No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PREMIER Queen Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
City Road , Chester, CH1 3AH
Its no wonder that the likes of Lillie Langtree and Charles Dickens were regular guests at the Best Western Premier Queen Hotel when you marvel at the vaulted ceilings, spectacular staircases, and regal public areas of this stately building. Beautiful hotel rooms and suites, the charming bars and lounges, magnificent, state of the art banqueting suites and the awe-inspiring Baltic Exchange Gardens all contribute to a fabulous stay in the heart of the wonderful city of Chester.
Pamper yourself with a superb treatment with the professional team at Secret Sanctuary. Secret Sanctuary offer a fabulous range or relaxing, elegant and luxurious treatments in their stylish salon at the Queen Hotel.
Whether its something for yourself, a treat for your partner or a gift they are on hand to offer help, advise and recommendations.
The Best Western Premier Queen Hotel is proud of its past but equally confident of the future, having recently completed a million £ extension and refurbishment program; adding contemporary, design-led twists to the original Victorian interiors whilst complementing this with the addition of the fabulously modern Kings at the Queen. Wander down the superbly designed Kings' Walkway, past Roman columns that date back two thousand years and will find yourself in another world of City Chic. This former bank headquarters has been transformed into 8 floors of luxury; with 87 bedrooms and suites and the brand-new, award winning Kings' Quarters Grill and Cocktail Lounge known as the King at the Queen. Check out our Kings at the Queen Page.
We have something for everyone!! Whether your travelling on business, a romantic weekend away, travelling with the family or soaking up the sites of the city, we will take care of your every need.
What are you waiting for…………………look forward to seeing you soon.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Queen Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was very nice and clean. Staff were very friendly. However, our room was very small considering we had paid for an executive room. The bathroom was also really small.

Reviewed by
Daniel F

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was full of character and charm. The room we stayed in was lovely but not worth the 300 pound it claimed to cost but well worth the discounted price we paid through laterooms.

Reviewed by
Christine H

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing!
Genuinely friendly staff, very helpful and happy to help. Met every one of my demands and were very quick to deliver. Outstanding service.

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Nights - 1 bad - 1 good!
First night spent in a freshly decorated room, beautifully decorated and lovely new bathroom but overwhelmed by smell of paint despite window being open all night.
Second night, we were given an upgrade to Kings Rooms which was far superior.
Reception were helpful but not overly impressed by our concerns re smell of paint fumes.
Dinner in the restaurant a let down. I ordered a cod and samphire dish and it was quite clear there was no samphire, just spring onions. I checked with waitress who confirmed this and said they had run out of samphire. I should have been informed of this when ordering so not impressed with the quality and expectations for a top restaurant in such a prestigious hotel.

Reviewed by
Nicholas G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I highly recommend this hotel, it is great service and great food!!

Reviewed by
R Leahy

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
We had no problem finding the Hotel which is sometimes a problem when you haven't somewhere before. Large gated car park available around the back of the Hotel. It's a little bit of a walk round to reception if you have heavy bags but there is a phone to call for a porter if you need help.The staff are very helpfull, the rooms are very comfortable and it's only five minutes walk to Chester town centre.We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
D Shaw

From Barrow in Furness, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester Stay 15th June 2013
The room (121) was very dated, tired and parts of the room were dirty, extension lead for kettle which was located behind the television was disgusting, covered in dust and grime, also the dressing table draws were falling to pieces. This room was not worth the money, we did notice that some people were being upgraded to executive rooms if they had not stayed before, which was the same as us but reception did not ask if we had stayed before!

Reviewed by
P Baggaley

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
Nice, good sized room. All the staff we came in to comtact with were very polite and helpful. The food available through room service was good as was the breakfast in the morning - lots of choice. The location was great and 24hour secvure parking was literally a few steps from the hotel...the room was clean and we would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
mandy m

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Nice hotel, well situated. Friendly and helpful staff. Chester is a lovely city, all highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Hotel
Top hotel. The staff were very friendly and went out of there way to assist with local knowledge of restaurants and city centre attractions. The hotel room was decorated in a roman style and was very clean and comfortable with a view over the city of Chester and welsh hills beyond. The hotel has an amazing Roman courtyard which catches the sun until late evening which we sat in and enjoyed a glass of wine from the hotel bar.
We visited the hotel restaurant, the food was of a good standard but the atmosphere and room itself was quite dull, and the way the room is set out is more of a Pontins style.
Charging £15 per night to park at the hotel, which is 10 mins walk outside of the city centre was also a disappointment, but in overall we will visit again.

Reviewed by
A Wressell

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next