No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The King's Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Thirlmere , Keswick, CA12 4TN
A former 17th Century coaching inn situated at the foot of Helvellyn in the heart of The Lake District, The Kings Head Hotel & Inn is surrounded by spectacular scenery with unsurpassed views toward St. Johns in the Vale, Blencathra and Skiddaw. With award winning food served in two individual restaurants, residents lounge, bar lounge and individually furnished rooms, The Kings offers a traditional base from which to explore this wonderful region.

Well behaved dogs allowed at the charge of £15 per pet for the duration of your stay.
Picture of The King's Head, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the first time I've stayed at the Kings Head and I would stay again. The hotel is an old building with some problems, creaking floor boards and not much sound insulation between rooms, for example. On the nights I stayed this was not a problem as everything became quiet by 11pm. The hotel is situated on main road but again traffic noise was not a problem overnight.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel full of old fashioned charm.
From the moment you enter the hotel you feel welcomed by staff and atmosphere. The room was clean, well furnished. The bouncy floor adds to the character!
Food was good and plentiful.
Staff were helpful and always to hand.
A lovely night in the lakes, thank you to everyone there.

Reviewed by
Suzanne H

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Allocated room 6 , floor lying at severe angle as was the bed , should have supplied climbing ropes to prevent us from rolling out of bed , but it is a really old building so no way you can fix this , staff very nice and attentive , evening meal and breakfast very nice , all in all value for money , just wish I had a better room

Reviewed by
m wells

From chester le street, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break near Thirlmere
If you just want a basic B & B as a base to explore the Lakes this place is fine if you can get a good late rooms deal or similar. If however you've paid full price for a room here I think you'll be disappointed. Carpets are thread bare and the interior has a tired look. Service was variable at times. Reception is usually doubling as bar staff or waiting on so its sometimes difficult to find anyone. Staff were friendly and polite and the food was good. Twin room was a little small and bathroom steamed up as there was no extractor and no external window to open. I would go back but only if the price was right.

Reviewed by
Ralph Lilley

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, acceptable, economical, well-located. Got what I booked for!

Reviewed by
Neil P

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great position but some road noise , would like a bath and full size double bed

Reviewed by
graeme m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

King's Head Thirlspot, Thirlmere
I booked the room at short notice and it was advertised as £60 reduced to £40. As I was looking for a single room this seemed like a good option. The location was very pleasant (it is on an A-road but there isn't much traffic). The reception was friendly enough. Though I had booked a single room it was in fact a double, but really quite small with a very cramped bathroom. The bathroom had no window and the fan did not appear to work. There was an odd smell to the room and this I think was damp because when it rained there was a leak by the window, and later even a tiny bit over the bed (I moved to the other side). I reported this, and they followed it up with a roofer while I was there. On the positive side, the food appeared to be "pubby" but was in fact really rather good; the portions were man-sized and so on the second night i found a starter was sufficient on its own. It was a bit of a cheek letting the room at such short notice when surely they must have known about the leak, but as it was only £40 a night including a big breakfast, it was still not bad value. OK for me on this occasion, but I wouldn't recommend it to others on account of the leaky roof. On a different note, packed lunches can be ordered but don't expect to make an early start: breakfast doesn't start until 08:15 and they don't start making the packed lunches until breakfast is over at 09:30.

Reviewed by
Deborah Cox

From Hungerford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for Hellvelyn, friendly staff, good breakfast - pity about the beds
Hotel is just off main road so can be a little noisy with traffic but is direct access onto mountain, with own parking so reasonable trade. Staff friendly during our 2 night stay and excellent breakfast and reasonably priced bar food. Room really let it down for. £ 100/ night could not swing a cat in either room or shower room. Bed had springs poking through in mattress , really poor. Accommodation really tired (although perfectly clean) and in need of a serious makeover .

Reviewed by
Stuart W

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel beautiful settings
The hotel could do with a little bit of tlc but our experience was very enjoyable the staff were very welcoming and warm I would deftnetley use this hotel again good value for money.and in a beautiful setting

Reviewed by
Edward Brooks

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good shower
Good room, food and location. Very powerful shower! :)

Reviewed by
M farrer

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next