No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lansdowne Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
346-348 Wilmslow Road,Fallowfield , Manchester, M14 6AB
The Lansdowne Hotel is a low cost, budget hotel providing good accommodation at a reasonable price. We are located three miles south of Manchester City Centre in the vibrant student area of Fallowfield. Many great restaurants and pubs are within easy walking distance and we are next to the Red Rum club, which is great for a night out. The hospitals and universities are only a short bus ride away, and we are located on a main bus route with buses stopping
as frequently as every five minutes. Our location is ideal if you are working in Manchester during the week, visiting the Christie or Manchester University, or needing a place to stay after a weekend out in the city!

The Lansdowne Hotel operates a 24 hour reception where you will be greeted by our friendly staff. Our rooms are all private and en-suite with a bath or shower and colour TV. We also offer free Wi-Fi, which is accessible in our reception and lobby area . In addition we have a relaxing and
cosy bar, which is open late to hotel guests. If you are arriving by car, we offer a free secure car park which operates on a first-come, first-served basis.

Picture of Lansdowne Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and tidy hotel currently undertaking some minor renorvations though these seem to be getting done at times when guests are out so minimal inconvenience is caused.
The staff are very helpful and polite.

Reviewed by
K Milner

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolute Dump
Considering what I paid, this place was a filthy dump. Wouldn't put a scabby dog in it. Horrible experience.

Reviewed by
Lorna R

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic and a little shabby but excellent value for money. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Sally O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

where not to stay ib Manchester
They have no ability to speak to customers in a professional way. We only had one socket to charge phones laptops etc when i approached staff they said nothing could be dobe and being a electrician i kno safety requirements state that each room no matter where you are should have a minimum of two socket outlets in different positions

Reviewed by
A Faizan

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel tired but functional
First room I was given had a continuous buzzing (which could be heard over the TV) After 2 hours I asked if I could have another room. I was told the hotel was full, though fortunately I had been wrongly booked into 2 rooms. The 2nd room was OK, though realised at about 8.30pm I had no lights. I made do with the light from the TV and my mobile - knowing the hotel was full (the lights were sorted the following day) There was a lot of noise from the restaurant until about 3am on both of my nights - and then hoovering from about 5am. There was no hot water at 5am and so was unable to shower before work. I was told hot water is not 24 hour, though this hotel seems to be used by a lot of workers judging by the people I saw and the vans packed in to the small car park, so I would have expected it to run 24 hours. There is 24 hour reception.
On check in I was asked for a £10 deposit - which I did not previously know about. It wasn't a problem, though I don't always have it on me. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel looks tired and could do with some decorating, but it was functional and the menu for the restaurant looks nice, though I didn't get chance to eat there.

Reviewed by
L Fitzgerald

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Basic appearance but clean and simple. Recommend for anyone who is looking for just a night stay.

Reviewed by
William C

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manchester hotels full
Left the booking late and couldn't get into the Premier Inn type. £35 a night made me wary but it was OK. Room was clean and the bed comfortable enough. Room was still being cleaned at 3pm - not a problem that day but could have been on another. Found leaving a £10 deposit for the room key irritating, like some 1960s B&B. For £35 though couldn't complain. If you just want a bed for the night and don't suffer from Hyacinth Bucket pretensions you can't beat it really.

Reviewed by
Chris C

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
Booked into tho hotel last minute. I was working in Manchester so decided to stay overnight. For the value for money this hotel didn't disappoint.i arrived and checked In quickly.
The room was very clean and tidy. Basic but I that's what I expected for the price. The room was en suite had a tv and wifi.
Overall a great stay and I would stay again.

Reviewed by
W Hemsley

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor standard of cleanliness
I was travelling with family for a stag night, we booked several single rooms. None of us were happy with our rooms, the standard of cleanliness was way below what could reasonably be expected. I normally book Travelodge rooms, where for around £25-30 I can get a clean double room. This room cost £35 for a single. We only chose this hotel because of the price (our stag night clashed with a concert so all the Travelodge hotels were either fully booked or £120+)
In my room, the carpet had wet stains on it, and when I pulled back the (mouldy) shower curtain, I saw hairs sticking to the walls of the shower. I took photos as evidence.
To be fair, the single bed was comfy and the sheets were crisp and clean, so if you're not planning on using the bathroom, then you might be ok, but I personally would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and Friendly
This budget hotel is great value. The staff are friendly, welcoming and very knowledgeable about the local area with great advice on where to go. We stayed overnight having dropped our daughter off at the airport (about 10-15 mins from hotel). The location was ideal with lots of bars and eating establishments in close proximity. The bus into the City Centre was just £1.
We didn't eat in the hotel's vegetarian Indian restaurant but it looked great and we would have, had we been staying longer. The bar was open late and perfect for a nightcap when we got back from town. Our room was comfortable and perfectly adequate for our needs. We would definitely recommend the Lansdowne Hotel.

Reviewed by
Pamela R

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next