No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Malmaison Newcastle

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
104 Quayside , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3DX
Multi award winning, super stylish hotel bar and brasserie on Newcastle's stunning waterfront. Some great river views with the celebrated Millennium Bridge on the doorstep. Relax in our striking individually designed rooms, cable tv, great amenities and interesting art. Then enjoy our busy buzzy Brasserie and Bar, serving great French cooking and fantastic wines or pamper and tone your mind, body and spirit, in our fitness and treatments boutique, Le Petit Spa. The Rooms are an oasis of calm amid the bustle of a great city. Individually designed rooms many using a rich pallet navy and cream, or red, black and cream, all with the complete set of Malmaison ingredients. Great beds, big beds, slinky light, real bathrooms, power showers, cable TV, personal bars, drinks you'll want to drink, serious wines, naughty nibbles, vroom room service, interesting art, two line phones, data ports exclusive toiletries. Stunning Brasserie and Bar, combining light and style, French in structure, reflective of contemporary tastes, serious about wine and the best of produce.
Picture of Malmaison Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mal ok
Mal need to up their game once market leaders now surpassed by many we want fresh ideas when staying at Mals not the same as 10+ years ago !
The dining room and bar service was too slow.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, friendly staff. A little dark in places.
The water temperature was extremely high and unable to turn it down so was unable to use the shower and had to run a bath and leave it for a couple of hours to cool down.
Reception staff said they were looking into this!

Reviewed by
M Booth

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel :-)
My only criticism is the lack of choice regarding TV channels. Too many of them were sport. Apart from the 5 main channels, the only non-sport channel was Sky News. I would have expected the usual Freeview/Digital channels to be available

Reviewed by
C Slater

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Mal Experience
An excellent hotel, first class accommodation.

Reviewed by
Michele Jolly

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extedning our stay in Newcastle for a Birthday Treat
As a family we stayed in a hotel on the other side of the river Tyne for a wedding on the previous three nights in a light and airy spacious hotel but then to celebrate my birthday me and my husband decided to extend our stay in Newcastle for a further two nights. Malmaison were offering a great deal through Laterooms that we could not resist. Entering the hotel took some adjustment, in terms of our eyes; the foyer is extremely dark compared to the beautiful sunshine outside. Check in was hassle free, we were actually too early and the hotel was very accommodating in storing our luggage while we heading into Newcastle. On our return, we were given our keys for our room and advised that our luggage had already been placed in our room. Locating the room was a little challenging due to the continued 'dark' interiors of the hotel. The room was great and very comfortable and I was quite thankful that the interior was of a lighter palette. My husband became a little anxious thinking a kettle had not been provided but on searching it was located in the wardrobe! Lovely complimentary full sized toiletries in the bathroom which we were welcomed to take away with us following our stay, On our second day I treated myself to a wonderful 1 and 1/2 hour massage and relaxation treatment in the spa. By chance my husband saw a leaflet advertising the 'summer classics' menu and we chose to eat in the restaurant that evening; 2 courses with a cocktail for less than £20. The food was delicious with the exception of the couscous accompanying my chicken which had the texture of mash potato and not like any couscous I had eaten previously. We also had the option of exchanging our cocktails for a bottle of wine, which we did. Once more on check out the hotel was happy to store our luggage for the day allowing us to spend the day in Newcastle prior to catching our train home. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, have collected leaflet for the other Malmaison hotels; we would definitely stay again subject to getting repeat offers.

Reviewed by
Sally R

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, nice hotel but a few issues
Even though staff were friendly on welcoming I paid for a deluxe double to arrive to what was a twin room. Several hours later a maid came to zip the beds together and change sheets to match.
The sleep was so uncomfortable due to the bed not being the one I paid for. The hotel didn't give me any other options about my room type or apologise greatly for their mistake.
Disappointing stay and would not return due to the issues I had. The simplest of things - a bed type - not correct.

Reviewed by
J Barton

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay

Reviewed by
P Briton

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary stay
Excellent stay as always, stay every year for our anniversary and treated great all the time

Reviewed by
a bell

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stains
overall we had a nice stay. our only complaint is that on one of the decorative cushions had a slightly dubious stain on it. room was nice and clean and bed was comfy. view from window was nice. would consider staying for a spa break

Reviewed by
gillian willingale

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although a little dark in decor we found this very elegant. The room itself was a good size and had a high standard of finishing. We found it disappointing there were no complimentry beverages as we have had with other hotels of a similar standard. The bath we found was basic and small and didn't really fit with the room. Tv was also a problem, only very basic channels though this was not a problem as we were out most of the time. The bedding was also very basic and lacked the luster of the reception. Apart from these 'faults' we found this a nice place to stay. It was exceptionally nice to have air conditioning in such humid weather.

Reviewed by
Charlotte J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next