No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Honest Lawyer Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE BRIDGE , DURHAM, DH1 3SP
Just 3 miles from Durham City Centre, the Honest Lawyer Hotel is a 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant, ideally located for exploring County Durham, as well as being an ideal base for doing business in and around Durham City.

All of our rooms are en-suite with modern furnishings, LCD TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, as well as free wifi, which is also available in our public areas.

A full English and continental breakfast is served each morning between 7am and 9am weekdays and 8am until 10am weekends, with an extensive, locally sourced menu including healthy options such as Poached Eggs and Brown Toast.

Bailey’s Bar and Restaurant serve food all day, with a full a la carte menu which includes our famous North Sea Black Sheep Beer Battered Haddock & Chips, as well as Pan Fried Seabass and Corn Fed Chicken.

As well as all of the above, guests exploring County Durham receive a discount on entry to Beamish Museum, and Durham City is just a short bus ride from the hotel, with a number of buses going directly into the city stopping every 15 minutes.

The warmest of welcomes awaits you at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, we look forward to your arrival.
Picture of Honest Lawyer Hotel, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't be staying here again
Bathroom smelled fusty (Room 10), room was small, dark and hot with little ventilation and no air conditioning. Window had restraining tie preventing it from opening more than a couple of inches. Poor quality economy lighting produced no light adequate for reading. Door to room opened directly onto car park courtyard with a busy road nearby. I was able to get very little sleep - too noisy, too hot, inadequate ventilation. The cheap security mechanism on the door was broken. Shower was quirky with fluctuating temperature in the evening, and at 7:00 Sunday morning it came through as a very small, cold trickle. No breakfast was served before 8:00, so we had to leave without breakfast for our 8:00 rendezvous. No information on how to access WiFi was found in the room.
Evening meal in bar was good and free wifi was available from there.

Reviewed by
J Heath

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay just outside Durham
Absolutely nothing to complain about in both the accommodation and the restaurant. Great location and dog friendly.

Reviewed by
j douglas

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We found the hotel was situated just right for our journey and was very comfortable. would use it again. We have also recommended it to our friends.

Reviewed by
W Fawcett

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel in a good location

Reviewed by
d pluckrose

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There Is an Honest Lawyer
Everything was up to expectations ,room , cleanliness , price ,service ,location from Durham not far on local bus service No 6&7 to town . Only possible quibble would be fre wi-fi which was not very good connection but was told I was more than welcome to use the Hotel if I had any work to do on the laptop as the motel rooms were a slight distance from the actual hotel router.

Reviewed by
J Dunbar

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of short stay
Found the hotel to be clean, adequate for our needs and very friendly. Nice food and atmosphere on the main building. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
I Harris

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honest Lawyer Hotel, Durham
I was paying a short visit to Durham for research purposes and the Honest Lawyer provided an excellent pied a terre for me. It's three or four miles south of the city, easy to find, with a frequent and efficient bus service. Despite close proximity to the Darlington road (A167) I found my "motel-style" room quiet and peaceful and the ambience of the hotel relaxed and welcoming. I was more than happy with the accommodation.

Reviewed by
Mark Henderson

From Glossop, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Honest Lawyer was excellent value. The rooms were better than acceptable, although there was some grunge in the bathroom grout. Food excellent and the staff attentive.
All in all, good value and I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Peet R

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dog Show Travel Stop
I booked because I had been happy staying there before. Easy to find, easy to park, comfortable beds and good food.
I did recommend to a friend who stayed there as well that eve

Reviewed by
S Barkley

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing honest lawyer
Stayed for 2 nights at the honest lawyer, 1st class accommodation, staff so helpful and friendly, Julie the manager definitely goes the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable,beautiful outside decking for drinks and food, all round amazing place try it it's so close to Durham city, with lovely restaurant and helpful staff

Reviewed by
Jane G

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next