No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Inn

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Midland Road , Derby, DE1 2SL
Hallmark Inn offers modern accommodation 2 minutes’ walk from Derby Rail Station. It has a lounge bar for guests to relax in, and offers free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. The rooms all have their own bathroom, and offer a 32-inch flat-screen TV with Freeview channels. Each also has a seating area and facilities for making tea and coffee. View our Alton Towers package on the special offer tab.
Hallmark Inn also features an Italian-style restaurant on site. In the morning, guests can enjoy a full English breakfast buffet.
It is a 5-minute walk from Hallmark Inn to central Derby, where there is a variety of shops and restaurants. Alton Towers theme park is around 25 miles away.
Picture of Hallmark Inn, Derby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 134 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very reasonable
A perfectly reasonable hotel offering fair value for money. My main gripe was that the loo was very hard to flush.

Reviewed by
C A B

From Ilminster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was okay
was okay

Reviewed by
S Johnston

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean, friendly and convenient - would definitely stay here again.
An excellent value hotel. We stayed with our toddler (22 months). I was pleased with the size of the room which at no point felt crowded with the three of us. Lots of storage space in the entryway with sturdy coathangers. The bed was a little too firm for my preference but we slept well. My daughter's travel cot needed another layer of padding to be comfortable but this was easily remedied with the addition of the bedspread-thing doubled over and laid between the sheet and the mattress). We arrived after midnight and were let in by the night porter who advised us to book breakfast the night before to save £2.50 per head. He also helped us with our bags. Breakfast the next day was delicious and fresh. The staff are friendly and professional. My only "niggles" would be the talking lift which we could hear faintly sometimes during the night (we were in a room two doors away), the occasional late-night revellers chatting on the way back to their rooms and the slightly tricky parking (the parking area seems to be used for the restaurant as well, so it was full when we returned after a day out, but there is a pay-and-display parking area opposite which is free after 8pm, so this wasn't a big problem). There is masses to do in Derby and the surrounding area. We can't wait to come again.

Reviewed by
Gillian A

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay shame about some rowdy in considerate guests a few doors away
Nice hotel if not a little tired in places could do with a refurbishment. It is in a good location about a ten minute walk from the town. What spoilt our stay were rowdy inconsiderate guests a few doors away, shouting, playing loud music,banging doors, knocking on doors this was at midnight. They then retuned about 4am with a repeat performance. We did here the Manager knock on a couple of times with a warning. But these people should have been asked to and banned for any future visits. The Italian restaurant next door is must, excellent food, big portions, we could not eat it all, wonderful atmosphere and staff.

Reviewed by
Lynne D

From newcastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Because of a medical condition I have, I fell in the bathroom and broke my nose x blacked my eyes. The staff were fantastic, the first aider was promptly summoned from their sister hotel. Yvonne was superb, she cleaned me up in a calm x cool manor. She assured me that the blood that was all over my bedroom would not be a problems because it was an accident. I was a little bit disappointed with their medical kit, it had many things missing from it. A very kind waitress brought along her first aid kit from he car, using her own possessions to treat me. The staff I encounted could not have done anymore. I'm very grateful to these two ladies in particular. Many thanks to them.

Reviewed by
Kathleen Halton

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just a small break
WE had previously stayed at the Hallmark hotel and I thought I had booked there again . The Hallmark in is just across the road with better parking . We were originally given a room on the second floor as far away from the lift as possible. I stated I wasn't to good at walking. We stood on the second floor and a employee came and asked if we had a problem, We told her and she went straight down and changed our room to the floor below many thanks. The hotel opposite 15 yards away gave us 10% off a meal .I had best steak I have had for ages . Breakfast was good at the hotel but the staff were very slow in clearing used tables . The room was comfy with space. the shower over bath had a hand rail which again was helpful . For a large person the toilet was low and sited very close to the wall . Overall very good.

Reviewed by
R Frost

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay very helpful staff

Reviewed by
C SINCOCK

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Found this hotel on Late Rooms .com at a reasonable price, when turning up at hotel got booked in with no trouble at all. The room was very comfortable and clean, everything you needed in it also.
Took full advantage of the nice sized bath for a heavenly soak, could not fault a thing....except the couple in the nxt room decided to have a full blown domestic early hours...how in considerate some people are!!!! But never the less I would gladly stay at this hotel again. Thank you Hallmark Inn Derby.

Reviewed by
Janet J

From Moreton in Marsh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprise Family Party
We really enjoyed our stay here as nothing was too much trouble & we were changed to a disabled room on arrival which was a lovely spacious room with lots of storage especially if staying longer than a weekend,we even had a fan on request & top marks for having the ice cold water machines located on each floor.
My only issue is when booking on line, that there never seems to be a prevision made for being able to book a disabled room, plenty of other room options & the special request section which I find most hotels never read but you can never actually be sure of a disabled room until you arrive & the answer is usually no more available. So Hallmark Inn please, please just spare a thought as to how much easier it would be from a disabled traveller & carers point of view, knowing that we have a disabled room that we can book ahead of our arrival & others may just follow in your footsteps.
Many Thanks

Reviewed by
s maplesden

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

QualityQuality Quality
What a great place.Great Smile on arrival,Booking in quick and efficient. Room was excellent and i ask for extra coffee and milk during my stay and given the requested items straight away.Evening meal purchased during my stay was above expectations and reasonably prices £23 for drink/starter/main and desert. Will stay here again without question.

Reviewed by
Phil H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next