No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windsor Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
41-43 South Parade, Whitley Bay, NE26 2RF
The Windsor Hotel is centrally located on South Parade, a 2 minute walk from the beach and the town centre. The Hotel has 69 bedrooms, all of which are equipped with facilities you would expect of modern 3-star accommodation. The Hotel has a secure private car park for guests. Bazil Brasserie is available to guests for breakfast and evening meals. Bazil has an extensive menu and daily specials offering quality international dishes and fine wines. Bazil has acquired a prestigious Dining Award from the RAC and is fast gaining a reputation as the finest place to eat in the region.

Please note that no group bookings are accepted over two rooms.
Picture of Windsor Hotel, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not a pleasant stay
After booking the hotel it all went down hill from there, from the cleanliness of the room to the varied arange of night club outside. Rated as a three star hotel would find it hard to give it one. Would not recommend or stay again

Reviewed by
Keith S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money by far the best hotel in Whitley bay!!

Reviewed by
s brown

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No food
Excellent room,no complaints whatsoever. Although we did not use the dining area so i cant comment on the food.

Reviewed by
MARYANN COLEMAN

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel, but noisy on Friday nights!
The Windsor is ideally situated for the Sea Front, Whitley Bay and Tynemouth. My needs were well catered for at very competitive price - I literally needed a clean bed to sleep in and a shower in the morning so wasn't bothered about any additional facilities. I understand there is a very good restaurant attached to the hotel but didn't try it. Everything was as expected but I did have one gripe: my room was directly above a noisy night club with loud dance music being played until 2 a.m. Luckily I was out until after one so only had to endure the noise for half an hour or so. Not the place to stay if you like an early night!

Reviewed by
Alan Davison

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comments
This is the second time I have stayed at the Windsor recently, I booked both times through late rooms.com and both times got the same room. The size of the room was great, quality less so. The room was tired looking in comparison to the reception and restaurant. It was sad really, I have very fond memories of this hotel as I stayed there for my wedding 11years ago. Although it was clean, the carpets were warn, wallpaper peeling off the wall, grout in bathroom was black and the room had a very distinct 'old' smell to it. If you compare to a premier inn for a similar price I know where I'd prefer to stay. Note staff were lovely. But when I complained about the noise from the room above... Lets just say it was a 'couple' and I was staying with my 7 year old daughter, not a lot if sleep between 2am&5am both nights, the response was less than satisfactory. The receptionist was more interested in seeing 'who' the couple were instead of apologising for my disrupted stay. I would imagine that this room is only available to those that book a family room via late rooms.com as the price saving was really high, I would be very very upset if I'd paid the advertised full price that was quoted. As it happened it was the only hotel room available at the short notice that I need to book. On a positive, staff friendly and the breakfast was delicious, can't complain about the quality of the food at all.

Reviewed by
karen greenwood

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the windsor is perfect for a budget family break. the staff are friendly & made us very welcome
The staff at the Windsor were so friendly and chatty and we will definitely stay there again.
Our family room was big and we felt comfortable staying with two small children.

Reviewed by
rebecca Coxall

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for what we wanted
We only live about 4 or 5 miles away but after a night out in nearby Tynemouth we decided to stay at the Windsor as a taxi home would have been around £20 which is half of what we paid for our room. The 2 members of staff we met were very helpful and friendly, the room was great and very quiet, even at night. The bathroom was super clean and the shower was excellent!
Can't complain about anything at all, especially for £40!!

Reviewed by
Heath B

From Seaton Delaval, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always a good place
I have stayed here many times in the past but not for the last 10 years. It is still as good now as it was then. We were only there for one night and did not have time to try the breakfast, but we were very pleased with the room.

Reviewed by
Kenneth C

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting relatives
We stayed at The Windsor on a visit to see relatives the staff were all very friendly and helpful.Our room had a view of the sea and the nearby Saint Mary's Lighthouse the room itself was an excellent size and the bed comfortable .The only fault really being that the carpets are somewhat threadbare in places but it did not spoil the stay .We had a drink in the bar which was very quiet but then it was a Sunday in December . the breakfast was served in the restaurant which was very light and airy.We will use this hotel next time we visit relatives in the area

Reviewed by
Diane R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
we really enjoyed our stay here . Although the one pillow and bouncy bed made it hard work to sleep the first night. The staff were helpful thougand although we didn't try it the evening meal option looked good. we had the breakfast and it was good.

Reviewed by
a cox

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next