Reviews - Windsor Hotel


41-43 South Parade, Whitley Bay, NE26 2RF

Price From 117.66 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (60)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • T Allen

  • April 2014

Excellent little hotel, Great value for money very pleased with visit to whitley bay :-)

  • M Hayes

  • April 2014

Staff really friendly & helpful, bathroom & bed linen very clean curtains needed fixing properly but otherwise no issues room was reasonable size & comfortable - car park convenient and hotel within easy walking distance of both sea front and town centre (on a hill).

  • R Copley

  • April 2014

Two day stay on a bank holiday weekend.

Very spacious and comfortable rooms.

The cleaning staff were efficient, however not wholly thorough. The food was very good and excellent value for money.

  • John Newton

  • April 2014

Nice hotel

All good, clean and tidy , spacious...

Only thing that let it down was paper thin walls... Kept awake all night off next door but sure you dont get neighbours like that all the time

  • Maryann Coleman

  • April 2014

Not a happy bunny

My husband and i have stayed at The Windsor a few times now while visiting friends,but on this occasion we where very dissapointed after finding feaces in one of the bathroom cabinets.

Ireported this to the receptionist on our very hastely departure. The manager was not available at the time.

  • Keith S

  • March 2014

not a pleasant stay

After booking the hotel it all went down hill from there, from the cleanliness of the room to the varied arange of night club outside.

Rated as a three star hotel would find it hard to give it one. Would not recommend or stay again

  • s brown

  • March 2014

Great value for money by far the best hotel in Whitley bay!.


  • March 2014

No food

Excellent room,no complaints whatsoever.

Although we did not use the dining area so i cant comment on the food.

  • Alan Davison

  • March 2014

Great little hotel, but noisy on Friday nights!

The Windsor is ideally situated for the Sea Front, Whitley Bay and Tynemouth.

My needs were well catered for at very competitive price - I literally needed a clean bed to sleep in and a shower in the morning so wasn't bothered about any additional facilities. I understand there is a very good restaurant attached to the hotel but didn't try it. Everything was as expected but I did have one gripe: my room was directly above a noisy night club with loud dance music being played until 2 a.m. Luckily I was out until after one so only had to endure the noise for half an hour or so. Not the place to stay if you like an early night.

  • karen greenwood

  • February 2014


This is the second time I have stayed at the Windsor recently, I booked both times through late and both times got the same room.

The size of the room was great, quality less so. The room was tired looking in comparison to the reception and restaurant. It was sad really, I have very fond memories of this hotel as I stayed there for my wedding 11years ago. Although it was clean, the carpets were warn, wallpaper peeling off the wall, grout in bathroom was black and the room had a very distinct 'old' smell to it. If you compare to a premier inn for a similar price I know where I'd prefer to stay. Note staff were lovely. But when I complained about the noise from the room above... Lets just say it was a 'couple' and I was staying with my 7 year old daughter, not a lot if sleep between 2am&5am both nights, the response was less than satisfactory. The receptionist was more interested in seeing 'who' the couple were instead of apologising for my disrupted stay. I would imagine that this room is only available to those that book a family room via late as the price saving was really high, I would be very very upset if I'd paid the advertised full price that was quoted. As it happened it was the only hotel room available at the short notice that I need to book. On a positive, staff friendly and the breakfast was delicious, can't complain about the quality of the food at all.