No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PREMIER Queen Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
City Road , Chester, CH1 3AH
Its no wonder that the likes of Lillie Langtree and Charles Dickens were regular guests at the Best Western Premier Queen Hotel when you marvel at the vaulted ceilings, spectacular staircases, and regal public areas of this stately building. Beautiful hotel rooms and suites, the charming bars and lounges, magnificent, state of the art banqueting suites and the awe-inspiring Baltic Exchange Gardens all contribute to a fabulous stay in the heart of the wonderful city of Chester.
Pamper yourself with a superb treatment with the professional team at Secret Sanctuary. Secret Sanctuary offer a fabulous range or relaxing, elegant and luxurious treatments in their stylish salon at the Queen Hotel.
Whether its something for yourself, a treat for your partner or a gift they are on hand to offer help, advise and recommendations.
The Best Western Premier Queen Hotel is proud of its past but equally confident of the future, having recently completed a million £ extension and refurbishment program; adding contemporary, design-led twists to the original Victorian interiors whilst complementing this with the addition of the fabulously modern Kings at the Queen. Wander down the superbly designed Kings' Walkway, past Roman columns that date back two thousand years and will find yourself in another world of City Chic. This former bank headquarters has been transformed into 8 floors of luxury; with 87 bedrooms and suites and the brand-new, award winning Kings' Quarters Grill and Cocktail Lounge known as the King at the Queen. Check out our Kings at the Queen Page.
We have something for everyone!! Whether your travelling on business, a romantic weekend away, travelling with the family or soaking up the sites of the city, we will take care of your every need.
What are you waiting for…………………look forward to seeing you soon.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Queen Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 122 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, great location, excellent service
Would definitely stay here again. We are a family with a small toddler and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
J Woods

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smart well furnished hotel.
My partner and I stayed at this hotel on a short trip to Chester in August 2013. It is located in an imposing Victorian building opposite the station which is convenient for both trains and busses.
The hotel is well furnished and clean with helpful and friendly staff. The room was quiet and comfortable with good quality furnishings both in the bedroom and bathroom. The breakfast buffet had a wide choice of food to suit all tastes. It is about a five minute walk from the canal side with many pubs and restaurants and about a ten minute walk from the city centre. I would stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Brian C

From New Malden, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice break

Reviewed by
Oliver Smith

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
The hotel had plenty of character and i enjoy my stay there. Staff very helpful and service excellent.
A little disappointed with the room service thou. ordered a Thai green curry, but was bough the red curry . was told by waiter that they had run out. ( should have advised me when i ordered - so I could have order something else)
I will definitely come back

Reviewed by
Robert Hughes

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room,
We had a suite in the Kings Quarters, which was lovely and spacious although decorated on a theme and rather over the top.This did not really spoil our stay though as it was a great bed and a very quiet room.Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice,we felt that afternoon tea was a let down at £14.95,I would have been happier with less fod but with better service and quality of food.
Why would you serve afternoon tea without plates?We would have perhaps eaten in the restaurant in the evening but would have liked to have seen the menu on display to be able to make an informed decision.Overall a very relaxing break, this hotel is ideally situated for city centre, trains and buses.

Reviewed by
a fletcher

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Queen hotel Aug 2013
We received a very warm welcome which was lovely! All the staff were very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. We would stay there again if we visited Chester another time.

Reviewed by
PATRICIA RUSH

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Western Queen Hotel - Chester - TWIN ROOM No. 232
The room is very comfortable but for a hotel constructed over a hundred years ago, it is difficult to bring the facilities 'up to date' without destroying the character of this lovely hotel.
As we are experiencing an unusually warm summer, the hotel was clearly getting very warm and ALAS, there is NO AIR CONDITIONING IN ANY OF THE FOUR ROOMS I BOOKED FOR A FAMILY OCCASION. So the lack of AIR CONDITIONING WAS THE MAIN THRUST OF MY FAMILY'S DISAPPOINTMENT. I acknowledge some refurbishment is on-going to create several executive rooms - I sincerely hope air conditioning is included in the specification for these works.
Accordingly, a 'rack rate' of £140 for this room is too much for the specification and in-room facilites offered. I would stay again in one of the newly refurbished rooms, when they are available.
YS PB North Worcestershire

Reviewed by
PETER B

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Queen best western
We had a standard room which we found to be modern, clean and well stocked! Above average on many levels, shame about the lack of air conditioning, the room was uncomfortably hot at night, whilst the public areas remained cool.
Very helpful receptionists, perfect location for town and exploring.

Reviewed by
R Stenton

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was beautiful, however I could not sleep because the room was very hot, no fan or air con

Reviewed by
Marcia C

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location, nice staff, close to town center
We stayed for the weekend recently as a treat to ourselves. We were very warmly by a smart gentleman at the door, who also spoke to us everytime he saw us over the weekend. Parking was easy and its straight opposite the train station. We were given a room on the first floor which we were told have just been fully renovated. It was a very warm day and we immediately opened the sash window which just as quickly closed again, we rung reception and they sent a work man up straight away to fix it. The room its self was all new and very designer led but very small. The bed was extremely comfy and very clean, but. Very stuffy could have done with air conditioning, and a small fridge to keep drinks cool. Overall a nice stay and chester was a lovely place with plenty of barrs and resturants close by.

Reviewed by
claire b

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next