Reviews - Headlam Hall Hotel & Spa


Headlam, Darlington, DL2 3HA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (9)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Karen Wright

  • September 2015

Excellent stay - have booked to stay again

Everything about the stay was enjoyable.

Very friendly and efficient staff. Room very private - just as we like it. Breakfast in the conservatory was first class - would highly recommend the salmon with scrambled eggs. Definately worth a visit.

  • Chris Walton

  • August 2015

Repeat Visit

Have stayed here several times across the last twenty years and each visit has been as good as the previous.

The approach and quality of service befits the status as a true character country hotel and would recommend to anyone looking for this type of hotel in a peaceful setting.

  • D Dixon

  • February 2015

Excellent Stay

Stayed here on business for 4 nights, and was made welcome from the first moment I stepped through the door.

The staff are a credit to Headlam Hall, all are happy to have a conversation and friendly. The room I stayed in was excellent, I admit there were a few faults, like the curtain pole starting to come out of the wall, and the shelf in the bathroom leaning downwards, but these didn't stop me from enjoying my stay, and quite frankly it's an old building. The Spa was also very nice, and made a week long stay quite relaxing. The food ... well what can I say, from the breakfast to the exquisite dinners all was top notch, although the downside was I did really need the spa access for this as the food is so nice, trying the limited your choice is difficult. If you are thinking about staying here, you won't be disappointed!

  • stephanie H

  • February 2015

Headlam Hall Hotel & Spa

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at Headlam Hall, the staff are amazing and so helpfull, as for the food I have to say this was definately 5 star with service to match.

Definately would stay again.

  • S Nicholson

  • February 2015

Headlam Hall

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The food is to die for... Shame that the spa treatment rooms were fully booked...I know to book well in advance next time!

  • G Owen

  • June 2014

What a gem

This was our first time at Headlam Hall but we had a fantastic stay.

My wife and I were enjoying a break from the kids (thanks Grandma) and had a great experience here. The staff were really friendly and helpful and really couldn't do enough for you. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • A Riseley

  • May 2014

Our Stay

This is our third year of returning to Headlam Hall to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to our surprise on arrival at the hotel we were told we had being upgraded to the bridal suite which made it even more special.

The room was lovely and with the additional touches made our stay more pleasurable. The staff as always were very welcoming and the food superb. The hotel is situated in a lovely part of the countryside and the ambience of the place is such that we cant wait to return next year.

  • Jacqueline H

  • April 2014

Stayed in the mews rooms with our dog, room was lovely but bathroom was very cramped

Stayed for 3 nights in total.

Mews room was lovely but the bathroom was rediculously cramped, it was a bath with a shower over and you had to sit on toilet sideways as toilet roll holder made it almost impossible to do anything else, so anyone with mobility issues beware. The room was clean and the staff were all lovely. Had a couple of spa treatments and again the staff were lovely. The food was disappointing and the head chef needs to think more carefully when menu planning, for example there were 2 terrines on the menu and both contained hazelnuts, however I would definately consider staying again.

  • ann crawley

  • February 2014

Headlam Hall

what a fantastic place - cracking service and the food was out of this world.