No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The King's Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Thirlmere , Keswick, CA12 4TN
A former 17th Century coaching inn situated at the foot of Helvellyn in the heart of The Lake District, The Kings Head Hotel & Inn is surrounded by spectacular scenery with unsurpassed views toward St. Johns in the Vale, Blencathra and Skiddaw. With award winning food served in two individual restaurants, residents lounge, bar lounge and individually furnished rooms, The Kings offers a traditional base from which to explore this wonderful region.

Well behaved dogs allowed at the charge of £15 per pet for the duration of your stay.
Picture of The King's Head, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Favourite place for a Lake District escape!
This is the second time I have stayed at the Kings Head now and I could not recommend it more! Great value for money with cosy and clean rooms. The hospitality is first class - nothing is ever too much and you are very well looked after. Breakfast and evening meals have a wide choice on offer which are plated up lovely and taste great - fantastic if your off walking for the whole day in the Lakes. The Kings Head is situated in a great place also.. 10 miles from Keswick and 10 - 30 miles to Grasmere, Ambleside and Windermere - excellent for exploring!

Reviewed by
W Woof

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 day stay
Accommodation is very old and dated. I stayed in room 7 very small. Bed was good. Toilet was very compact, have to sit side saddle if you have a left leg. Strange smell in room gsd to leave window open. Breakfast was very good and service excellent.

Reviewed by
Chris D

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected
The room was very small with a tiny bathroom. If the windows had been double glazed the road noise would have been considerably reduced. Unfortunately the partition wall between our room and the next was very thin which did not keep out the heavy snoring which kept us awake most of the night! The evening meal took an hour to get to us and seamed as if there was only one person who had a clue what was going on and had any awareness of people waiting for there meal to turn up. For what it cost we will not be repeating the experience .

Reviewed by
Michael Maddock

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The bedroom could do with updating for example there was no plug socket near the kettle and the bed was not comfortable however for the price paid it was perfectly adequate. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
J Hatton

From Rowlands Gill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to Stay
Overnight stay - staff almost all very friendly and helpful. Ate in the bar - excelllent food, including an olive starter that was served as a main course - delicious. Breakfast also good.

Reviewed by
Ted T

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the first time I've stayed at the Kings Head and I would stay again. The hotel is an old building with some problems, creaking floor boards and not much sound insulation between rooms, for example. On the nights I stayed this was not a problem as everything became quiet by 11pm. The hotel is situated on main road but again traffic noise was not a problem overnight.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel full of old fashioned charm.
From the moment you enter the hotel you feel welcomed by staff and atmosphere. The room was clean, well furnished. The bouncy floor adds to the character!
Food was good and plentiful.
Staff were helpful and always to hand.
A lovely night in the lakes, thank you to everyone there.

Reviewed by
Suzanne H

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Allocated room 6 , floor lying at severe angle as was the bed , should have supplied climbing ropes to prevent us from rolling out of bed , but it is a really old building so no way you can fix this , staff very nice and attentive , evening meal and breakfast very nice , all in all value for money , just wish I had a better room

Reviewed by
m wells

From chester le street, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break near Thirlmere
If you just want a basic B & B as a base to explore the Lakes this place is fine if you can get a good late rooms deal or similar. If however you've paid full price for a room here I think you'll be disappointed. Carpets are thread bare and the interior has a tired look. Service was variable at times. Reception is usually doubling as bar staff or waiting on so its sometimes difficult to find anyone. Staff were friendly and polite and the food was good. Twin room was a little small and bathroom steamed up as there was no extractor and no external window to open. I would go back but only if the price was right.

Reviewed by
Ralph Lilley

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, acceptable, economical, well-located. Got what I booked for!

Reviewed by
Neil P

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next