No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Malmaison Newcastle

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
104 Quayside , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3DX
Multi award winning, super stylish hotel bar and brasserie on Newcastle's stunning waterfront. Some great river views with the celebrated Millennium Bridge on the doorstep. Relax in our striking individually designed rooms, cable tv, great amenities and interesting art. Then enjoy our busy buzzy Brasserie and Bar, serving great French cooking and fantastic wines or pamper and tone your mind, body and spirit, in our fitness and treatments boutique, Le Petit Spa. The Rooms are an oasis of calm amid the bustle of a great city. Individually designed rooms many using a rich pallet navy and cream, or red, black and cream, all with the complete set of Malmaison ingredients. Great beds, big beds, slinky light, real bathrooms, power showers, cable TV, personal bars, drinks you'll want to drink, serious wines, naughty nibbles, vroom room service, interesting art, two line phones, data ports exclusive toiletries. Stunning Brasserie and Bar, combining light and style, French in structure, reflective of contemporary tastes, serious about wine and the best of produce.
Picture of Malmaison Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
Fantastic hotel. Made to feel really welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Always went the extra mile and ideally situated with beautiful surroundings.

Reviewed by
c grocott

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

treat for partner
good service,very nice clean room,pleasant helpful staff, a little disappointed by breakfast.

Reviewed by
I MUIR

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room cleanliness
The room was not very clean
Glass surfaces were dirty and sticky
No shampoo or shower gel in the bathroom

Reviewed by
Michael Alculumbre

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

trip to newcastle.
Excellent hotel. Good location. Staff were brilliant. Totally enjoyable.

Reviewed by
c beckett

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

newcastle city breAK
Very dark. Inadequate lighting. Rooms tired though linen clean. Convenient for city centre shopping.

Reviewed by
g dixon

From castleton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at the Mal in newcastle for the other half's birthday, was quite impressed with the overall accommodation and the check in staff were really helpful, all in all was a great experience. The only thing that if mark it down on was it took nearly 15 minutes to get to have someone take our order for drinks at the bar, then almost another 20 minutes for it to arrive. All in all though I'd recommend it

Reviewed by
David Richardson

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Malmaison Newcastle - So disappointing
We booked this overnight stay in February 2014 and were very much looking forward to the experience as it would appear to be a very impressive hotel. It couldn't have been much forther from the truth .... to be fair the room was very confortable and spotlessly clean. The same however, could not be said for the rest of the hotel. The seating area directly opposite the bar in the lounge, down the side of the chair where I was sitting was an absolute disgrace and clearly had not been vacuumed for some time ...... I actually took a photo on my phone of this . The carpet immediately in front of the bar , the join was clearly lifting and exposed. Very clearly a cheap carpet .... so very disappointing. The corridor on the third floor , the carpet clearly had a build up of dust along the edge to the skirtiing board and the dado rails were the same, the spotlight above the door into our room just highlighted the dust in the corner of the carpet ..... please do not think I have gone in with a white glove looking for areas of weakness as that is not the case at all ... but the issues I have raised , for me , are basic housekeeping duties.
In comparison , the Vermont Hotel in Newcastle was very polished and perfect in every way.
I did send an Email to Malmaison but have had no acknowledgement.
Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Reviewed by
Clare Gettings

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great locations but disappointed with size of room and bed
This hotel is in a great location for Newcastle and is in easy walk of the bars, shops and the main attractions. But we were disappointed by the size of the room and for the comfort of the bed.. it was really hard and we didn't get much sleep.
But overall the room had everything else we need but we just couldn't get a good night sleep.

Reviewed by
Vicki H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Great hotel in a great position

Reviewed by
Quentin S

From Llanrwst, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay apart from the old shower head

Reviewed by
Sharon L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next