamish hotel .which I like a lot. Found thr rooms to be identical I ate in the bar area so cant comment on the restaurant food.

Reviewed by
linda f

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, helpful staff, good location for shopping at the metro

Reviewed by
Stephanie Robertson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great for being close to the clubs!
Had a very good stay at the gibside, was down with the girlfriend and was a very good hotel for us both, very close to metro centre for shopping and 5 mins in taxi (£10) to city centre for the pubs clubs and restaurants! We didn't eat at hotel but the smell from restaurant kept us hungry till we headed out as it smelled delicious! Rooms very clean, beds extremely comfy and huge and staff where really helpful and friendly! Only downside was 3 flights of stairs at 4am drunk! Great hotel and will defo stay again!

Reviewed by
Gary Smith

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dirty glasses
The hotel was really nice, I guess the only disappointment was the dirty wine glasses at the bar. When I pointed it out to the bar staff, she wanted to pour the contents from the dirty glass into a new one. And it was really hot in the room even thought the heating was not on. Other that that the experience was good and we really enjoyed the food at the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Katarina G

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern rooms but exterior needs updating
Lovely receptionist on the front desk which always helps. I wasn't expecting the room to be great when I arrived but I was pleasantly surprised! At £85 per night I thought there might have been a fridge in the room but there wasn't.
The shower was a delight and the quiet room was too.... Until we were rudely woke by the maids in the morning chatting and laughing loudly and playing music on their phones right outside our room for long enough for us to shower, pack and leave!!

Reviewed by
Nicola W

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Brilliant friendly hotel. Only one problem the breakfast it's very overpriced at £12pp and not very nice.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next