No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
170 Ferensway , Hull, HU1 3UF
Hull, now proud to be City of Culture 2017 is known for its fantastic £44 million KC Stadium, home to our Premier League Football Club, Hull City, the World Famous Humber Bridge, and The Deep Aquarium.

The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city centre, connected to Hull Paragon Train and Bus Station and within easy
reach of the M62 motorway.

The hotel offers FREE on site car parking and all bedrooms are equipped with Flat screen TV’s with Freeview Channels, Tea and Coffee making facilities and FREE Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.

For our leisure guests the hotel is located next to St Stephens Shopping and Leisure Complex, Hull Truck Theatre and Hull’s Historic Old Town, everything is just a few minutes’ walk away.

For our corporate guests to the city, we are also ideally located for companies such as Reckitt Benckiser, Smith and Nephew and the BP Chemicals
Park.

We also welcome contractor bookings for long term stays; please call us for more information and prices.


Picture of Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, Hull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hull Stay
Great hotel

Reviewed by
Colin B

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location for Hull city centre
Good reception, good service from staff, room was standard.
Chewing gum in carpet, cracked bathroom fixtures, very noisy environment overall. Could hear a lot of doors open and close. Guests voices audible.
Breakfast was cold and a waste.
Air conditioner would not work leaving room very stuffy.
Bodily hair on basin and bath.
Toilet roll holder disintegrated.
TV remote inoperable.

Reviewed by
D Finn

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hull derby
stay in hotel on wedding night long time ago , nice to see that it was still as charming and looked after as back then , staff very friendly and most helpful , would defintely be looking to book again when next in hull , which is quite a few times a year

Reviewed by
paul g

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travel with a 20something
I stayed at the hotel with my daughter, visiting my son. The hotel is brilliantly situated in the middle of town next to the station and the taxi rank. This enabled a lot of freedom for my daughter who wanted to go out without me.
I have stayed here several times and always found it suitable for my needs.It is unfussy and clean.
It has an eccentricity and charm of its own.
This time I was assigned a room on the station, which I know to be very noisy. The staff were very helpful and we were immediately given a quieter room.

Reviewed by
Jenny R

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Nice hotel friendly staff good breakfast, only issue was quality of Wi-Fi needs improved always losing single & very slow.

Reviewed by
james curley

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 313
We stayed in room 313 for one night only, and must say that it was one night too many! It was noisy - a constant droning (first thought it came from the trains stood in the railway station the room overlooks, and, was informed, by the man on reception, that the noise would cease when the station closed.) This was not the case. The noise was accompanied by the furniture vibrating. Not a good combination for a good night's sleep!
Would consider staying at this hotel again but definitely not in a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the railway station. It would have to be a room at the front of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Linda H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall good, room very warm air con unit in room but did not work, staff very friendly food good, deserts not so good.

Reviewed by
r hewson

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff poor hotel
The hotel staff are very nice, helpful and friendly. The hotel reception is nice, but this all changes the moment you go to the room, The first room i was given was really hot and looked very drab. The room just did not look clean. The second room i was moved to was like a prison, the room looked delapidated and old. There is nothing welcoming about the room, it was awful. I had a poor nights sleep due to all the noise above me, and the bed lined looks like it could do with a good wash.
The rooms need a complete makover to give them some life.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Hull
One of the best hotels, booking, value for money, clean, friendly, stylish, and as for the young lady at breakfast when I turned up 15 mins early at 6.15, she could have not been more helpful and friendly, a real pleasure.

Reviewed by
Michael Fraser

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
Enjoyable stay could not fault

Reviewed by
J Haigh

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next