No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Wickham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel

Reviewed by
M Wilson

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
Friendly staff, clean room, all in all a lovely hotel. Would recommend to anyone wanting a nice hotel and will definitely be staying here again. Was about 10 minutes taxi ride to the city centre

Reviewed by
john a

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
Very pleasant and comfortable hotel

Reviewed by
B Currie

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but comfortable
Welcoming staff as we arrived, went to our room, it was a basic room with 2 beds pushed together to make a large double but the room was clean, comfortable and had all that we needed for our one night stay. Didn't have breakfast because £8.95 seemed quite pricey for a continental breakfast so we ate elsewhere. No complaints really apart from we got disturbed in the middle of the night by other noisey guests, but with regards to the hotel itself, I would recommend to a friend.

Reviewed by
N Nichols

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was an ok hotel for just the one night however I probably wouldn't return. The staff were all friendly and we were pre-warned about one the restaurants been closed which was good however the room was not as expected (looks like we got one of the rooms not yet refurbished) and there was twin beds in the room not a double which i felt was awkward for a couple travelling.

Reviewed by
Beth S

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

week end break
stayed here before and will stay again , very nice hotel

Reviewed by
c cowan

From Cowdenbeath, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Go side

Reviewed by
Paul A

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
good, clean, value for money accommodation close to all services and amenities.

Reviewed by
T Williams

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for Beamish museum
Really good location for Beamish museum - about 15 minutes drive. Good value Italian restaurant very close and a few pubs within walking distance. Hotel bar also had a good atmosphere. No on-site parking was a disadvantage. We were impressed at the size of the room, although there wasn't much of an outlook (we faced a main road). .

Reviewed by
Sarah T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay room only
Check in was very efficient, managed to get a parking space outside of hotel. Room was very clean, plenty of clean towels and complimentary toiletries including shoe shine which my partner found useful. The best night sleep we had in ages in the huge bed and very comfy. One of the quietest hotel rooms ever stayed in,very little noise from road and corridor to say there was wedding reception being held in the hotel. We were going to a concert at The Arena and reception staff booked a taxi for us only around £10 each way, saved driving and having the hassle of parking. Great value, would definitely stay there again. Thank you for your hospitality.
Tip: Pleasant Italian restaurant next door that has some 3 course specials £4.95!

Reviewed by
Donna M

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next