No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Wickham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
I have often looked at this hotel and thought it sounded good but reality was a shock we paid extra for an upgrade what for I don't know it was a very basic room with a shabby bathroom chocolate coloured paint on the walls made it seem even smaller the restaurant was closed on a Sunday so we ate in the bar. awful tasteless and greasy unfortunately the bar comes alive at bedtime sand loud music bounced until 12 then people brawling at the back of the hotel until the early hours breakfast was average certainly not worth 12-50 I'm still waiting for the receptionist to ask how was our stay !

Reviewed by
Craig D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review

Reviewed by
H Collins

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem !

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in nice place

Reviewed by
WENDY B

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy

Reviewed by
M Miah

From London , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very happy with accommodation and staff were lovely.
Pillows a bit hard for our liking but we are all different.

Reviewed by
Anthony Parker

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at the hotel following my nieces wedding, which was held at the gibside hotel. The staff were very pleasant and made our stay very welcoming.

Reviewed by
dawn h

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
I stayed here as it is a sister to the beamish hotel .which I like a lot. Found thr rooms to be identical I ate in the bar area so cant comment on the restaurant food.

Reviewed by
linda f

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, helpful staff, good location for shopping at the metro

Reviewed by
Stephanie Robertson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great for being close to the clubs!
Had a very good stay at the gibside, was down with the girlfriend and was a very good hotel for us both, very close to metro centre for shopping and 5 mins in taxi (£10) to city centre for the pubs clubs and restaurants! We didn't eat at hotel but the smell from restaurant kept us hungry till we headed out as it smelled delicious! Rooms very clean, beds extremely comfy and huge and staff where really helpful and friendly! Only downside was 3 flights of stairs at 4am drunk! Great hotel and will defo stay again!

Reviewed by
Gary Smith

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next