No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ocean Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
180-182 PROMENADE , BLACKPOOL, FY1 1RJ
The Ocean Hotel is the first family-run hotel situated on the promenade, conveniently located to access most of Blackpool’s glittering attractions. We are in easy reach of theatres, clubs and bars not to mention the Tower, Winter Gardens AND North Pier. All of our rooms are comfortable and accommodating en-suites, featuring televisions, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and full central heating. Several of our rooms even boast a lovely view of the Irish Sea, available at no extra cost! We are centrally heated throughout and our helpful staff-base are willing to assist you in everything you need. We really do put our guests comfort and relaxation first.
Picture of Ocean Hotel, BLACKPOOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money if you dont want luxury

Reviewed by
christine s

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was actually pretty good, for the low price they've charged me!

Reviewed by
Christoph P

From , Germany
Who stayed in July 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great time
We had a great time when we visited Blackpool, the hotel was a little dated but we feel that just gives it character, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really nice, there was plenty of choice even for children. Would stay here again

Reviewed by
Karen S

From Alexandria, UK
Who stayed in July 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great price & great position on the sea front
lovely old big hotel with a fantastic price, all the staff were polite and friendly.
Breakfast was fantastic with a good range, great sized room, a little dated but for an older hotel it suits it just needs a little tlc, needs a better stocked bar and maybe offer a little more for children ie provide games and more selection of soft drinks. ideal location on the north side so its quiet and ideally on the sea front.

Reviewed by
danielle peers-young

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly as I expected for what I paid
I needed a room to sleep in and shower in, which this room satisfied. The lady who greeted me was friendly and helped me arrange a taxi for my evening plans, and the waitress at breakfast was polite and very quick service.
The decor is dated, but that didn't matter due to the little time I spent in the room, and the bed was comfortable enough.
For the little money I paid for the weekend, I am happy with what I got and would use this hotel again

Reviewed by
C Cox

From UK
Who stayed in June 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I like there :)

Reviewed by
leigh p

From Bradford, England
Who stayed in June 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
On arrival ourselves along with other guests had to try and find someone to check us in... The room itself was very dirty and a bit delapidated - what we would have accepted from a £15.00 hotel not a £40.00 room. The hotel could do with a little updating and modernisation and a really good clean - but the gentleman who dealt with us - seemed to be very much alone running the hotel and doing the best as he can in the cirncumstances. He was always polite and curtousy and provided us with a good hearty breakfast which he had to cook himself as well .

Reviewed by
m hall

From Bradford, England
Who stayed in May 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
The website tells of a car park at rear so when we arrived and saw a manky back street with barely room for 3 cars we were already starting to wonder how much else would be lies. When we arrived we asked about breakfast and were told that sorry but the chef was on holiday so theres no breakfast available (in a B&B?!) we quickly got over this and asked if we needed to pay now or on departure, now the man said so I got out my card, "oh sorry the card machine is broken you're going to need to get some cash" which then left us on the street of some place we didnt know searching for a cash machine before we could go to our rooms! The room wasn't too bad, it was REALLY out dated (you feel as if you have travelled back in time!) and the TV didnt work, the floor was a little dirty with burns in the carpet but based on what we had experienced so far it wasn't as bad as I had expected! There was a bit of a building site outside our window but we didnt really hear anything so it was only the view that was ruined. On leaving the hotel to go on a night out we were told "not to bring any boys back" which wasn't our intention what so ever, but nice to be told I guess? But overall for what we paid and for a last minute one night stay we didnt expect much more than what we got (which wasnt a lot!)

Reviewed by
Chloe S

From Bolton, England
Who stayed in April 2012

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7