No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rutland Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Palace Terrace , Douglas, IM2 4NF
One of the most elegant buildings on the Isle of Man, The Rutland is part of the Island based Sleepwell Group and has been recently transformed into a stunning 64 bedroom hotel offering comfort, style and high quality, modern accommodation to both business and leisure customers.

Offering a full range of modern facilities and accessories, The Rutland offers friendly service, great value for money and a prime location. Situated near the mountain railway on the quiet and scenic Queens Promenade in Douglas and only 5 minutes in a taxi from the ferry terminal, the property enjoys beautiful panoramic views across Douglas Bay and is only a short walk along the promenade to the town centre. The hotels own 'Restaurant 21' serves an excellent Carvery style menu in comfortable surroundings and with great views of the Douglas Bay. The hotel also features a comfortable bar and lounge, 24hr reception and serves a complimentary Breakfast full Manx Breakfast as standard within all room rates.

Please note that due to the original architectural features of our Isle of Man Hotels, they are not suitable for any guests requiring 'Wheelchair' or 'Street level access', as all have external steps to access the hotel entrance.
Picture of Rutland Hotel, Douglas at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel Shm About The Noise From The Kitchen Fans
Hotel and room where lovely, room backed on to rear of hotel and at 5:45 am was woke up by noise of kitchen extractor fans below

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
We had a wonderful room with an amazing sea view , lovely breakfast - help yourself to as much as you wanted and really pleasant helpful staff

Reviewed by
joanna r

From Ramsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You cannot get better for the money.
Really good staff, rooms and location. Get it booked !

Reviewed by
R Gee

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location on the promenade.
I have read some reviews on Trip Advisor that made the Rutland out to be in a not great location, on a hill and with poor food. Well, once we had arrived and spent out first night here then we found out that only the third of those points was true.
The location is right on the Promenade. Our room had a fantastic double bed, lovely linen, a large bathroom with a bath and even a sofa in the room. And all this with a view straight out over the sea. We were absolutely delighted by it all!
Breakfast was our biggest disappointment. The food was overcooked, boring and living up to every foreigner's expectation of British food. The coffee was over-stewed and the tea ridiculously strong.
The staff were considerate and helpful (although bad at replying to emails).
The wifi worked both in reception, as informed, and in our room as well.

Reviewed by
charles r

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TT accomodation
Positioned about 1 mile from the harbour. easy back route up to the TT paddock and pit action. Staff friendly, rooms clean and comfortable though a little too warm at times for my liking. (Could not open the windows fully for through air). Dont come back from the pub too drunk and attempt to find your room the first night via the stairs as the corridoors are a bit of a rabbit warren!! Overall a good hotel with no major problems. i would stay here again.

Reviewed by
David M

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, Great location - What's not to like?
Stayed here on a visit to IOM on TT practice weekend. Great location, decent room and excellent value for money compared to the Best Western which is just down the road. Didn't sample the breakfast (result of a killer hangover) so couldn't comment on food. Would recommend this place to to anyone visiting the IOM on business or pleasure.

Reviewed by
Howard M

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok , but no wifi in rooms
Nothing wrong with hotel, but no.WiFi in rooms is very outdated these days

Reviewed by
G Mann

From , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel ingreat location
Really couldnt have asked for more from this hotel
Centre of the seafront, free motorcyscle parking out front
good menu within resturant and breakfast was great
will stay here again

Reviewed by
ray h

From Holmfirth, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly obliging staff provided a fan as weather very hot

Reviewed by
Roy M

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Basic
Hotel was clean and provided what we paid for which was bedroom with ensuite
On arrival I asked what time breakfast was served as was catching the 8.30 ferry home.
Was told it was 7 am. this did not bother me as hotels have to have times that suit BUT when I went to my car at 6.30 am I saw that the breakfast area was open and full of old people who were also leaving early for the same ferry,
My question is Why was I not offered this. This is why I put 1 for customer service although breakfast staff were efficient.

Reviewed by
A Shaw

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next