Reviews - Lansdowne Hotel


346-348 Wilmslow Road,Fallowfield, Manchester, M14 6AB

Price From 86.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (104)

66% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Valerie I

  • September 2015

Cheap and Nasty

Lift broken, lock on room door broken, uncomfortable bed, dirt floor and carpets, noisy drunks outside during night.

Location lively but Travelodge pre-booked prices better value.

  • Harry Godfrey

  • September 2015


we booked 4 days but it was so bad we checked out after 1 and had a lot of trouble trying to get our money back

  • s sainsbury

  • September 2015

friendly service

Very friendly and helpful.

Room was basic but clean, Good powerful shower, was all you could expect form a budget hotel. Fantastic restaurant, best curry I had ever eaten and good value for money.

  • John C

  • August 2015

Manchester Function

Staff very friendly and helpful.

No breakfast option but there were plenty of places nearby to eat. Room was OK and near to a function we were attending. However the overflow in the sink was found to be not connected resulting in water being dumped on the toilet floor.

  • Samina K

  • July 2015

Budget ok

Was asked for a £10 deposit on arrival which seemed strange, however it was easily returned at the end of the stay.

The bed was very uncomfortable and the TV switched itself on in the middle of the night. The Shower had Luke warm water which wasn't great. Cheap however and good location near food places and public transport links.

  • Linda Eames

  • June 2015

Weekend away

To start with we got lost in Manchester, phoned the Lansdowne, got good directions, arrived at hotel and met Stuart on reception, made to feel very welcome, very friendly, lots of information of the area,, room very basic (but was what we expected) very clean, bed VERY comfortable, enjoyed our stay, will definitely stay again, thank you Lansdowne Hotel

  • L Elliott

  • May 2015

Staff excellent, basic but satisfactory accommodation.

The staff were all excellent, very professional, efficient and helpful.

The location of the hotel is excellent, it was really quiet but there were loads of food places and a really good pub across the road. It was really easy to get there too, only £1 on a bus which run until late at the weekend. The room was very basic, but as we were only staying for one night we were ok with this.

  • A Castano

  • April 2015

The "less worst" we could find

Too expensive for what it was; convenient location, though.


  • March 2015

No problems here.

I really had no problems with my nights stay at the Landsdowne.

I was greated by the owner who couldn`t have been more welcoming and polite. The room was basic but clean and the bed linen was also clean. For the money, I couldn`t complain and I would use the hotel again.

  • Andrew W

  • March 2015

Just needing a bed in Manchester at short notice? You might save several £££ by staying here....

The Shangri-La Tokyo it isn't, and if you are looking for exquisite fixtures and fittings in your room, look elsewhere....however, if you are looking for a great deal and a decent bed within a good distance of Manchester centre but with food and drink outlets a-plenty within a short stroll from your room, then think about this one.

At less than £25 per person per night over a weekend this was hard to beat on price. The room we had needed a facelift, especially in the bathroom, and the use of a vacuum cleaner hose to some ceilings would be good, but the bedding and towels were all very clean and fresh and the room had tea and coffee making facilities. The shower was hot and with decent water pressure. The TV was small and dated but adequate. The hotel corridor lighting could be improved but obviously meets Safety Regulations. The staff are extremely helpful, courteous and welcoming, parking is off road and free (unlike some other more well known budget hotels in Manchester). So, if you are looking for a cheap bed with pubs and eating outlets nearby, this might suit. There is a hotel bar and a hotel owned Indian vegetarian restaurant with access adjacent to the hotel Reception. Although we didn't use the restaurant, it was clearly busy and very popular over the entire weekend. The taxi into Manchester centre was £9.50 but buses also pass and stop outside/near the hotel and all go into the city centre. It's about 3.5 miles from the hotel to the Manchester Convention Complex in the city centre.