Reviews - Windsor Hotel


41-43 South Parade, Whitley Bay, NE26 2RF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (48)

58% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • b mottram

  • September 2014

this hotel was and is disgraceful

The hotel needs updating, cleaning and a manager that is customer focused.

We stayed in a room for a night and got no sleep due to the nightclub right in front of the hotel. When we complained they were not interested and we left but didnt stay our 2nd night. Asked for a refund and was declined and told to send an email to mgr. He still hasnt responded. Do not stay here its an absolute mess, carpets full of holes, tired and needs totally updating. Not even a 2 star. Needs reassessing.

  • S Myles-Wilson

  • September 2014

Suitable hotel but disappointing service.

The hotel was suitable for the price paid, however, only having a tea bag, a sachet of coffee and enough milk for two drinks per person is not sufficient considering booking in is from 1pm and booking out is 11am the next morning.

Breakfast was a big disappointment as it was dry and looked liked it had been pre-cooked and heated when ordered. The grilled tomato was too difficult to cut. It was so shameful to see the bin in the restaurant was falling to bits and also the tubs in which the cereal is stored were ill fitted and caused spillage. If these issues were rectified it would be a good place to stay.

  • Nick W

  • September 2014

Comfortable and spacious

The hotel reception was very pleasant and the room we stayed in was very spacious.

I found it comfortable and clean, although it has more of a B&B feel than a hotel. A continental breakfast was included and the staff very helpful. Parking was very easy and it is very close to the seafront

Overall, I am very satisfied with the choice of hotel.

  • P Cottam

  • August 2014

the hotel was very good and clean we had a large room at the very far end of the hotel no wifi anoye

Apart from the wifi not working it was fine.

  • Donna G

  • August 2014

All the employees at the Windsor were really friendly and made myself and my daughter feel really welcome.

It's an excellent place to stay if you have young children. My only negative point is that our room wasn't clean. But as soon as staff were made aware it was cleaned immediately although I feel they should have noticed the mess before putting someone in the room.

  • Vivian C

  • June 2014

Hotel is in a great spot near to the waterfront.

It is quite in need of a makeover. The staff are very friendly and attempt to be accommodating. The 1st room we were assigned was horrible.......huge stains all over the carpet, toilet hard to flush and phone not working. The second room was better and had a large newish bathroom. The noise from the street was was like Mardi Gras from 1am to well as noise in the hallway from people returning from the bars.....not a chance of trying to get any sleep. Breakfast would have been great if it wasn't swimming in grease.

  • j reid

  • June 2014

Good value

We stayed in room 62.

It was clean enough just very small and in need if a kick of paint!

  • Mauro M

  • May 2014

The area the hotel is in is full of clubs and bars - thankfully we were there on a sunday and as such there wasnt much noise.

The rooms are ok - basic and tidy and clean although the decoration needs a bit of maintenance.

  • r ward

  • May 2014

one night stay over for night out in tynemouth

you get what you pay for For the price we paid for the room we were very surprised at the amenities and the service provided by the staff who were very friendly and helpful arranging taxi's for us.

The only down side for us was the fact we booked room only so had to pay extra for the breakfast which at £8.50 each was a bit expensive for what was a small ( but very tasty)English breakfast,

but as I stated at the beginning you get what you pay for.

  • J Knight

  • May 2014

Cheap, basic but too noisy

For £50 via late rooms we didn't expect a great deal of quality, the room was of a decent size and clean.

Staff were polite and very helpful and breakfast was ok. The main problem was other guests, creaky floorboards in the corridor, rowdy passers by outside were not muffled by the double glazing nor were the drunken stag, hen and student party goers along the corridor in the early hours. If you're a light sleeper and not enjoying the night life yourself I'd give this one a miss on a weekend. Can't fault the accommodation or the service for the money but not a restful hotel.