No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windsor Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
41-43 South Parade, Whitley Bay, NE26 2RF
The Windsor Hotel is centrally located on South Parade, a 2 minute walk from the beach and the town centre. The Hotel has 69 bedrooms, all of which are equipped with facilities you would expect of modern 3-star accommodation. The Hotel has a secure private car park for guests. Bazil Brasserie is available to guests for breakfast and evening meals. Bazil has an extensive menu and daily specials offering quality international dishes and fine wines. Bazil has acquired a prestigious Dining Award from the RAC and is fast gaining a reputation as the finest place to eat in the region.

Please note that no group bookings are accepted over two rooms.
Picture of Windsor Hotel, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy and no sound protection
Had to change rooms twice due to noise. Very little sound protection and some rooms are above a night club. Tried to complain to manager but receptionist couldn't tell me when he would be in!
Bedside lights not working in one room, internal phone did not work and no TV remote. Hotel has huge potential as lovely big rooms, but needs redecoration and attention to detail.

Reviewed by
D Rowe

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would come back!
Reception staff very helpful especially sorting out our room! All staff exceptionally friendly. If I had to find a criticism it would be that when a large coach party is in residence they should have a system for breakfast so that other residents are not assumed to be part of that group and the breakfast menu is available. Otherwise an excellent stay, thanks!

Reviewed by
Shirley M

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain deal
Stayed at the Windsor for three nights with my partner and our 11 year old son. Found the car park behind the hotel easily and were welcomed by a friendly man on reception who gave us our keys and told us about breakfast times etc. Our room was on the 2nd floor and we could just see the beach from our window. We were very happy with our nice big room which was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom had a bath and shower and looked as if it had been recently refurbished. We had a large flat screen tv and kettle with plenty of tea, coffee, sugar and milk which was topped up every day. Enjoyed our stay and didn't have any problems.

Reviewed by
E Lee

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant experience
Hotel room was vey clean, the staff were vey good , we didn't gave breakfast or evening so are unable to comment about hotel food, however Indian restaurant down the road was very good.
Whitley Bay leaves a lot to be desired and we would not return however no complaints about thehotel


Reviewed by
Anne H

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel,
i was a contractor who stayed in whitley bay in the eighties and found the quality of hotels then being variable, but this was presently surprising. i would definately recommend.
Shame about the town though, it appears since the regeneration of newcastle that this town has died, 25 years since my last stay and it is now a ghost town.
Only downside to this stay was the night porter, not very friendly!

Reviewed by
andy b

From WAKEFIELD, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hptel/wrong locatyion
the hotel was great very impress on entering Hotel. Staff helpful and very friendly butt wish your Hotel was in different location ! .Nights clubs all around and music and crowds on street from `10pm until 4.30 am police vans and cars lined the street keeping watch !! Thought we were in Magalulf !!!! . Such a shame for a lovely Hotel

Reviewed by
p petch

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Graeme T

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel very friendly and helpful staff, excellant food in Bazil's Brasserrie.
Booked at last minute lovely surprize to find we had a sea view and a four poster bed!
Lots of nightlife around but very quiet in hotel.
If they manage to find my wifes pearl earring (only bought week before for first wedding anniversary) it will make my day!!!

Reviewed by
michael clarke

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
True value for money. Extremely friendly and co-operative staff, nothing was too much trouble. The paella they made me was superb. Hotel fab such a shame the resort is not thriving as it once would have been as it has such a lovely beach and prom however so many businesses closing from lack of custom.

Reviewed by
Belinda B

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our holiday in whitley bay
although our stay was very pleasant we were a bit shocked by the party going on at the hotel opposite! however it did not go on too late and as this was our last night we managed to get some rest before our long journey home. the room was very clean and comfortable even though the curtains were hanging off the rails! staff were friendly and polite and were able to answer any questions we had.

Reviewed by
D Barber

From Dunstable, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next