No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The King's Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Thirlmere , Keswick, CA12 4TN
A former 17th Century coaching inn situated at the foot of Helvellyn in the heart of The Lake District, The Kings Head Hotel & Inn is surrounded by spectacular scenery with unsurpassed views toward St. Johns in the Vale, Blencathra and Skiddaw. With award winning food served in two individual restaurants, residents lounge, bar lounge and individually furnished rooms, The Kings offers a traditional base from which to explore this wonderful region.

Well behaved dogs allowed at the charge of £15 per pet for the duration of your stay.
Picture of The King's Head, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 121 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic little retreat and great value for money
I used the Kings Head for a walking break. I cannot fault the place for value for money. The food was excellent and was ready less than 10 minutes after ordering. The room I stayed in was absolutely fine and represented great value for money. Would I return? without doubt.
Many thanks.

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Barton On Humber, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation; room good but en-suite cramped, have to leave door open to use sink and toilet was so close to sink pedestal you had to ride side saddle!!. Extractor didn't work. Kettle in room was faulty.

Reviewed by
Derek N

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The King's Head
A nice friendly hotel for those on a budget.

Reviewed by
K Lewis

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent pre Christmas break
Stayed for 3 nights, including xmas eve.
Staff very helpful and food of a high standard.

Reviewed by
Nik P

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The King's Head
Decent hotel but age certainly shows.

Reviewed by
K Mcewan

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Despite the very short time I spent at the hotel I was made to feel very welcome and the accomodation was very comfortable and relaxing. Perfecrly poised away from the hustle and bustle of city life with all you need for a relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Lovely place to stay, food is excellent.

Reviewed by
G Prytherch

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely rest!
Used this lovely hotel whilst doing a couple of days walking in the area. Staff were friendly and helpful, facilities were authentic and altogether a great place for a quick one night stay and a breakfast to get me ready for the day's walk.

Reviewed by
Joe webb

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we celebrated our Anniversary plus my husbands Birthday all went very well and we
had a very good stay in the lakes in the Kings head Hotel.we would certainly go again.

Reviewed by
Christine R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasant
A very Pleasant stay at the Kings Head, Staff were very professional and courteous and nothing was a problem to them to make out stay enjoyable. Only downside was listed on the Late Rooms site the room was described as having a bath which it did not, but not the hotels fault, I would imagine this is down to the site itself.

Reviewed by
Stu G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next