No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The King's Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Thirlmere , Keswick, CA12 4TN
A former 17th Century coaching inn situated at the foot of Helvellyn in the heart of The Lake District, The Kings Head Hotel & Inn is surrounded by spectacular scenery with unsurpassed views toward St. Johns in the Vale, Blencathra and Skiddaw. With award winning food served in two individual restaurants, residents lounge, bar lounge and individually furnished rooms, The Kings offers a traditional base from which to explore this wonderful region.

Well behaved dogs allowed at the charge of £15 per pet for the duration of your stay.
Picture of The King's Head, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely rest!
Used this lovely hotel whilst doing a couple of days walking in the area. Staff were friendly and helpful, facilities were authentic and altogether a great place for a quick one night stay and a breakfast to get me ready for the day's walk.

Reviewed by
Joe webb

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we celebrated our Anniversary plus my husbands Birthday all went very well and we
had a very good stay in the lakes in the Kings head Hotel.we would certainly go again.

Reviewed by
Christine R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasant
A very Pleasant stay at the Kings Head, Staff were very professional and courteous and nothing was a problem to them to make out stay enjoyable. Only downside was listed on the Late Rooms site the room was described as having a bath which it did not, but not the hotels fault, I would imagine this is down to the site itself.

Reviewed by
Stu G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem!
A truly lovely stay. Could not have been better!

Reviewed by
Katy S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location
Fantastic value for money

Reviewed by
G Harvey

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as last time!
We have stayed at this Lakeland pub/hotel many times. Staff are usually very friendly and we like the traditional feel. However our room this time was really not great. We stayed in Number 5, it was extremely small and cramped. The kettle was situated under the TV, which seemed a little dangerous when steaming! There was only one free plug socket which was very difficult to get to behind TV and a chest of drawers and this was also the one needed for kettle. The light was so bad I could not see in the dressing table mirror. Moving around the bedroom was difficult without stubbing your toe on bed or wardrobe. It would be more suited as a single room. Décor around the pub has been improved and we noticed that the lounge had been spruced up a bit. Food in the dining room bar was as good as ever. Breakfast was ok. But staff seemed a little bit off the ball. Needed asking for cereal bowls and juice to be topped up. One morning we were shown to a table which was set for dinner in the window. Instead of moving crockery for us, we were expected to shift ourselves and our cereal and drinks to another table. Not really acceptable or customer friendly. Very disappointed as we are regular customers. We did not complain as we had been given a voucher for part payment of our trip as a present from our daughter. But I think our latest experience has put us off staying here again.

Reviewed by
a orr

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real hotel at a great price
Comfortable and cozy traditional Lake District hotel, feels historic and full of character. Evening menu good value and very tasty, excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
2 rooms and a dog , the food was great. The room was great and the staff were great especially Dave whose knowledge of the surrounding area was amazing . Overall would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
gary hales

From gerrards cross, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
The Hotel staff were very friendly and the room was very nice. The best part of the stay was the food and the fact that we could take our dog into the bar while we ate. The staff set up our breakfast in the lounge area so we didn't have to leave the dog. The food was good we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
david s

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed the Hotel and the food would stay again at this Hotel

Reviewed by
ALLAN TODD

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next