No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Wickham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
When me and my friend arrived at the gobside hotel we were instantly upgraded to a deluxe suit for no extra charge. The room was lovely, very modern and had the biggest most comfortable bed in. Most importantly the room was clean and the staff were friendly. Hotel is close for the metro and Newcastle city centre. The only downfall with this hotel is that breakfast isn't included in the price which is a shame. Otherwise a great hotel. Would defiantly recommend.

Reviewed by
c beswick

From Bedale, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleeping is difficult
Stayed at the gibside a few times, rooms are ok, food is ok. Its generally a good hotel.
It just attracts groups of lads staying which essentially spend all night banging doors.
The hotel should be conscious of this and because the hotel accomodation is in two parts, they should make sure groups are kept by themselves.

Reviewed by
M A

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what you expect
This hotel does not have secure parking just a few spaces near door then a council car park, after driving round three times to fine the entrance , then having to carry our suit cases up two sets of steps no ramp or porter in sight, lovely young girl on desk explained we would have to use the service lift which is through dinning room very embarrassing to be carrying your luggage through while diners where having there meals! Then to be told we where on the top floor with a dog just not well thought out at all. As for breakfast costing £8.95 each not good value as the room cost £74.00 would I stay again the answer is no.

Reviewed by
R White

From Germany
Who stayed in November 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Very friendly people clean room was good all round would use again

Reviewed by
c steele

From Workington, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gibside Whickham
Great hotel for the price. Lovely staff and very helpful.

Reviewed by
Jonathan D

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel I have been to.

Reviewed by
Filip B

From Altrincham, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best value for money but was staying at the weekend for a family party. Not alot to do within walking distance.
Parking nearby in council car park not made clear in hotel website, very little free customer parking in the week. Although clean accomodation and public areas seemed a little tired. Staff helpful and several friendly phone calls prior to arrival to clarify a few things.

Reviewed by
Linda P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle trip
My mum and I visited your lovely hotel for 4 nights as I was visiting my daught and new grandson. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room very clean. I would have liked some hot chocolate sachets in my room though :) ......
I do feel that breakfast should be included in the price of the room as most other hotels in the area offer this facility. My mum and I do not eat much at all for breakfast so your set prices were way over what was used. However day 3,4 and 5 the waitress was kind enough to charge us less, which we were very grateful for.

Reviewed by
Jenny Lloyd

From Lymington, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well done!

Reviewed by
Daniel S

From Germany
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10