No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Wickham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great for being close to the clubs!
Had a very good stay at the gibside, was down with the girlfriend and was a very good hotel for us both, very close to metro centre for shopping and 5 mins in taxi (£10) to city centre for the pubs clubs and restaurants! We didn't eat at hotel but the smell from restaurant kept us hungry till we headed out as it smelled delicious! Rooms very clean, beds extremely comfy and huge and staff where really helpful and friendly! Only downside was 3 flights of stairs at 4am drunk! Great hotel and will defo stay again!

Reviewed by
Gary Smith

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dirty glasses
The hotel was really nice, I guess the only disappointment was the dirty wine glasses at the bar. When I pointed it out to the bar staff, she wanted to pour the contents from the dirty glass into a new one. And it was really hot in the room even thought the heating was not on. Other that that the experience was good and we really enjoyed the food at the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Katarina G

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern rooms but exterior needs updating
Lovely receptionist on the front desk which always helps. I wasn't expecting the room to be great when I arrived but I was pleasantly surprised! At £85 per night I thought there might have been a fridge in the room but there wasn't.
The shower was a delight and the quiet room was too.... Until we were rudely woke by the maids in the morning chatting and laughing loudly and playing music on their phones right outside our room for long enough for us to shower, pack and leave!!

Reviewed by
Nicola W

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Brilliant friendly hotel. Only one problem the breakfast it's very overpriced at £12pp and not very nice.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Get Away
I booked the hotel last minute and paid £89 for the room, for one night, which I thought included breakfast. When we arrived I was informed that breakfast would cost an additional £9.99 per person or if paid for the next morning £12.99 per person. The room was very nice but from reception you had to walk along a corrider and then upstairs. It appears that the hotel is extended around a church building which sits in the middle. From reception to the lounge, which is very nice and Egyptian themed, you have to go upstairs and that takes you to the front of the building. We ate at the restaurant within the hotel, the food was exceptional and staff were very attentive. We would highly recommend the restaurant. All in all it was a nice experience and reception staff were very helpful. We also had wi-fi in our room which worked well.

Reviewed by
Josephine D

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gibside 2014
pleasant staff, rooms are clean however obvious recent refurbishment not gone far enough, they have tried to cover the seventies & eigthies decor & failed. fantastic views over Gateshead & Newcastle, particularly from the bar. Main gripe was the price of the breakfast at £12.50, it was good but £7 tops would be my price. would I stay here again? maybe( not given this option on late reviews) Price is king on this one if I could get a night for with breakfast for £65 I would use it all the time other than than that I would only use it if I can't get accommodation anywhere else.

Reviewed by
L Bowden

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantasic accommodation
The accommodation was lovely had fantastic views from Are room staff where very friendly and was happy to help with any queries I have nothing bad to say about this hotel and had a great stay and Newcastle was very good two. :-)

Reviewed by
K Maughan

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gibside Hotel
Booked a room for £65. Put had to pay £100. Was a standed charge and would be getting the differes back.
Not had chance to check if it has gone back in to my bank.
Put on a whole very good.

Reviewed by
S Mosley

From Huddersfield , UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay with my husband
We would recommend a stay here the evening receptionist was extremely helpful in recommending and booking a table at a near by Indian restaurant which was delicious! We did have a drink in the bar while we were looking over the menu and the service and atmosphere was very good there also. The room was modern with tasteful features both room and hotel were very clean. Down sides are we were told to expect a king sized bed and actually got to singles pushed together which was uncomfortable through the night. Free wifi was part of our deal but we could not access it in our room or in hotel at any time reception informed us it rarely worked in the bedrooms and did try to reset the system which unfortunately did not work. . On arrival after being handed a recipt to say we had paid in full I was asked to put a £50 holding amount on my card to the hotel which could be released in the next 10 working days when I asked why I was told this was a standard procedure which every guest must follow and I asked if I would be informed when the amount would be released I was told this was my banks responsibility. I found this strange as holding amounts are mostly used for prebooking in case of cancelation and very vague knowledge from the receptionist to why and when the situation would be rectified. Over all a very enjoyable stay we will return again.

Reviewed by
l chapman

From stanley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, good value but a few issues
Difficult to find on a dark wet night even with SAT NAV access wasn't easy although staff offered to carry bags. OK for fit people.
Room pleasant, very cold but dealt with promptly
Evening meal disappointing but breakfast very good.
Staff were very helpful - would use again

Reviewed by
Jan W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next