No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
170 Ferensway , Hull, HU1 3UF
Hull, now proud to be City of Culture 2017 is known for its fantastic £44 million KC Stadium, home to our Premier League Football Club, Hull City, the World Famous Humber Bridge, and The Deep Aquarium.

The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city centre, connected to Hull Paragon Train and Bus Station and within easy
reach of the M62 motorway.

The hotel offers FREE on site car parking and all bedrooms are equipped with Flat screen TV’s with Freeview Channels, Tea and Coffee making facilities and FREE Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.

For our leisure guests the hotel is located next to St Stephens Shopping and Leisure Complex, Hull Truck Theatre and Hull’s Historic Old Town, everything is just a few minutes’ walk away.

For our corporate guests to the city, we are also ideally located for companies such as Reckitt Benckiser, Smith and Nephew and the BP Chemicals
Park.

We also welcome contractor bookings for long term stays; please call us for more information and prices.


Picture of Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, Hull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
Enjoyable stay could not fault

Reviewed by
J Haigh

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel Hull
The room, although small , was comfortable and adequate for one person my only criticism was that the T V was on the wall to the side of the bed and difficult to watch from the bed. As a rail traveller the location was excellent as it is part of the station complex.

Reviewed by
David C

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for money
Nice hotel. Price was better than travel lodge so it was a no brainer. Room compact but clean. Aircon was not working but staff were very helpful and provided fans. All together very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian splendour from the hey day of the railways.
The well kept and splendid public rooms really did take one back to the great days of railway hotels - but with all modern amenities including free wi-fi. Staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. My twin, en suite room, was immaculately clean and ready for occupancy before the allotted time. the view was somewhat limnited as the window looked out overthe roof of the station and platform announcements were clearly audible - but ceased at 10pm and disturbance was surprisingly minimal. My only complaint was that emanating from an unidentifiable source was the smell of stale water - I wonder if it was something to do with the guttering from the adjoining roof rather than the bathroom. Had i been staying for more than one night it would have become irritating. The cost of breakfast was not included in the price but was quite good value, service was friendly and efficient but i wish I had been told that fried eggs were available - i was most envious of the guests at the next table when two perfect looking eggs were delivered too them. Ideally located for rail travellers and easy to access the M62 the hotel was well located.

Reviewed by
G Cooper

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Room.
Lovely people, beautiful food but our bathroom was falling to pieces and the shower disintegrated while in use, burning my feet. No lock on bathroom door and the extractor fan did not work. We were given a twin room when a double had been ordered. However, the staff were great.

Reviewed by
H Stevens

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was beautiful very clean well furnished a mix of old and new the staff were the friendliest and politest we have met so far
my husband was impressed so much is planning a full week for our anniversary next year i hope the place does not change

Reviewed by
p oldfield

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome was had on arrival by a lovely Receptionist (Louise) who went out of her way to help us. Shame the chap on duty on sat night wasn't as polite...he made me feel like apologising for disturbing him and it was only 10.30pm (I also felt he needed a lesson in customer services and a personality transplant) Overall room was great, even though the air con didn't work and it was rather warm! But I can honestly say I would recommend this hotel and the lovely breakfast!!

Reviewed by
Tracy W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were excellent, room and service great value for monet

Reviewed by
B Maloney

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Underwhelmed...
Looking a bit dated in parts. Comfortable room but busy parking due to health club on site.
Shame about the cheap and nasty ("value range" at best) sausages at the expensive breakfast buffet.
The poor quality toilet paper really let's the entire place down....there can be no excuse for rubbish loo roll!
I expected a bit more quality for the price.

Reviewed by
Gerry Mansfield

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rooms
Was an amazing room just so hot my friend got married friday 20th june was amazing day xx

Reviewed by
j westmorland

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next