No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Honest Lawyer Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE BRIDGE , DURHAM, DH1 3SP
Just 3 miles from Durham City Centre, the Honest Lawyer Hotel is a 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant, ideally located for exploring County Durham, as well as being an ideal base for doing business in and around Durham City.

All of our rooms are en-suite with modern furnishings, LCD TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, as well as free wifi, which is also available in our public areas.

A full English and continental breakfast is served each morning between 7am and 9am weekdays and 8am until 10am weekends, with an extensive, locally sourced menu including healthy options such as Poached Eggs and Brown Toast.

Bailey’s Bar and Restaurant serve food all day, with a full a la carte menu which includes our famous North Sea Black Sheep Beer Battered Haddock & Chips, as well as Pan Fried Seabass and Corn Fed Chicken.

As well as all of the above, guests exploring County Durham receive a discount on entry to Beamish Museum, and Durham City is just a short bus ride from the hotel, with a number of buses going directly into the city stopping every 15 minutes.

The warmest of welcomes awaits you at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, we look forward to your arrival.
Picture of Honest Lawyer Hotel, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth it.
I have zero complaints for this place.

Reviewed by
J Smails

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First rate "no frills"
First rate no frills motel type property. Car at the door is a big plus. Staff were excellent food good but a little slow in coming.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Nairn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

general review
Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom had a bath and integral shower. The shower was powerful and plenty of hot water. One criticism was that a couple of times at night the toilet did not flush.
The restaurant was good overall and the breakfast was excellent.
We liked the layout of the hotel which was like an american motel. This meant we could park outside the room which was very convenient. Also the outside sitting area was pleasant.

Reviewed by
P Anderson

From Iver, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good d

Reviewed by
Robin L

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't be staying here again
Bathroom smelled fusty (Room 10), room was small, dark and hot with little ventilation and no air conditioning. Window had restraining tie preventing it from opening more than a couple of inches. Poor quality economy lighting produced no light adequate for reading. Door to room opened directly onto car park courtyard with a busy road nearby. I was able to get very little sleep - too noisy, too hot, inadequate ventilation. The cheap security mechanism on the door was broken. Shower was quirky with fluctuating temperature in the evening, and at 7:00 Sunday morning it came through as a very small, cold trickle. No breakfast was served before 8:00, so we had to leave without breakfast for our 8:00 rendezvous. No information on how to access WiFi was found in the room.
Evening meal in bar was good and free wifi was available from there.

Reviewed by
J Heath

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay just outside Durham
Absolutely nothing to complain about in both the accommodation and the restaurant. Great location and dog friendly.

Reviewed by
j douglas

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We found the hotel was situated just right for our journey and was very comfortable. would use it again. We have also recommended it to our friends.

Reviewed by
W Fawcett

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel in a good location

Reviewed by
d pluckrose

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There Is an Honest Lawyer
Everything was up to expectations ,room , cleanliness , price ,service ,location from Durham not far on local bus service No 6&7 to town . Only possible quibble would be fre wi-fi which was not very good connection but was told I was more than welcome to use the Hotel if I had any work to do on the laptop as the motel rooms were a slight distance from the actual hotel router.

Reviewed by
J Dunbar

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of short stay
Found the hotel to be clean, adequate for our needs and very friendly. Nice food and atmosphere on the main building. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
I Harris

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next