The Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

3

14 Burnaby Road, Bournemouth, BH4 8JF

Price From 94.48 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (80)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • jeanette h

  • April 2015

A lovely hotel if a little dated.

Would definitely stay again

  • Sally W

  • April 2015

Overall OK

We were fortunate to stay in the Riviera Hotel over the hottest days over Easter and so our break was made even better by the lovely weather.

The hotel is in a quiet residential area conveniently situated a few minutes walk down to the beach (quite steep roads in places) - about a 15-20 minute stroll to the Bournemouth Pier. A bonus is having free parking either in the hotel grounds or in the area. The room was nice- clean and comfortable, with balcony and good views to the sea. Equally the breakfast conservatory had great views of the chine. The hotel had quite good facilities (we used the pool, sauna and jacuzzi plus games room (the latter being a bit tatty and in need of a refurb - not user friendly being a chair storage area either!). The pool etc was a welcome bonus - brilliantly clean and modern changing rooms too - but recommend the hotel changes the mouldy ceiling tiles above the pool and the sauna looked a bit grubby too around the floor. Breakfast provided a very good selection of cereals, fruit, cheeses, yoghurt, croissants etc. The cooked breakfast was OK but not the best we've had - eg burnt toast, undercooked eggs and greasy sausages - however the baked beans were good, as was the friendly service. Overall our stay was reasonable but given the price we paid I'm not sure we'd stay again.

  • j azariova

  • April 2015

The Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Great price, lovely room, loved the pool,very good stay.

  • Hannah P

  • April 2015

Great for families

We have two young boys and are always aware that some places are not overly welcoming of all that comes with this.

However, the Riveria staff were very friendly, approachable and seemingly happy with having children there. We were given a self-contained apartment with two rooms - one for the children. The leisure facilities were great - the pool was a particular hit. Breakfast was leisurely and of great quality. The hotel is brilliantly located near very sandy and beautiful, clean beach. We had a great stay!

  • peter c

  • April 2015

Lovely hotel,excellent food.

The hotel was ideally located for us to take our 8 year old grandson to monkey world and the tank museum.

It was also only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Very friendly and efficient staff who were also family orientated. The family room was very clean and comfortable,although the floor boards did creak a bit. The restaurant staff were attentive and made us feel welcome The quality food was cooked to a very high standard. My grandson also loved the indoor pool.

  • j liburd

  • April 2015

so glad we returned

we had stayed at the Riviera many times over the years but had a break and tried other hotels.

so glad we returned this year. As soon as we arrived we felt that wonderful relaxing feeling, knowing it was going to be a great stay. room was fab, had been redecorated / revamped as rooms used to be tired looking before. we had a balcony overlooking the sea. Posh changing area had been added to the pool area, very nice. breakfast as nice as i remembered and staff are so pleasant and make you feel very relaxed. we had booked for two nights but decided to stay an extra and the manager went out of his way to sort this for us. only regret is we have never yet tried the evening meal but at 25£ per head and two adults and a teenager it makes it a pricey evening but i would love to do it next time and enjoy the evening in the bar as thats also very nice. overall the Riviera gets our vote as one of the best hotels bournemouth has to offer :)

  • Paul W

  • April 2015

Conveniently located and good value for money

Easy walk down to the beach and great facilities.

Ate in the restaurant, very good food at reasonable price. Service marred by not receiving a wake up call that I had asked for and almost missed a radio interview I was booked in for.

  • P Stringer

  • February 2015

2 nights stay in February 2015

Approach to the hotel wasn't easy, needing to follow sat nav, felt it was tucked away abit, but within easy reach of the beach.

Staff pleasant on arrival, checked in easily. Room was a little dated. All in all, we had a good weekend away and found the three star hotel a very relaxing atmosphere.

  • David R

  • February 2015

Great location in Alum Chine and very much a hotel for the more mature clientel

Receptionist was friendly and helpful.

Room was clean and fairly quiet, with a good bathroom and usual facilities etc. Went to bar for a beer and had to find someone to serve me and a few others waiting. 99p for a pint of Fosters on a colourful star stuck to the bar probably tells you all you need to know. Was ok, but not that fussed about staying there again.

  • D Quinn

  • February 2015

Great value for money

My son and I travelled to Bournemouth for a uni interview and at last minute decided to travel the night before.

Booked this hotel through laterooms.com and was very pleasantly surprised for the price. The room was basic but had everything you needed and was very clean indeed. The 11am checkout was also a bonus.