No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Antelope Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
8 High Street , Poole, BH15 1BP
The Antelope Hotel Poole near Bournmouth is situated on the Quay at Poole Harbour within easy each of the busy seaside resort of Bournemouth via the A35.The Antelope Hotel has a 500+ year history, arguably the oldest inn in Poole. The deposed French King Charles X was once a guest, and it was regularly used during WWII by the Special Operations Executive, which had a ship in Poole Harbour. The Antelope Hotel is a famous old coaching house in the High Street of Poole and has been a popular meeting place through the centuries. It still retains part of its original 15th century building. Situated so conveniently for Poole Quay, the hotel was used by the horse coaches as a stop off for Lymington, Southampton, Bath, Bristol, Weymouth and London. Whatever the reason for your visit or stay at The Antelope, we can guarantee a welcoming atmosphere, delicious food, a roaring open real fire in the winter, comfortable rooms and unique relaxed style of hospitality, which makes The Antelope a favourite with locals, business people and visitors alike.
The Antelope holds Weddings and other functions on a regular basis, most often at weekend but can also be on other days of the week.
- these function will normally have music which continues until midnight. If you require a quiet room during your stay please contact the hotel direct.
Picture of Antelope Inn, Poole at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place and a warm welcome in the heart of Poole
Was a bit apprehensive when I parked the car in a not so local multi storey car park and trudged in the rain to find the hotel. Walking down the High Street the amount and seeing the mix of restaurants eased these, came to the arch and walked into a welcoming reception, they told me about their car park, gave me a pass and checked me in. My room was small but pleasant and had all I needed as a single traveller. With only stopping the one night I had a wander and ate elsewhere, can't comment on the breakfast as I had an early start but the pub was busy and the ambience was good before I ventured out. Came back for a nightcap, very quiet at 1030PM on a Wednesday night but sure it would be busy at weekends. Would stay again and hopefully get a breakfast next time!

Reviewed by
Will D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business stopover in poole
delightfully situated in the heart of old Poole with very easy access to quayside restaurants & pubs etc. Friendly reception well suited to traditionalists. Good breakfast choices, excellent kippers.

Reviewed by
c cleghorn

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay for town centre
Lovely hotel in the centre of town. Well equipped comfortable room although bathroom was a little 'tired' & in need of some TLC. Function on the evening we stayed but were able to eat in the snug - good atmosphere. Food was good but portions small so relatively good value. Parking very limited - not enough spaces in relation to number of rooms. Overall would recommend & return.

Reviewed by
Jen B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, decent food and bar.
The Antelope is ideal for seeing Poole Harbour and is within a short distance of the boats and plenty of bars and restaurants. The bar and eating area are very nice and the drinks are reasonably priced. We didn't eat here apart from breakfast (which was good quality with plenty of choice) but the meals we saw in passing looked very tasty.
The room was average-bed was comfortable and shower was hot but neither of the windows opened or closed properly or, more importantly, locked. The TV kept freezing and the sound kept going off, and the back of the battery holder was missing so they kept falling out.
Staff were friendly and helped us with any queries we had-they kindly stored our bags for us on our last day.
All in all I'd recommend this if you're looking for somewhere functional with easy access to the nearby area.

Reviewed by
Laura G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but a little overpriced
We stayed for one night for a family party nearby. We paid £120 for a small double room. The room was clean but a little cramped and the bath was a bit damaged and had a plastic shower curtain (the sort that sticks to you as you shower). Breakfast was just OK, the portions of the cooked food were small and the toast a bit soggy. The hotel's location is great and the free parking a bonus. The room was very quiet and the building has been restored to a high standard. Overall we had a nice time but I came away thinking it was about £20 dearer than I'd expect to pay for what it was.

Reviewed by
Julie B

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute one night impulse get away
Booked late, took last available room which was a standard double. Didn't expect anything fantastic especially as during peak time.
Pleasantly surprised, room comfortable, largish bathroom, perfectly adequate for short stay. We have paid a lot more for a tiny (late booking) room elsewhere during peak time. Staff informed us at check- in that there was going to be a noisy disco until midnight (wedding) - it was very loud - but at least we were warned. We had a look around at a few restaurants but due to the rain we decided to be lazy and eat at the hotel. Main restaurant shut for wedding but we ate in the 'snug'. Delightful meal, lovely staff, short power cut - waitress apologised said it had happened four times that day ( but it was stormy), candles all around so cosy atmosphere. Meal was good value, used wine voucher that was in room. Seemed a happy pub, very close to harbour and definitely would stay there again for a night or two.

Reviewed by
Nicolette Hughes

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly
Found the staff very helpful and friendly, the room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. I would certainly recommend The Antelope Inn

Reviewed by
Lisa S

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sunny Poole
Good size room. Nice view courtyard. Good free WiFi in room. Needs a lift.

Reviewed by
judy a

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woud stay again
I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Antelope and would definitely return. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and of a good quality and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Alan Roberts

From Llangollen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business and leisure trip with my wife and youngest son over 3 days
receptionist was good and info given was spot on, parking no problem with parking permit for private car park across the street from hotel, room excellent and clean, breakfast selection poor, bad service from elderly waitress who was rude, cold toast and a long wait on you order, the toast was given you as soon as you sat down it would be better to get your own, plates were cold for your English breakfast how ever the quality of the breakfast was good except for the Danish pain au chocolat and croissants etc which were over baked.

Reviewed by
peter ekins

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next