No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
170 Ferensway, East Yorkshire, HULL, HU1 3UF
City centre location 3 star hotel is adjacent to Hull Railway station and within easy reach of the M62 Motorway. Walking distance to local attractions such as The Deep Aquarium, St Stephens and Princes Quay Shopping Centres. The hotel is 20 miles to Humberside Airport. Free WiFi throughout and free parking to all hotel residents. On site restaurant, bar and lounge. All rooms include flatscreen TV's with Freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer.
Picture of Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, HULL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 106 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
superb hotel I the old style tradition connected right on to hull railway station-great value for money and will definitely be going back

Reviewed by
a jones

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased.
The Hotel is conveniently connected to the train station by it's back door. The Hotel is large and oldy worldy which made a pleasant change from the all the homogeneous looking budget hotels out there.
The location was perfect for a trip to Hull city centre and the room was larger than expected. The Hotel staff were very friendly and efficient and when we had a problem with using our shower, it was very quickly solved!

Reviewed by
E May

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good in part
We decided to stay at the hotel over the New Year holidays as a base for travelling around East Yorkshire. We were not disappointed overall. There were some highlights (the staff at breakfast were lovely and the executive room was spacious) but there were also some lows (why would you deliver afternoon tea without milk and scones without jam and cream) so overall we enjoyed our stay and would generally recommend the hotel for its central location.

Reviewed by
Robert J

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel , but feel a little let down
When first arriving in the royal hotel you can't help but notice the lovely reception and bar area, when booking in the receptionist was helpful and polite. All early signs seemed good until there was a problem with the fact there was a party going on in the hotel, one of there event rooms had been rented out for a New Years eve party, I can understand the fact it's New Years eve and there will be a little noise around the hotel, but listening to dance music past 2am in your room is unacceptable, I then called reception to ask them to turn it down and the answer was basically No , I then asked what time will the party go on till, there response was , when it finishes! I was offered a room change I said no because it was 1.40 am and didn't fancy moving all my bags around. unfortunately I was also at work the next day which didn't help either. I was hoping they was going to resolve my complaint and I'm hoping they still will because we was planning on coming back and staying again because apart from the 1 incident the hotel is nice, but out of principle we wouldn't.

Reviewed by
nick stones

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
The window pane was smashed, room freezing cold in December on arrival, no heater had been turned on, shower flooded first use and hotel staff repeatedly knocked on the door before 8am on a Saturday morning as this was causing a leak below, I was in the shower which then woke my boyfriend. Shower was filthy and overall quality of room was poor. States provided tea and coffee which means 1 coffee max. Hotel was very noisy as next to a nightclub with the beat literally going through our room. Informed reception staff of all of above who just said she would get maintenance to our room.

Reviewed by
Katrina M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bob
good relaxing weekend

Reviewed by
dean k

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room but shower was difficult to use

Reviewed by
L Mabbitt

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friday night at the Royal Station Hotel
Clean, comfortable, no problems at all. Traditional ambiance that I liked very much. I read Phillp Larkin's 'Friday night at the Royal Station Hotel ... just where he had written it. Fabulous. Excellent breakfast and staff there sensitive to needs of a blind person. Excellent value and convenience for a rail traveler. Wheel cases off train into hotel directly. No taxi fares. Music venues within easy walking distance as well as Old Hull, Humber and Deep.

Reviewed by
Eric Westbrook

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

recommended
Nice place to stay in very convenient location. Very close to all types of transport. Right in the city centre close to everything Hull has to offer . A weekend is not enough to see it all. The hotel is very good value for money. The staff are very nice and helpful. Food was good. Couldn't fault it really. Shall stay again.

Reviewed by
Dave W

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is extremely bad.

Reviewed by
Halil N

From Turkey
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next