No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Shap Wells Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Shap, Penrith, CA10 3QU
Nestled within a secluded valley high in the Cumbrian Fells, yet only minutes from the M6, The BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel is a comfortable and traditional hotel offering high standards of service in a friendly and attentive atmosphere and is the perfect spot from which to explore the Lake District, Yorkshire Fells and Border Country. Arrival at the hotel begins with a mile long drive along a private road, with breathtaking and rugged scenery in every direction, sheep and cattle along the way, a pretty waterfall, and a trickling stream running by the front door. Whatever your ideal activity, be it long strenuous walks or gentle strolls, you will experience the peace and serenity of breaking free from the madding crowd and return to a warm welcome and comfortable surroundings. For our business guests we offer a fully equipped business centre with 7 meeting rooms to accommodate from 8 to 180, in addition to our Birkbeck Restaurant, which is ideal for larger groups. With ample free parking, outstanding views and the space and tranquility that the rural surroundings provide, our guests return to us time after time. The hotel will be closed January 4 - 26, 2013.
Picture of Best Western Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived at 10pm on a Friday for an overnight stay. We checked in and asked could we still get some food, which the receptionist went and asked the chef. Thankfully he said yes, we had sandwiches and a portion of fries which was very good. Bar staff were very pleasant. The hotel itself is in a very quiet location down a long single track road. Our room was satisfactory although my bedside cupboard had a dead spider amongst the dust and hair on it :( the bed was very hard and uncomfortable for both myself and partner and pillows very lumpy. Bath room was clean and shower was good. Breakfast was very good although the elderly gentleman waiter who brought our coffee over, did not engage when we thanked him and said good morning! !

Reviewed by
S Potter

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accommodation but a bit far from the Lakes
The hotel was great in a very scenic location but if you are planning to visit the Lakes bare in mind that it takes about 35 to 40 minutes to reach Windermere.

Reviewed by
Petros M

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet location, central to the lakes
we had a very lovely stay here, the hotels location was brilliant for us very central to all locations we visited over our 5day stay. We especially loved being able to see 6/7 squirels just up the path from the carpark.our room was always clean, the bathroom was dated but we did not mind this as the decor was in keeping with the hotel and it would be a major project if they started redecorating. We had mixed feelings about the staff, in general they were helpful, the breakfast staff were friendly and Jade who works on reception and had only just started with the hotel was extreamly helpful and she really made us feel welcome throughout our stay and it was lovely chatting with her after her shift as we are a young couple and the age of the guests are typically alot older. We did have a few concerns regarding a couple of the staff members not doing their job very well and also carrying on in an inappropriate manner.This was reported to the on duty manager upon checkout who seemed concerned but we did not actually get a sorry and we did think they may have taken some personal details from us so that we could get a follow up about this but unfortunatly this did not happen.We have stayed at several best western hotels including abroad and understand they are privately owned so they all have their own ways of dealing with complaints but this may need to be worked on at this hotel. In general we had a very pleasant stay although msny guests did talk to us about the good deal they got, we thougt we had a good deal until we found out a couple local to us had booked up for two nights bed and breakfast for 15pound less a night than us and we did not get breakfast..we think overall with a few improvements this hotel is in a good location for exploring the lakes and we loved how there was a quiet bar area away from the evening entertainment which did not interest us so we did appreciate te seperate room.we also had a lovely little stream outside our room which was lovely to wake up to the noise of the water,and our bed was very comfy all in all we had a brilliant trip away.

Reviewed by
mark f

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shap Wells retreat
Love this Hotel and staff extremely friendly.Stay there regularly and recommend to many

Reviewed by
Alison Pearson

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only disapointing thing was paid £10.00 for my dog and was not any bowls in the room for water or food

Reviewed by
j mavin

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
Average hotel, very dated, rooms big, beds comfy. Bathroom very dated and not that clean (pube found on the side of the bath!)
5 couples staying in this hotel, 1 in the bath house, rooms were apparently freezing, we were in main part and rooms very hot. 1 room shower not working, overall thoughts dated, rooms abit dirty but breakfast nice.

Reviewed by
J rowlands

From Hilton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unexpectedly lovely location
We saw this as a functional stop off en route to Scotland. It turned out to be much more. A very slightly shabby but still elegant building in a beautiful remote countryside location. Peaceful & welcoming. Lovely friendly receptionist. They feed the local red squirrels every morning & we were lucky enough to see 3. Very good value for money, we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Mike R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Booked as a last minute. The hotel is hard to find (ignore your sat nav). It is set in some beautiful grounds with some lovely walks, we saw a red squirrel! The facilities are good and the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and a good size. The food was a little disappointing.

Reviewed by
Tim p

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous location. Immaculate grounds. Lots of character in the public areas. A real find. We have never been to this part of the Lakes before. We will certainly be back.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heating
The hotel & staff were very nice ,one small gripe the room was very warm nowhere to turn heating
down

Reviewed by
A Porter

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next