Reviews - Mercure Hull Royal Hotel


170 Ferensway, East Yorkshire, HULL, HU1 3UF

Price From 164.61 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (76)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Deborah Miller

  • August 2015

Lovely hotel.

I got off the train and the hotel was right there, no running around with the suitcase. I thought the drinks were expensive either alcoholic or coffee and tea. I think you should review the price of tea and coffee.

  • Peter S

  • July 2015

Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

Lovely building, centrally located.

  • Phil Barnett

  • July 2015

1 night at Mecure Hull

Attractive public spaces but very poor bedroom and corridors.

Bedroom was small, very basic and very noisy. My bedroom directly overlooked the railway station and so needed double glazing to deaden the noise. On a hot night this then required air conditioning to cool the room. Aircon did not work and only made a loud rattling noise. Bed was placed in an odd little alcove with no space on either side of it.

Restaurant staff were baffled by my request for sauté potatoes, even though they were on the menu. I was told that my main course did not come accompanied by potatoes so I ordered said sauté spuds. But the meal did come with watery mash and along came a plate of half cooked boiled potatoes as well. Chicken breast was cooked to a hard leathery state. Dreadful. Second rate. Would not stay again.

  • Nigel D

  • July 2015


The hotel is okay for one night but wouldn't be ideal for a longer break

  • S Booth

  • March 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff , stayed on room only

  • Neill C

  • March 2015

Home town visit

Much improved since I last stayed there.

Most enjoyable.

  • H Johnson

  • March 2015

Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

I enjoyed my stay here, the room was bigger than previous times I have used the hotel and the view out across the city to the Humber was great.

It was rather noisy though and the windy nights rattled the windows somewhat. The room was spacious and very clean, the towels etc replenished daily if we wished . The bed was very comfortable and allowed for a great nights sleep. Customer service was really helpful and friendly, all queries were answered with a smile and professional advice. We had room service one night which was very quick and delivered faultlessly, the food was not too amazing though, one dish was fine but the other very bland. service at the bar was, again very friendly and the lounge area was clean and welcoming. I will definitely stay here again and also recommend it to friends and colleagues alike if they are in the area.It was a refreshing break in a relaxing, fantastically situated hotel.

  • John MALLON

  • March 2015

Visit to Hull for Presentation

Our initial room was to say the least not very good.

The complete lower half of the window had slipped out of the frame, as the frame itself was rotten through and could have fallen out and very badly injured someone, i.e., a guest or a member of staff, who should have on inspection!!!!. earlier on that day have reported that room window as being dangerous, thereby keeping the room out of service until the window had been sorted. When we reported this matter to reception, the Manager was called and we were allocated another room which was much the same as the first, i.e., very small, with one (1) towel in the bathroom. The mattress was quite comfortable. All in all, not a bad stay, but could have been better. We have used Mercure hotels prior to this in different areas, and this one has been disappointing in respect of the other hotels.

  • patrick g

  • February 2015

Enjoyable stay

The staff were very friendly and sorted out an issue with our room very quickly and also rectified a payment query very efficiently.

  • T Brooker

  • February 2015

Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

Central location.

Quiet hotel. Clean and tidy.