No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Chilworth , Southampton, SO16 7PT
Snuggly set in 12 acres of beautiful landscaped grounds and enveloped by peaceful surroundings, BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor is the perfect setting for Weddings, Conferences or for a relaxing Spa break on the South Coast. Just north of Southampton City Centre, we offer a tranquil getaway for guests, who might find it hard to believe that we're just a few minutes' drive from both the M3 and M27. The hotel is also a handy distance from Southampton International Airport and Southampton Parkway Rail Station for anyone who's treating themselves to the ultimate stopover en route to a holiday destination overseas (or a honeymoon to follow your big day here!). The Edwardian BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor offers charming hotel accommodation (95 bedrooms' worth!) and is designed with your needs in mind. To that end, we boast the modern conveniences for business and leisure requirements, with an exclusive Health Club taking care of your fitness fix!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3-5 Star Hotel
We had a great time staying at Chilworth Manor. While the room was a little dated (although 3* is a fair assessment), the grounds, service, facilities and dinner was more like 5* quality so we were suitably impressed.
Service - 5*
Grounds - 5*
Room - 3*
Dinner - 5* (we had a 3 course meal, all courses were amazing)
Facilities - 4* (over at the club, would have given 5* if it was in the same building)
Breakfast - 3* (although we turned up near the end of service)
Great late weekend and a bargain for what we paid.

Reviewed by
D Whatley

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice overnight stay.
We were in an old part of the Manor ,windows would not close properly but lovely heavy curtains maintained a warm cosy room,bed was comfortable.
Swimming pool and sauna /steam room were clean and working well,lovely place to relax.
All staff were attentive to our needs.

Reviewed by
Pam S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary night away
Enjoyed our one night stay. Offer was for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, special offer. Dinner was very good, quick service and cheese and biscuits were excellent (would have it again). Used Spa facilities, very good even though not actually in the hotel itself (one minute walk to TheClub). Room allocated to us was ok. Could have done with a little bit of redecoration! Bed was very comfortable though.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing Venue
Great location with excellent surrounding fascilities.
Beds need bigger pillows please.

Reviewed by
David C

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic staff
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at chilworth manor. The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
anita m

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disappointing
A large hotel with grand stature but sadly in need of refurbishment . The room was very spacious but tired and dated. I had room service which was an effort as the person on the other end of the phone had no idea. All in all if I hadn't been claiming this stay through work I would have been very unhappy.

Reviewed by
Richard L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After the party.
I chose the hotel because it was near where our work office party was held. It is a delightfully rural setting, although so close to the Southampton conurbation. The late night tea served in the hall was most welcome, and most pleasantly delivered.

Reviewed by
Nicholas H

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Only stayed 1 night but would stay again, set in beautiful grounds too.

Reviewed by
Lee Hutchison

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom left a lot to be desired
The bedroom was quite nice but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. I stayed in room 205, the bathroom door didn't shut properly, the handle on the toilet looked broken and it sound like the cistern was filling up all night, and there was mold all over the ceiling. We were literally only there for one night and we only really slept there so we didn't bother complaining.

Reviewed by
R Carter

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing food - shabby elsewhere
Having only been to Chilworth before for weddings and events etc, I was looking forward to experiencing the hotel as a guest. The room was quite a letdown, as although it was a standard room, we found things like sorely outdated decor, mildew in the bathroom, and an irritating fan or motor type noise coming from the bathroom that went on all night.
The Spa was free to use during our stay which we enjoyed - again a tiny bit run down here and there but the sauna and steam rooms were big enough and it was always quiet when we went. The jacuzzi was fantastic, gave us a good pummelling!
The food was an absolute highlight and on the Saturday night we had three delicious courses plus wine in the restaurant. Again the decor was more dining room than fancy restaurant (something I hadn't expected at Chilworth) but the food made up for it and we savoured every bite. The maitre d' was also charming.
We paid £95 for 'room only' (ie no breakfast) but this did include use of the pool etc. Overall I would say that it wasn't worth this money because the room is what we came for and it was so 90s - nothing special about it at all, faded picture on the wall, wardrobe door didn't shut properly, and that flipping noise from the bathroom! We enjoyed our stay enough, but I hope Chilworth will do some serious refurb of its standard rooms soon in order to preserve its 'cut above' reputation.

Reviewed by
Ruth K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next