Best Western Shap Wells Hotel

3

Shap, Penrith, CA10 3QU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (50)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Philip P

  • April 2015

Great place, friendly staff

  • david forshaw

  • April 2015

great hotel in a lovely position

excellent hotel all staff were very helpful and pleasant.

only one slight complaint and that was we found the room a little small but otherwise everything else was great on our stay.

  • R Evans

  • April 2015

Lovely, rural retreat

This hotel really is secluded.

It was very quiet, apart from the birds singing and a few sheep. There are walks right on site where you can see red squirrels and pheasants or sit by the waterfalls and admire the surroundings. The views are fantastic. The room was adequate for two of us. It was clean with tea and coffee supplied. The menu seemed a little pricey so we didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was splendid. There was a generous selection of cooked items, pastries, drinks, cereals, fruit and porridge. The staff were extremely helpful and seemed knowledgeable about the local area.

  • Tom H

  • April 2015

no complaints, friendly service...

Nice place, super views, we had a great stay, despite the usual collection of chavs that form an unfortunate consequence of the hotel dropping its prices for such special deal periods.

Aside from the morbidly obese couple returning for full english breakfast buffet three times, forming serious visual pollution in the breakfast restaurant, everything else was very pleasant.

  • k fish

  • March 2015

Well worth a visit

Our stay was very good.

The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Bed was very comfy and nice décor. We paid £64 per night which I thought was good. I am not so sure I would have paid £118 per night as was advertised. I would have expected better refreshments in the room, maybe some biscuit etc for that price.

  • Henry G

  • March 2015

Hideaway

We have been before and I love that the hotel is nestled in the wilds, we had a basic but nice room unfortunately someone had left a little suprise in the bathroom

  • D Roberts

  • September 2014

My wife and I made this last minute booking travelling from Scotland to London.

Firstly we were given a disabled room, no bath just a very short shower which I did not fit under. There was a wedding on at the hotel and hotel guests could not use the restaurant and were not allowed to eat in the bar. We had to eat in a small lounge which had a large tv, akin to a hospital waiting room, which on top of everything else was freezing. Appalling bar food. I have never stayed in a Best Western before and will not again.

  • C Williams

  • September 2014

cathie's comments

The room was very nice, had a four poster bed mattress was hard, was only staying one night so could cope with it.

If I had been staying for longer I would have complained.

  • Henry G

  • September 2014

Quiet Break

Lovely Hotel in a cracking spot, will use again.

  • paul w

  • August 2014

holiday break in shap

lovely hotel,staff very friendly,would recommend to anyone.