Reviews - Ramside Hall Hotel and Golf


Carrville, DURHAM, DH1 1TD

Price From 248.11 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (42)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Naylor

  • October 2015

Loved the spa!

We arrived to a wonderful reception.

The staff were excellent. The room we booked was a double deluxe room. When we entered we were very disappointed with the room. It was small with mismatched furniture. We requested a different room offering to pay more for a better type of room. The reception staff were excellent in accommodating our request. We moved to a room on the top floor which was the same type but immediately much better. The bathroom was beautiful and the room was more spacious and the decor was beautiful. We enjoyed a fantastic meal In the rib room. The food and drinks were very expensive. The new spa was very indulgent. We had to pay to use the spa as extra but it was worth it.

  • anthony palmer

  • October 2015

Superb as usual

I have stayed at the Ramside about 10 times now and the experience seems to get better each time.

Friendly chatty efficient staff on reception, comfortable well-appointed rooms with comfy beds, crisp bedding, thick deep towels and even the fittings are first class right down to the designer mugs for Tea & Coffee. A customer joined me for the evening and we enjoyed a nice pint of real ale (choice of 3 in a hotel!) at the bar followed by a superb meal in the new Thai restaurant and finished by a reasonably priced malt whisky served a by a young man whose knowledge of the number of malts on offer was very good. Parked outside the reception was a beautiful new Bentley with a private number plate ‘RAM…’ I am assuming owned by whoever runs the Ramside and in my opinion extremely well earned.

  • Chris M

  • July 2015

Great location

A very comfortable hotel.

The service was excellent with a very wholesome breaKfast. Dinners were average .

  • Nigel J

  • April 2015


Tired and ageing hotel.

Room looked over building site. We asked to be moved and we were but we should have been allocated room as hotel wasn't full. Breakfast good but staff were woeful

  • Anna B

  • April 2015

Nice people poor experience!!!

Breakfast was awful.

We went down at 9.35 and it was nearly over. No plates/ bowls / juice. Food cold and staff all stood round chatting. No offer of tea or coffee - shame as the reception staff were great, friendly and accommodating. Diggers outside our room at 8am on a Saturday morning also poor and not stated on the website!!!!

  • M Casey

  • March 2015

Rooms lovely food not so

our room was absolutely fab.

nothing to fault whatsoever however there is not much choice on the food in the rib and grill other than that there is a carvery which was not to my taste as it maybe for others. we paid extra for the breakfast which for the price of our room 165 I would of thought it would be included but paying for breakfast took the cost to 190.98 which was not worth it as was not so nice.

  • Adam L

  • March 2015


Happily catered for me being vegan.

  • Bernardette Moore

  • January 2015

excellent hotel

I have never received such excellent service, I am sight impared & they removed any furniture from room that I could fall over, ensured I had a walk in shower !.

the food was very good value & so well cooked. bar staff friendly & had a good rapport, in fact all the staff were so helpful & friendly.

  • H Gormley

  • December 2014

Christmas break

Met up with friends from the U.S.

had a fantastic time, delux room was excellent, over looking the golf course, staff very friendly & helpful, had a birthday cake made for my son which was amazing. All in all a great time in fantastic surroundings, can't wait to go back.

  • Ian L

  • December 2014

Flatters to Deceive

This is a lovely hotel in a convenient location, the service and food were excellent, though some items are more pricey than elsewhere.

In December 2014 the photos of the hotel on the internet flattered, but the reality is the hotel complex is being extended, so if you had a room facing the front of the building your view was a building site, but if you were lucky enough to get a room facing the back, the views were of the golf course, lake and the wildlife, which was excellent. Yes, I would recommend the hotel.