No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Whickham , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The Best Western Plus Gibside Hotel is just 5 minutes drive from the A1(M) and MetroCentre at Gateshead, with easy access to Newcastle City Centre.

Guests enjoy a choice of bedroom styles, from Standard bedrooms to Junior Suites. Dining options include 'Paco's' , our A la Carte Restaurant, and the 'Sphinx' Lounge Bar , with a bistro style menu and panoramic views .

We have conference facilities from 2- 150 Delegates, and extensive car parking available at the rear of the hotel . Wireless internet is available free of charge in all bedrooms, meeting rooms and public areas. For business or leisure travellers, The Best Western Plus Gibside Hotel offers comfort, style and a personal service.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for Beamish museum
Really good location for Beamish museum - about 15 minutes drive. Good value Italian restaurant very close and a few pubs within walking distance. Hotel bar also had a good atmosphere. No on-site parking was a disadvantage. We were impressed at the size of the room, although there wasn't much of an outlook (we faced a main road). .

Reviewed by
Sarah T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gibside review
Excellent accomodation, friendly helpful staff, clean and tidy room, alround enjoyable experience and would recommend.

Reviewed by
J Harland

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great business hotel!
Excellent price (laterooms) for overnight stay..food was well below par thought unfortunately!

Reviewed by
Peter F

From Atherstone, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night in Newcastle
We were looking for a comfortable hotel for an overnight stay in Newcastle to celebrate a friends birthday. The Gibside was certainly very comfortable with a spacious room and a king size bed. The staff were very friendly and were ready to accommodate our every need. We didn't have dinner in the hotel but had the full english breakfast in the morning before we left. It lived up to its name with no room on the plate for any more. Would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Newcastle for the Metro Centre as we could see it from our bedroom window.

Reviewed by
Robert F

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'We're here for you! so enjoy your stay and leave with a smile'
My family of five enjoyed our stay at the Gibside Hotel from the moment we arrived. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special and we did. My daughter had a dance competition in Newcastle over two days and did not do well the first day. The relaxing atmosphere helped ease all our nerves and got us in a happy mood to carry on the following day. Her team won the next day.
I would like to thank the reception staff and would recommend their service to all my family and friends.

Thank you for making my families stay a happy one.
Yours Faithfully

Linda Binns

Reviewed by
L Binns

From Bradford, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should ha e mentioned the DJ
As a family with 2 young kids it would have been nice to have been told there was music in the bar just below us till late fortunately after a day's walking my two were shattered shattered so no harm done. Standard hotel room no frills a bit crowded with 2 extra beds in but hey ho it was just one night

Reviewed by
LOUISE R

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced but comfortable
Breakfast should be included

Reviewed by
L Bell

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

N/A
N/A

Reviewed by
Graeme C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast Extra
Nice couple of days, staff very helpful .

Reviewed by
J Donaldson

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel for a trip to Newcastle
Nice hotel within easy reach of Newcastle and the Metro Centre. Rooms recently updated. Receptionist was extremely helpful

Reviewed by
C Davies

From Hawick, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next