No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Malmaison Newcastle

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
104 Quayside , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3DX
Multi award winning, super stylish hotel bar and brasserie on Newcastle's stunning waterfront. Some great river views with the celebrated Millennium Bridge on the doorstep. Relax in our striking individually designed rooms, cable tv, great amenities and interesting art. Then enjoy our busy buzzy Brasserie and Bar, serving great French cooking and fantastic wines or pamper and tone your mind, body and spirit, in our fitness and treatments boutique, Le Petit Spa. The Rooms are an oasis of calm amid the bustle of a great city. Individually designed rooms many using a rich pallet navy and cream, or red, black and cream, all with the complete set of Malmaison ingredients. Great beds, big beds, slinky light, real bathrooms, power showers, cable TV, personal bars, drinks you'll want to drink, serious wines, naughty nibbles, vroom room service, interesting art, two line phones, data ports exclusive toiletries. Stunning Brasserie and Bar, combining light and style, French in structure, reflective of contemporary tastes, serious about wine and the best of produce.
Picture of Malmaison Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stains
overall we had a nice stay. our only complaint is that on one of the decorative cushions had a slightly dubious stain on it. room was nice and clean and bed was comfy. view from window was nice. would consider staying for a spa break

Reviewed by
gillian willingale

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although a little dark in decor we found this very elegant. The room itself was a good size and had a high standard of finishing. We found it disappointing there were no complimentry beverages as we have had with other hotels of a similar standard. The bath we found was basic and small and didn't really fit with the room. Tv was also a problem, only very basic channels though this was not a problem as we were out most of the time. The bedding was also very basic and lacked the luster of the reception. Apart from these 'faults' we found this a nice place to stay. It was exceptionally nice to have air conditioning in such humid weather.

Reviewed by
Charlotte J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good but dark hotel
Excellent room, charming staff and super-comfortable bed. My only negative thought was what would have happened had there been a fire. The lighting is hopelessly dim; there were no (obvious) emergency exit signs and no signs indicating the location of the stairs. Dark decor is one thing - having sufficient light to see your way is another.

Reviewed by
Tim B

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bliss!
Stayed for a girlie night.
Shopping, eating and a pamper in the Petit Spa.
Can't fault any of it - apart from the whole hotel being oddly dark!
Wonderfully helpful staff. Lovely breakfast. Comfy, clean room.
Spa was fantastic.

Reviewed by
Alexandra R

From Tynemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Telephones and upgrades
Please dont email me with offers of upgrades that you cannot offer.
Sort out your phone lines, i hung on the phone for 30 mins wating for an answer before walking down from the Vermont !

Reviewed by
K Ford

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
very good, enjoyable stay, a little attention to housekeeping required i.e. dusting in the main room. breakfast brilliant. staff cheerful, helpful, attentive.

Reviewed by
J Murphy

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impromptu Night Out
Staff pleasant and efficient.
Continental breakfast excellent - particularly the granola.
Corridors and common areas etc. a little tired/worn, could do with freshening up.
Room spacious, clean, tidy and comfortable, with a great view of the millenium bridge.
No shampoo (all in one body wash, but I prefer shampoo).
Taps odd - cold was clockwise to turn on and anti-clockwise to turn off.

Reviewed by
Roland P

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but general areas decor far too dark. rooms nice but over priced and bathroom layout poor. room door really hard to open. very quiet and would consider further stay if got cheaper room rate and parking should be free

Reviewed by
J Murphy

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellant could not be faulted will definately be abck.

Reviewed by
c davison

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dated accomodation neeeds updating
No way would I like to have paid full price for our stay at this hotel Location is first class but the general ambiance was one of a jaded dated interior building which day not fulfill my expectations. On the plus side the bed was extremely comfortable.

Reviewed by
Ian O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next