No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Wickham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should ha e mentioned the DJ
As a family with 2 young kids it would have been nice to have been told there was music in the bar just below us till late fortunately after a day's walking my two were shattered shattered so no harm done. Standard hotel room no frills a bit crowded with 2 extra beds in but hey ho it was just one night

Reviewed by
LOUISE R

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced but comfortable
Breakfast should be included

Reviewed by
L Bell

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

N/A
N/A

Reviewed by
Graeme C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast Extra
Nice couple of days, staff very helpful .

Reviewed by
J Donaldson

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel for a trip to Newcastle
Nice hotel within easy reach of Newcastle and the Metro Centre. Rooms recently updated. Receptionist was extremely helpful

Reviewed by
C Davies

From Hawick, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpful, nice room, good location. Stayed for a wedding, really enjoyed ourselves.

Reviewed by
R Bell

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
great value accommodation, very clean, good sized room and great location to explore the northeast.
There are 2 accommodation blocks, we were staying in the block that contains the restaurant and bar. So when we returned to our room at 10pm we could hear the music from the bar, however it was turned off at 11pm, so did not disturb our sleep.
parking was a little confusing, there is a public car park outside the hotel (at the back), but there were also some unmarked spaces by the entrance, this is where we parked and we didnt get a ticket, so assumed it was ok to park there!

Reviewed by
Mark W

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle
Enjoyed our stay, food was lovely customer service was perfect, overall a nice place to stay

Reviewed by
L I

From Barrow in Furness, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gibside Hotel
I booked this hotel as we were attending a concert at Metro Radio Arena and did'nt fancy driving home late at night. All the staff, from the reception to the bar staff to the porters were all extremely friendy and helpful. When we checked in (which we were allowed to do early as our room was ready), we were told we had been given a free upgrade. The room was comfortable and clean. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Beverley D

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, would recommend
Great Hotel in a nice little village that is close to the Metro Centre and A1, lovely views across the valley and loads of parking. We didn't eat in the hotel during our stay as we were visiting family but from what we saw the food looked good. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
H Calder

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next